We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Sydney(Sydney)
US$208
US$164
Hilton
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)
US$209
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$195
US$176
Swissotel.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$158
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Travelodge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)
US$122
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Internet
US$273
US$226
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$223
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
US$139
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,590)
Filter reviews
2,590 results
Traveller rating
844
1,231
381
94
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
844
1,231
381
94
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolrocks areaopera househarbour bridgegreat locationweekend marketcruise shiprocks marketoverseas passenger terminalshort walklobby barclose to circular quaybit datedgeorge streetbuffet breakfastan upgraderestaurants and bars
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,319 - 1,324 of 2,590 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We chose the Holiday Inn as it is across from the Overseas Passenger Terminal for cruises. We chose to arrive a day before cruise departure. We had an excellent room 820 with a view of our ship docking ...made it all the more exciting. We arrived a little early so we went off for lunch on the Waterfront docks . On our return our luggage was in our room and we had triple aspect window view around the harbour and the Rocks. Very comfortable room .Hotel is ideally positioned for Rocks ,Bridge , Opera House and Circular Quay .Roof view amazing although only a small space , were lucky to see some fireworks over the harbour . Excellent helpful desk staff very obliging and very used to cruisers. Nothing too much trouble , particularly helpful when I left something in room ,I made a quick call as we were docking and I rushed up to hotel and it was all ready waiting for me at desk . Would stay here again .

Room Tip: Remember your opera house view may be blocked by a large cruise ship . They berth at 5.30am and leave at 6.30pm
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tardustraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Tardustraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. How exciting it must have been for you to watch your cruise ship dock right outside of your window prior to your journey!

Thank you for your kind review which the team greatly appreciate.

We trust that you had a lovely cruise and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This hotel is quite basic in the room amenities but makes up for it with the great location within 5 minutes walk to the opera house and the Bay Bridge.
Restaurants, bars and shops within 1 minute walk - plenty of choice.
The view from the roof terrace pool is amazing.
The staff are also very helpful and attentive. Would stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: There are floors that have a few stairs between the rooms and the lift. Majority of floors have no steps. Can be a problem if you have heavy luggage but am sure the staff would be more than willing to help.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrighouseJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear BrighouseJim,

Thank you taking the time to review our hotel and for awarding us a five out of five score. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the local area and your stay in Sydney. We were delighted to read that our staff were of assistance to you and that you found them to be attentive.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Wishing you safe future travels,

Kind regards,

Rob & Team holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

It's a chain hotel, but it sure doesn't act like one. Not only is the location excellent, and the building historically interesting, but the staff is exceptionally helpful. A woman at the desk made some copies for me, at no charge. (When does a hotel do THAT?) And Housekeeping called to tell me a small magnifying mirror I had stuck on the bathroom mirror had fallen and broken, offered to find a replacement, and then directed me to where I could find one myself. I was impressed. Someone has done a brilliant job with the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear Lynn B,

Thank you so much for your very kind review of our hotel. It was our pleasure to assist you during your stay with us. We love the title of your review too! Thank you for the positive feedback about our team who are always striving to make a positive guest experience for our customers. We will be sure to pass on your lovely feedback to the team members who assisted you.

Wishing you safe future travels, and thank you once again for choosing to stay with us,

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Lovely room, big and clean with wonderful views of Sydney Opera House, (at least until the cruise ships dock). Espresso machine in the room, also selection of tea and hot chocolate. Good standard and selection of toiletries in the bathroom. Lovely fluffy towels, large shower. We didn't book breakfast at the hotel, but plenty of restaurants round about. The hotel does not have a restaurant to dine in the evenings, although you can get room service, and I think snacks in the bar. Great location. Pool quite small, not much to say really. Would visit again, although I think Sydney is greatly over-rated.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor, no complaints.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeskyAberdeenshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear PeskyAberdeenshire,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, your positive review is greatly appreciated. We weer pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and that everything which you could expect from your room made your stay so comfortable.

We trust that you enjoyed the rest of your time in Australia.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel last Thursday night for two nights to attend a wedding. We were met at reception with outstanding service and friendly staff. Just couldn't do enough for us. Our room was an executive king and was spacious and comfortable. Unfortunately three cruise ships were docked and blocked our view of the harbour but when they left we had a wonderful view. Only complaint was the shower over the bath which was dated. Bed very comfortable.

We had a very urgent document to scan and email and the receptionist was more than helpful. Very much appreciated. Thank you.

Locality was just by The Rocks. Fantastic restaurants and cafés 2 minutes walk from hotel. Taxis always at hotel entrance should you need one. Overall a very pleasant experience staying at this hotel. Will certainly stay there again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Grania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Grania R,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We trust that you enjoyed the wedding which you attended in Sydney. It's nice to read that you also got time to explore the local area and enjoy the great views from the hotel.

Thank you for your kind words about our staff, we were delighted that we were of great assistance to you.

We look forwards to being able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews