We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Ranked #42 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We first stayed here 10 years ago and loved the location so decided to go back.
Hotel is fine, very open and a bit cold feeling due to the massive atrium. The bedroom was fine and functional but was disappointed in the bathroom, it was very much in need of a makeover. Outdated and tired looking.
The breakfast was acceptable if not outstanding, you could order special requests from the chef but this was not obvious! Staff were very courteous and helpful. I found the cooked food not hot enough.
The position is brilliant and we would stay here again. It is good value and would only go up in price if the changes were made. The pool on the roof has amazing views.
As it was a cool few nights we were happy to sit near the open fire in the bar after we had been out to eat!

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor it is worth requesting a harbour view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joey1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Joey1964,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We wish to thank you for returning to the hotel 10 years after your previous visit.

The hotel is in the process of an extensive improvement program with several projects currently underway. Tomorrow the lobby will receive its brand new furniture which will be the first such update in about 10 years. We are currently half way through our updates in the restaurant and we are just about to fully upgrade and replace the heating and air conditioning systems in the hotel. The maintenance team are currently working room by room to upgrade the bathroom fittings and make any necessary repairs to our heritage listed building.

Our live cooking station is currently being overhauled and should be rolled out in the coming weeks. We apologise if our temporary arrangements for special requests at breakfast were not more visible. Thank you for this feedback.

Thankyou for returning and we look forwards to being able to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,156 - 1,162 of 2,424 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

Holiday Inn Old Sydney is at an excellent location in the Rocks area. Its a 5 minute walk from the Circular Quay station which makes it pretty convenient to get around. Pancakes on the Rocks is just down the road. It is a cozy hotel with great service. We stayed in a comfy king executive room with a great view of the Opera House. The lobby is a great place to chill and relax. Great value for money. I would recommend having free wifi. Overall a great experience.

Room Tip: I recommend staying in a bigger room on a higher floor for a better view and more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nimmi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Nimmi C,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the local area. For your next stay at an IHG hotel, our hotels offer free WIFI to all IHG Rewards Club Members, joining is free and available at anytime at any of our hotels worldwide.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for recommending us.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Great location for Sydney harbour with views of the bridge & Opera house with the shops & circular quay closeby. The rooftop pool/spa is not as impressive as the hotel suggests but who spends much time there anyway? Staff were courteous & efficient & this place compares well with other 'better rated' Aussie hotels we have stayed in. Free wifi in the rooms would be nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PWutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear PWutt,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and staff.We trust that you enjoyed your time in Australia, thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights in April and can not believe the standard of the twin room that my family were given! Had booked in advance so they knew there were four people (two adults and two teenage children) yet the room they gave us was so small that two people had to be on the bed if anyone wanted to walk to the bathroom -which was also incredibly small . Talk about outdated- the shower was in a bathtub which made it impossible to turnaround without risking major injury. Also, how could a hotel of this "standard" have a tap with the hot/cold tag missing???? Also the air conditioning unit is so old that you have to move a switch up/down to discover the right temperature. The room was on the sixth floor so the curved wall made the room even smaller. Unfortunately the buffet breakfast was of average quality and over priced.
I will say that the staff are incredibly friendly and are the best thing about the place, as well as the location.
Overall a very poor experience!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussie1Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear aussie1Sydney,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for your constructive feedback. We were sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Our rooms vary in size throughout our building due to its heritage listing and apologise that you and your family found your room to be of a small size.

Our air conditioning system along with the controllers are scheduled to be replaced from June and July throughout the hotel with the latest technology for our guests to use. This will be a far better solution to what we currently have in our guest rooms.

We are having maintenance check the taps in the hotel as we speak as we were not aware that there had been any reported without their labels. We apologise for this.

Thank you for the kind words about our staff and we wish to apologise again for your poor stay.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

If you don't want to be keep up at All hours by SLAMMING DOORS......
DO NOT STAY HERE !!!!!!!!!!
Whether it's the oblivious Patrons, or Houskeeping, the Metal Doors here with
Their ungodly closing devices, will Slam the Room Door shut and reverberate through
The whole "open Area", space....

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank robt_wndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Robert M,

Thank you for your review. We apologise that you clearly did not enjoy your stay with us. I understand that you also reported this issue to the management team during your stay with us which was logged.

This is one of the first times that this has been raised by our customers and apologise that during the busy school holidays there were a lot of children in house. Our housekeeping teams also take great care to not disturb our customers to the best of their ability.

I apologise that this clearly wasn't the case and that your rest was disturbed, I understand that this greatly upset you during your stay with us.

Please accept our apologies once again.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed here in March and enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in a great location at the rocks. Our room at the back side of the hotel was pretty quiet and the roof top pool has a great view when the tourist ships are not at the dock. The staff were courteous and we managed to check in early after our overnight flight. They could do with a concierge service for experienced tourist advice and a bellboy for your luggage which does affect their service standard. So many places can be visited within close proximity. We did and recommend the following which is also in order. Day 1; Sydney Tower, Chinatown, Sydney Fishmarket, Darling Harbour, Sydney Aquarium. In the evening we ate at Glenmore Hotel on the roof which has a great view and walked around Sydney Harbour Bridge & Sydney Opera House.
Day 2; was further afield we went to Featherdale Wildlife Park at Doonside and Bondi Beach to Coogee Beach Walk. This is quite a full on itinerary but very enjoyable and all are recommended and great tourists sights. We used the MyMulti Day Pass which was makes transport easy and also the free shuttle bus route 555 which runs up and down George Street in Sydney. Some of the attractions you can book online and save money. We definitely recommend Holiday Inn Old Sydney at the Rocks.

Room Tip: Back side of the hotel is quieter but no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear R0002,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your five out five review is greatly appreciated. We were pleased that you enjoyed the quiet room and our handy location. You certainly covered a lot of ground whilst in Sydney and saw plenty of the great tourist attractions!

A concierge, bell service is not a typical standard for Holiday Inn hotels in Australia however our friendly reception team have been well trained to handle the same services. I apologise if we could have been of better service. Our Guest Experience staff are very multi-skilled and always happy to assist.

We hope to be able to welcome you again if you come and visit us from Perth in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed two nights at HI Old Sydney after our cruise on the Radiance. As mentioned in previous reviews, the location is great with easy access from the terminal. We arrived at around 9:30am after debarkation, a little early for check-in but they were able to find two rooms on the 4th floor for us. Kind of disappointed that even though we were acknowledged as platinum status we did not receive any upgrades. The only benefits that we received were getting free Wi-fi and also daily newspapers. (At Hilton properties we would have gotten room upgrades to the executive level with lounge access plus free breakfast.) Rooms looked tired and definitely 'old', with no views of any significance. Son had fun taking pictures of the old fashion hardwares on the doors. Our room was right next to the laundry room so you could hear the humming noise all day long. We left our room in the morning with the door hanger out for room cleaning, but when we came back after 3 it was still not made up. Rating for this hotel was saved by the staff at the front desk, especially Shannon and Jonathan, also the young lady who checked us in whom I forgot her name. They were all professional and courteous, great assets to the hotel, thus receiving one star higher. Will we stay here again? Probably not if we have to pay for the room. We used Priority points and free-night certificates for our stay. Our thoughts were: We missed the hotel that we stayed at pre-cruise.

Suggestion: Cruisers, see if you can get out of the port terminal on the second floor if staying here after your cruise (where the taxis are), it's an easier walk out to the hotel from there than the lower level. Stay away from the convenient store right next to the hotel, ridiculously expensive!

Room Tip: Higher floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear ROCruiser,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. As an IHG Rewards Club Member thank you for your loyalty. Thank you for your kind words about our staff whom you have named, we will ensure that your comments are shared with these team members. The hotel is a heritage listed thus we are pleased that your son enjoyed some of our unique features of our hotel. Unfortunately as we are a Holiday Inn property we do not have any club floors or lounges available to our customers. The InterContinental hotel here in Sydney has such floors available. Due to our extremely high occupancy, complimentary upgrades have not always been available to our IHG Rewards Club members and are subject to availability, we apologise that one was not available during your stay with us. We apologise for the noise which you experienced from our guest laundry and am sorry that it affected your stay with us. Our room attendants endeavour to complete all room cleaning duties by 3 pm however occasionally during heavy check out days they are some small delays. We understand and acknowledge that it would have been frustrating to return at 3 pm and not have had your room serviced by this time. We apologise for this.

We trust that you enjoyed your cruise, thank you for your feedback,

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 179 in Sydney
1,316 reviews
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#45 of 179 in Sydney
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#26 of 179 in Sydney
4,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Old Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Sydney
#41 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#43 Family Hotel in Sydney
#48 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £126 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing