We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Ranked #43 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We loved staying in the Rocks area--so much variety, and great to be on the harbour--love the water. It was amazing to see the huge cruise ship in dock, and also to be so close to all the lovely eateries here. Markets are great, every w/end I believe. can walk to city easily from here, or get a bus.

Room Tip: Rooms in newer area are better and ask for a balcony and you can go outside and feel the "air&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lligla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Lugill,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is very busy for us over the warmer months here in Sydney with so many cruise ships docking just outside of our hotel. It is always such a beautiful site from our rooftop each evening when they sound their horn and steam out of the harbour!

The Markets do operate every evening and over summer they will also have night markets on selected evenings in the area.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Wishing you a joyous festive season,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,270 - 1,276 of 2,420 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here for a night in a King executive room and we were overall disappointed.
Firstly the positives the staff were very friendly and courteous and the rooftop pool and spa was fabulous overlooking the bridge.
It was disappointing not to at least have bottles of water in the room a d sadly the blinds were very ineffective in blocking out the morning light.
For the price we paid and being a member of the hotel rewards group we feel this place just needs to move forward with the times a little more

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Stu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Stu H,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologise that our hotel did not meet all of your expectations. Thank you for your kind words about our staff and the hotels location.

The hotel is currently working on replacing the blinds in our guest rooms and currently we are 75% of the way through the hotel. I am sorry that you were staying in a room which had not been completed at this stage. Just to let you know, the hotel is also about to embark on replacing all of our lobby and restaurant furniture which will also modernise the hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us , wishing you a happy festive season.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn mainly because it was so close to the Observatory, and our night time tour. We soon discovered the hotel was more than just a pit stop for the night. Our room was clean, comfortable, and well stocked, reception was friendly and efficient, the cocktails from the bar were delish, and most of all, the buffet breakfast was fantastic with the highlight being a fresh juice machine. We will be back but for longer next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkmagick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear kkmagick1,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for awarding us a five star score based on your stay with us.

It sounds as though you truly enjoyed all that our hotel has to offer ! Your kind words are much appreciated and have been shared with our team.

We hope that you enjoyed your night tour at the Observatory, the night tours are really unique and we have had many guests recommend this too.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Wishing you a happy festive season,

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My partner and I took the opportunity to share a weekend away in Sydney, and what better place to be located than in The Rocks area. This hotel was advertised as good value, good location and to the most part of our stay it delivered on its self promotion.

The location is hard to beat, literally 5-10 mins from everything you would need to enjoy a busy or relaxed ( your choice) few days. The Harbour bridge, Opera House, Circular Quay are all within this walking distance and can be viewed from the roof top spa area - a great place for sunset photo opportunities.

Service was professional and unpretentious, always polite and efficient, with a nice hint of natural warmth in their hospitality.

In terms of value for money, do not expect it to be the cheapest in the area, as you are paying for an exceptional location and probably a 4 star accommodation property. Upsides were the bed linen and pillows, great sleep to be had. Downside was the bathroom, with water going everywhere with the use of a shower curtain only, honestly hadn't seen one of those for some time ! Just meant you had to be thoughtful about where you directed the shower head, and clean up afterwards.

Buffet breakfast here was just average, with standard choice of hot and cold menu items
( bacon, eggs, sausages, tomatoes etc you know the deal and fresh fruits breads, coffee) However the food was never hot, and barely warm which I find disappointing when food should be rotating quite often. That said, there was plenty of choice and volume to fill your needs.

Room size was average and comfortable, with 2 sealed windows overlooking the heritage alleyway behind the hotel. This alleyway contained a choice of restaurants, coffee houses, markets and shops .

All in all, great location at reasonable value, and its Sydney right ? So you know you are going to enjoy yourself !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relaxed-traveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear relaxed-traveller59,

As a Senior Reviewer thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your stay with us in August. Your very comprehensive review is much appreciated. I was glad to read that you enjoyed the hotels location and our friendly service.

Your comments about your breakfast experience in the restaurant are welcomed and your feedback has been passed onto the hotel Chef. Since August we have continued to improve our breakfast experience and have had many positive comments in this forum recently.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and have a happy Festive Season!

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed on the 8th floor and found the room spacious and had sufficient natural light. Check in was easy and staff at the counter were helpful and pleasant. Location wise, it's about 500m walk to Circular Quay station and there are shops and cafes nearby.

Only wish the fitness centre was in the buidling and not a 800m walk to the location.

Apart from that, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear shedee,

As a Top Contributor thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and glad that you enjoyed our hotels location.

Wishing you safe future travels,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

First time we have stopped at this hotel and will definitely stay here again. The customer service was great and probably the best we have received in any Sydney hotel. The location is perfect for accessing circular quay and the rocks. Its also just across from the cruise terminal.
We found the valet parking very easy and convenient. Definitely recommend. The pool area looked nice with great views over the harbour. unfortunately it was raining during our stay.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the harbour get a room on the upper floors. We were on level 3 and a cruise sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear stefarn,

As a Senior Contributor thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are humbled by your comment - "The customer service was great and probably the best we have received in any Sydney hotel". The team here have worked very hard over the past year to continue improving on their already very strong customer service skills.

It's a shame that you had inclement weather during your stay and did not get a chance to use the pool deck area.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed here for three nights as part of an ongoing vacation in Oz. We had had it recommended by friends who stayed here previously and were not disappointed. We arrived quite early because of our flight into Sydney from Singapore but were able to get into our rooms more or less straight away thanks to the most helpful staff on the desk. This enabled us to have a quick shower and hit the sights. Our room was basic but clean, with tea and coffee facilities and over looked a quiet side street so peaceful sleep, our friends overlooked the harbour...better view but with cruise ships coming and going not so good a sleep.
The hotel is a Holiday Inn, don't forget that but everything was perfect and clean. The location is just brilliant and the view from the poll is to die for! We had breakfast included, it is buffet style and there was everything we needed with plenty of choice and quick replenishment. The bar prices were very reasonable....this is Sydney! All the staff were friendly and helpful and we always got a cheery welcome be it day or night, We had to leave very early in the morning again due to flight times but check out was straight forward, the young girl on reception being very genuinely interested in our travels.
I would recommend this hotel to any one who wants to be in the harbour area, the staff are a real credit to the management, thank you from the bottom of our hearts for a short but pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uptowngirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear uptowngirl1,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for awarding us a five star review. I was delighted to read that you stayed with us after a positive recommendation from your friend.

Your very kind words in relation to our staff, the cleanliness of the hotel and our breakfast product are greatly appreciated.

We have worked extremely hard on our service delivery this year and your recognition of this means a lot to our team.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us, we hope to be able to welcome you and your friends back to the hotel again when you next visit Sydney.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
1,316 reviews
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#45 of 179 in Sydney
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 179 in Sydney
4,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Old Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Sydney
#42 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#43 Family Hotel in Sydney
#48 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £130 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing