We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in Circular Quay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Ranked #45 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good hotel in Circular Quay”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed on the 8th floor and found the room spacious and had sufficient natural light. Check in was easy and staff at the counter were helpful and pleasant. Location wise, it's about 500m walk to Circular Quay station and there are shops and cafes nearby.

Only wish the fitness centre was in the buidling and not a 800m walk to the location.

Apart from that, highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear shedee,

As a Top Contributor thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and glad that you enjoyed our hotels location.

Wishing you safe future travels,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    1,132
    361
    90
    40
See reviews for
557
1,079
134
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

First time we have stopped at this hotel and will definitely stay here again. The customer service was great and probably the best we have received in any Sydney hotel. The location is perfect for accessing circular quay and the rocks. Its also just across from the cruise terminal.
We found the valet parking very easy and convenient. Definitely recommend. The pool area looked nice with great views over the harbour. unfortunately it was raining during our stay.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the harbour get a room on the upper floors. We were on level 3 and a cruise sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear stefarn,

As a Senior Contributor thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are humbled by your comment - "The customer service was great and probably the best we have received in any Sydney hotel". The team here have worked very hard over the past year to continue improving on their already very strong customer service skills.

It's a shame that you had inclement weather during your stay and did not get a chance to use the pool deck area.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed here for three nights as part of an ongoing vacation in Oz. We had had it recommended by friends who stayed here previously and were not disappointed. We arrived quite early because of our flight into Sydney from Singapore but were able to get into our rooms more or less straight away thanks to the most helpful staff on the desk. This enabled us to have a quick shower and hit the sights. Our room was basic but clean, with tea and coffee facilities and over looked a quiet side street so peaceful sleep, our friends overlooked the harbour...better view but with cruise ships coming and going not so good a sleep.
The hotel is a Holiday Inn, don't forget that but everything was perfect and clean. The location is just brilliant and the view from the poll is to die for! We had breakfast included, it is buffet style and there was everything we needed with plenty of choice and quick replenishment. The bar prices were very reasonable....this is Sydney! All the staff were friendly and helpful and we always got a cheery welcome be it day or night, We had to leave very early in the morning again due to flight times but check out was straight forward, the young girl on reception being very genuinely interested in our travels.
I would recommend this hotel to any one who wants to be in the harbour area, the staff are a real credit to the management, thank you from the bottom of our hearts for a short but pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uptowngirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear uptowngirl1,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for awarding us a five star review. I was delighted to read that you stayed with us after a positive recommendation from your friend.

Your very kind words in relation to our staff, the cleanliness of the hotel and our breakfast product are greatly appreciated.

We have worked extremely hard on our service delivery this year and your recognition of this means a lot to our team.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us, we hope to be able to welcome you and your friends back to the hotel again when you next visit Sydney.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Location location location for this hotel. In The Rocks area near the cruise ship terminal, it's between the Circular Quay/Opera House and the Harbour Bridge. Not cheap, but way cheaper than the 'big' hotels just a few blocks away (which were not as close to the likely tourist 'attractions' anyway. Room was a little spartan,but plenty big, functional and clean/new. Included breakfast was fine (not 'great,' but fine). A good base for a short Sydney highlights visit.

Be sure to sample the view from the roof/pool area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HouTexTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear HouTexTravel,

As a Top Contributor, thank you for your five star review of our hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotels location and that you found us close to all of the tourists attractions which you wished to visit.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Sydney and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights in November 2014. The reception desk staff were great. Our room was clean. There was a little bit of noise from the street but it didn't keep us awake. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast is a lovely buffet with an egg station. The staff at the breakfast restaurant were very helpful and pleasant. I had my family meet us in there for Breakfast on the Sunday and the staff could not have been more helpful or accommodating. The pool on the roof has great views of Sydney Harbour. We didn't get to use it but we did go up for a look. Overall it is a pleasure to stay here, we have stayed before and would stay again.

Room Tip: Any room would be good. Higher up gets better views of the Harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tklj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear tklj,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for awarding us a five star review. Your very positive comments are greatly appreciated. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We wish you safe future travels and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

As an IHG priority member upgrades are common (Nice) .On this occasion our upgrade gave us a great view over the Opera House and Harbour. The downside was that the Salsa bar across the road stays open till the early hours and without double glazing this is an issue if you want to sleep. We stayed here as a stopover to Queensland and whilst the hotel checkin, room etc were all good the noise levels did not let us have a good sleep. The location is fantastic, the rooms smallish but clean and they have everything you need. No shortage of things to do or sights to see in the location. Ask for a room that is NOT on the street front.

Room Tip: Don't get one on the street front unless you like Salsa and staying up late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Feddans,

As a Top Contributor, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. As an IHG Rewards Club member thank you for your loyalty. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel and the local area on your way through to QLD. I apologise for the external noise which you have made mention of in your review and that it affected your sleep. We are currently working with the local council with any noise related issues reported.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I booked a family room in this hotel based on its location and good reviews, and indeed it was a good choice ! The location is just perfect, in the heart of the rocks and 5 minutes walk to the opera house. Stunning view from the rooftop pool of the Opera House, Skyline and Harbor Bridge. The breakfast is just the best ever, with all sorts of food and beverages, and fresh home made fruit juices to start a great day. The staff is pleasant and helpful. I will certainly come back to Sydney and i'll book this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecile B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Cecile B,

As a Senior Reviewer thank you for taking the time to share your experience online. We greatly appreciate your five star review of our hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed the lovely view from our rooftop and our buffet breakfast offering.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#39 of 179 in Sydney
908 reviews
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
1,280 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Old Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Property: Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#43 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#43 Family Hotel in Sydney
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing