We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Ranked #42 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“a warm welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Quick and efficient check in from a charming male receptionist. I had requested a quiet room on a high floor and was allocated room 823 which is the top floor. The view was of a quiet side street and the start of the harbour bridge access road – so not the most inspiring. The room itself was not well lit and the furnishings were very dated, giving it a depressing feel. The bathroom was tiny with nowhere to put any personal toiletries. As I am a IHG loyalty card holder we got free internet and late check out.
Breakfast was OK with plenty of fruit for juicing but mushrooms, tomatoes and scrambled eggs all had chopped chives sprinkled on them so I asked for a separate serving of these; on two occasions this was no problem but one server was very loath to ask the kitchen for this.
The rooftop pool is great with views of the Bridge and the Opera house. There is also a great street market on at weekends.
This hotel is in a great location – but imo the rooms do need upgrading.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Figgysfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Figgysfriend,

As a Senior Contributor thank you for taking the time to review or hotel. We wish to also thank you for recognising our charming receptionist who welcomed you at check-in. Our team certainly pride themselves on their friendly service here at the hotel. We were pleased to read that we were able to allocate you a high floor room as well as provide a late check out and complimentary internet access as an IHG Rewards Club Member. Thank you for your loyalty.

We appreciate your constructive feedback in relation to your room, we are currently working through our new preventative maintenance program to continue to maintain and upgrade our rooms. In fact we are about to undergo some works and updating in the public areas in the next few weeks.

In relation to breakfast, it is Holiday Inn standard that our breakfast hot dishes are garnished with parsley or chives, however we completely understand that this is not everybody's liking. Thank you for your feedback.

Wishing you a positive 2014 and safe travels.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    1,091
    356
    87
    39
See reviews for
532
1,049
130
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Okay, it's a Holiday Inn, but it's in The Rocks, what a great location. You can walk up and down George Street and visit numerous Ugg stores, not to mention the oldest bar in Sydney, and if you venture into the alleys you will find many more interesting shops, restaurants and bars. The Rocks is to Sydney what Georgetown is to Washington, DC. If you can't have fun here you might as well stay home. We stayed here 3 nights prior to a cruise, and when our ship came into the Port of Sydney we could see it from the hotel roof. You are very close to Circular Quay with great views of the Sydney Opera House and the Harbour Bridge. Our first night there the Opera House was lit up in red for Chinese New Year, and there were celebrations on the Quay, the place was really jumping. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, although, as I said, it's a Holiday Inn, so there's nobody to bring your luggage in for you. There is no dinner restaurant, but that's ok since there are so many places nearby. The breakfast room really, really needs refurbishing, but the food is plentiful and good. Be sure to pre-book to save $5. The tables and chairs must be a hundred years old. Sydney might be my new favorite city. Well, next to Venice and London anyway. I just wish they could make decent coffee.

Room Tip: There is street noise at the front of the hotel, but it didn't keep me awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Bellacoco,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were really delighted to read how much you enjoyed your time in Sydney. We especially wish to thank you for your positive feedback about the hotel and our location.

There is certainly a lot of history in the area which we are very proud to be surrounded by.
I am pleased to let you know that Playfair restaurant will undergo an upgrade in the coming months and we have just placed our furniture order along with new carpets.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we hope you enjoyed your cruise!

Kind regards

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Grant, working nights at the front desk, was very sweet and helpful! He went the extra mile and it was much appreciated! It was late and we were hoping to find somewhere open after we had been tirelessly searching. He not only recommended somewhere w/ great atmosphere and food, but called first to verify they were still serving food.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UFPA10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear UFPA10,

Thank you for taking the time to leave positive feedback about Grant. It is greatly appreciated and we will ensure that Grant is recognised at the hotel for going the extra mile for you.

We trust that you enjoyed your stay in Sydney.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for a week in January and was really impressed. Firstly the hotel is in a fantastic location right in the heart of the rocks and only 3 min walk away from all the iconic sights ( the opera house ) in fact I could see the harbour bridge from my window.

The hotel is what you would expect from a holiday inn and is clean and modern. The breakfast in the morning is well worth paying the extra for . It has all you could want , hot food , bread , fruit etc but it also has a service where they will make you fresh eggs etc and pancakes and French toast and it is all good.

The thing that made this hotel great though was the really friendly and helpful staff in particular Shannon on the front desk who was a very friendly face.

Great city and a great hotel .

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Elaine P,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for awarding us a five out of five score. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and sincerely appreciate your positive feedback. Thank you for your compliments in relation to our staff and in particular Shannon. We will pass your feedback onto here to ensure that she is recognised.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Me and my husband stayed here for 5 days and it was in a very good location , close to everything the views from the pool , you can see the opera house and the bridge. Lots of ships docking into the bay so sometimes you cannot see the opera house. Very close to the ferry to see the other islands worth a visit you can get a ticket to do all islands for the best price. I found the staff very friendly and the pillows my husband says in the hotel were very good for his neck...........he wants to know where you can get them!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Tracey A,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It certainly has been a very busy cruise season in the Harbour! Thank you for your kind words about our hotel staff and the pillows which we provide in our guest rooms. We are very happy that your husband had such a restful sleep. If you would like to be put in contact with the supplier of our pillows, our Housekeeping Manager would be more than happy to provide these details to you.

Wishing you a positive 2014, and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

This hotel certainly has the location, our room overlooked George St and the activities that go on there. From the roof top pool area there is great views of the Harbour Bridge & the Opera House. The rooms were very nice but not big. We only had the one chair which was an office desk chair otherwise you had to lie on the bed all the time you were in the room, not so good. The big downside is there is no WiFi in the rooms except at a price. Coming from Canada Wifi is almost taken for granted across Canada & the US especially in hotels such as Holliday Inns. But for a price you can have it. We arrived on Australia Day and couldn't get near the hotel with our vehicle. We had to park a distance away and make several trips through heavy crowds with our luggage then keep going back to feed the meter for parking. There was no compensation offer at all from the hotel. I feel the least they could have done was had people to assist guests with parking and with their luggage especially on days when the streets are closed off to vehicles

Room Tip: Check dates with the hotel to ensure you can get access to the hotel. If you book through an online...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Peter C,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of our hotel. I wish to also thank you for your constructive comments.

During the recent Australia Day celebrations the local council and police placed very heavy traffic and crowd controls in the local area. The hotel was briefed only several days prior to the local events being held that there would be road closures.The hotel does not have a dedicated porters department however our team are always more than happy to assist with luggage storage and valet parking on site.

I can certainly understand your frustration with road closures and the fact that you have had to struggled with your luggage for which I apologise. Please understand that the hotel had no control over the public road closures.Once we had this information at hand, the reservations team at the hotel contacted as many arriving customers as possible who had valid email addresses or Australian phone numbers to pass on any information to assist our customers.

Internet access is complimentary to all IHG Rewards Club members, the program is free to join at any one of our hotels worldwide online or via the hotel reception desk. Our hotel also offers complimentary computer terminals available to all guests in our hotel lobby.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PLEASANTON
Level Contributor
140 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed here 3 nights. Very friendly staff. Had a quiet corner room at the back of the hotel. Much less road noise although this end of George St is not that bad. Easy access to some excellent restaurants (e.g. Waterfront). Short walk to Circular Quay and the Opera House. Tour ships docked across the street do block the view. Outdoor pool on the top deck fun in the late afternoon. Great breakfast, get it included with your room. Small bath room. Tub had rounded bottom so not too much area to stand comfortably. TP holder too close to toilet. Don't forget to ask for an outlet adapter since they don't automatically have them in the rooms.

Room Tip: Back corner rooms are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHARLES B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear CHARLES B,

As a Top Contributor thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your 3 night stay with us.

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback in relation to our breakfast offering as well as your kind words about our hotel team which are much appreciated.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, wishing you safe future travels,

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#36 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Old Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Property: Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#40 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#43 Family Hotel in Sydney
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing