We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Nearby Hotels
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$270
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$230
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,615)
Filter reviews
2,614 results
Traveller rating
854
1,240
383
96
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
854
1,240
383
96
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolrocks areaopera househarbour bridgegreat locationweekend marketcruise shiprocks marketoverseas passenger terminalshort walklobby barclose to circular quaybit datedgeorge streetbuffet breakfastan upgraderestaurants and bars
Filter
Updating list...
1,348 - 1,353 of 2,614 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here two nights while laying over from a vacation in Port Douglas. We took a train from the airport and had a 5 minute walk from the train to the hotel. We got off at Circular Quay. We had big luggage and a few carryon's and it was no big deal! This Holiday Inn is at the Rocks close to the Bridge and Opera weekend marktet, lost of pubs, etc. We also walked to Darlington Harbor and took a water ferry to Manly Beach. The water Ferries are walking distance. We had a fantastic time! Saturday night, we decided to go up to the rooftop pool and hot tub and take in the beautiful view! After we got up there, we heard loud bangs. It was an amazing fireworks display over the Opera! Just incredible! Our room had the Port/Opera & Bridge view. The bathroom was small but we didn't care. The room was fine and the bed was excellent! Look no further! This is your hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalestacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear DaleStacey,

Thank you for taking the time to post a five star review of our hotel, it is greatly appreciated. It certainly seems as though you saw quite a bit during your time in Sydney and we are glad that you found our location to be so convenient. The fireworks have also been a surprise to us as well! They have not been advertised and are a part of some weekend festivals which have been taking place in Sydney. We are glad that you enjoyed them from our rooftop!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we also hope that you enjoyed Port Douglas, it's a wonderful place to visit.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We spent 5 nights here 11th March until 16th March 2014 and have mixed feelings about the hotel. Yes, it's in an amazing location (our room overlooked the Harbour Bridge - wonderful) but it is SO tired. The paintwork on the windows behind the double glazing was peeling very badly and looks awful. The extractor fan in the bathroom was on constantly and was extremely noisy - we had to ensure the bathroom door was closed at all times. The rooms are functional and clean but don't expect any luxury. However, on the other hand, the staff were very friendly and helpful.
We had the breakfast on a couple of days and it is of a good quality, however, cafes in the locale do offer better value for money.

Room Tip: We chose a room on the 7th floor as it's quieter away from the traffic.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian&Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Ian & Kathy,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your constructive feedback is much appreciated.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotels location and thank you for you compliments about the room cleanliness and our staff.

We are currently in the process of upgrading parts of the hotel and this will be ongoing over the coming months. Many of the works are internal such as furniture, carpet and air conditioning replacements however we are also working towards renovating the exterior windows as they are heritage listed and require special care. This will be significant work but something which we are committed to completing this year. This will be carried out in conjunction with our current room maintenance program which has includes replacing glazing where necessary to ensure that there is thicker glass to block out any external noise.I apologise that your room was not one which has been completed at this stage.

Just last week we painted the entire restaurant including all of the windows and replaced the carpet. The result has been fantastic and we look forward to continuing to roll out further updates in the coming weeks.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and please accept our apologies,

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 1 night after finishing a cruise. It's located 1 block behind the overseas passenger terminal so very close. It's also in the heart of the rocks for cafes and shopping. Walking distance to geroge street shops and circular quay.

Lobby is massive and has an open fireplace couches and a bar. :-)

The service was amazing. They held our bags from 6am till check in at 2pm. They delivered the bags to the room too.

The room itself was amazing. Very large than expected. Most review say they are small. We had a balcony too overlooking the rocks.

Beds are extremely soft. Pillows are AMAZING. They have soft and firm choices on the beds. The TV is very modern and good quality with fox8 a few others and normal tv. The air conditioning was also amazing. Got the room down to an amazing freezing temperature but could be turned up easily.

Bathroom was large and clean. Bath and shower head were not modern but food spread and very warm

ROOFTOP pool with amazing views of the bridge and the opera house. There is a spa, deck chairs pool towels a bathroom and a phone for room service up at the pool. And it's open till 11pm.

Room service and bars are available look great but didn't use them.

Cons, only 3 towels for 4 people. Outside door didn't lock level 5 not an issue. The pool says heated but don't think it was turned on. It was a 28° day anyway. Nothing major at all. :-)

Would Def recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Josh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Josh K,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your positive review is greatly appreciated. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us. We also wish to thank you for the pictures which you have shared with others online.

We trust that you enjoyed your visit to Australia.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I spent three nights at this location on a business trip. As many have observed, it is a great location at The Rocks, but location is overrated since sydney has a terrific transportation system. The room felt like an upgraded Motel 6, the bathroom was dated, small and shabby. The room was spartan in its furnishings, limited in size and closet space. The bed was very comfortable and I would have gotten a good night's sleep except for the incessant noise and partying from the street. Service was outstanding and the employees were consistently helpful and polite. There are numerous cafes and restaurants and shops within walking distance on the same street, but many fall into the category of "tourist traps". The main question one has to ask is whether it is worth paying close to $400 a night to stay close to the opera house, quays, etc. Even then it may be possible to get quality accomodations without paying much more. I would shop around and look for the best value.

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing the street
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G S s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear G S s,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your kind words about our staff. We apologise for the external noise outside of the hotel which disturbed your sleep. We have been working closely with the local council to address any issues which are raised.

The hotel is currently undergoing some upgrade works which commenced this week and will continue rolling out throughout the year. This will include upgrades to our public areas, restaurant, air conditioning systems and some updating and heavy maintenance to some of our guest rooms. We appreciate your constructive feedback.

We trust that your business trip was a successful one. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Excellent location but not at all what I would expect from a Holiday Inn. Frankly, I didn't know they put their name to hotels in this poor condition.

The hotel itself was quirky. Very nice modern bright reception area, with lots of nooks and crannies as you go to the rooms which are dated and in poor condition.

The room I had was very poorly maintained, with various faults, AC broken and noisy and everything else practically falling apart, water on floor of bathroom and light broken. Dirty (not because of daily cleaning so much as the fact that its all worn and needing replacement).
Bed and pillows very good. Everything else bad. Woken up by noise of staff passing by at 6am.

The staff were average (hard to describe, just didn't seem too friendly, didn't try in any way and seemed rushed even though they weren't serving anyone). When I had to raise a fault with the room was completely fobbed off (I suspect they are used to it due to the condition of the rooms and have had all they can take).

Location excellent (including lots of competitors nearby which you might want to try if you intend on spending time in the room), rooftop pool exactly as pictured, lovely with amazing views.

Its not just that its run down and in need of a refurb - its a case that they clearly have spent no money on any general maintenance for years and have had no-one checking anything for the rooms to get into this state.

Room Tip: If you plan to spend time in a room then book a different hotel. Plenty of competitors nearby, a Travelodge 3 mins away looked new and modern outside but I didn't go in so it could be worse. The Holiday Inn Old Sydney was in a great location, but the room I got was very very run down, dirty, old and broken.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Matthew L,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologise that you did not find our hotel to be of a suitable condition. We wish to apologise for this. Our hotel is heritage listed and is currently about to undergo several enhancements.

I am pleased to let you know that the hotel and our owners have committed to some of the most comprehensive upgrades to the hotel in many years which commenced last week. We have also recently been audited by AAA who maintained our rating at 4.5 stars as well as an independent company who audits on behalf of IHG who ranked our Holiday Inn well within company standards.

The air conditioning problem of which you have commented upon will be rectified with a full hotel upgrade and replacement which will commence in late June. As of last week we also commenced an upgrade of our restaurant with painting, signage and carpets. In the coming weeks all furniture in our public areas, restaurants and bars will also be replaced along with new floor rugs in the lobby. The hotel will also be conducting upgrades and restorations to the windows externally which are heritage listed.

Our guest rooms are being placed on a very heavy maintenance program floor by floor of which we have just finished level 1. This will address most of the issue which you have commented upon in your review.

I apologise that you believed that our staff did not show the appropriate amount of empathy in regards to your feedback, we are disappointed by this and this is not typical of our team. Thank you for raising this for us to investigate further.

Please accept our apologies once again, we are sorry that we have disappointed you.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews