We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,710)
Filter reviews
2,710 results
Traveller rating
898
1,281
390
98
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
898
1,281
390
98
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolrocks areaopera househarbour bridgegreat locationcruise shiprocks marketoverseas passenger terminallobby barbit datedclose to circular quayfew minutes walkbuffet breakfastgeorge streetan upgraderestaurants and barsking room
Filter
Updating list...
1,361 - 1,366 of 2,710 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

In terms of views this is by fair the best hotel in world I have stayed in. What more of a hotel do you want which has a hot tub and swimming pool on top of its roof which overlooks the Sydney Opera House. Absolutely stunning and is a culmination of what dreams are made of. I was more happy with this place than when Charlie won the golden ticket in Charlie and the Choctaw factory.

The rooms are spacious with very good views and the layout of the hotel is efficient. The surrounding area is immense being situated next to the historical point of interest the rocks. The rooms are clean and well presented and the staff are accommodating and friendly.

Unfortunately we didn't try the food but being in such a great location there was plenty of restaurants in the surrounding area to choose from.

If your looking for tranquility and serenity then go here because it offers that and more!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear John L,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The content in your review was a great read and certainly made us smile when you made the Charlie and the Chocolate factory reference! We were very pleased to read that you were so delighted with your stay with us. Thank you so much for your kind words on behalf of the team.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Wishing you safe future travels.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The hotel is located at the rocks area, it's nice if you want to see weekend market since it's right next door however it's quite far from city central. It's near ferry terminal and Sydney Opera house, it's at walking distance. It is surrounded by mid to upscale restaurant with the cost of main course ranging around USD20-35. McD and Hungry Jack are located at the ferry terminal. The nearest food court, I think, located at AMP building near ferry terminal however it's closed at night. No big supermarket near the hotel, only mini market. The Sydney Sightseeing Tour (hop on hop off) is stopped across the hotel so you can join the tour right from the hotel. Near the hotel's backdoor there is a cafe which sold delicious sandwiches, especially for breakfast.

I booked double queen bed room directly to the hotel website and the booking price (room only) was good. The service of the receptionist was good. The room itself it's quite small. The queen bef is quite comfort but small for 2 adults. It's clean. Wifi was free with good speed. The room view is quite good, harbour view. There was no mini bar and no complimentary bottled water.

Good thing is the hotel has guest laundry room which is equipped by washing machine and dryer. The cost was only USD2/cycle for each washing machine and dryer. I'm not sure if every floor is equipped with laundry room but at my room floor (4th floor), there is one.

The swimming pool is located at the top floor and it's an open air. The water was not heated so it was cold during winter in June. The view is great, you can directly see the opera house, the river as well as the bridge. Try to wake up at dawn to see sunset, it's quite nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank budys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear budys,

Thank you for taking the time to post your very fair and comprehensive review of our hotel and the local area.

The hotel is in the process of upgrading the heating unit for the outdoor pool which is usually only solar heated. With this new booster the pool should be a comfortable temperature for all to enjoy year round.

The hotel only has the one floor with the coin operated laundry which we were pleased to read that you used.

We were delighted that you enjoyed many of the local attractions and that you also had the chance to take in the fantastic sunrise / sunsets from the rooftop.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Overall its a good hotel. Room was clean. Mini bar was well filled and internet connection in the room (wireless in the lobby)
Reception crew was friendly and helpfull. Breakfast was an all style breakfast and good.
I will go back there

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Fred S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

For years now, every time I visit Sydney I wonder what the Holiday Inn Old Sydney is like but had never stayed. Until now and I am pleased to report it is a great hotel. Smack bang in the heart of the Rocks so it's close to the Harbour Bridge and Opera House. It's also right near busses, ferries and trains and there are restaurants everywhere. Service was superb and the room well decorated. The public areas could have a bit of a decor update but that's a triflingly minor concern. Will I stay here again? Absolutely yes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear David F,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We love the title of your review! It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you finally chose to stay with us. Thank you for your kind words about the staff and the hotel.

The team are updating the décor in the public areas at the moment with our new lobby furniture having arrived last week. We are also painting and repairing various areas around the hotel. We recently repainted and re-carpeted our restaurant and have several up coming projects which will further add to our presentation of our heritage listed hotel.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Clean & comfortable. Perfect location for anyone considering a cruise out of the rocks. We were able to simply wheel our suitcases down to baggage drop at cruise port in less than 5 minutes. Rooms a bit old and dates for the price however you can't beat the location. Breakfast was really nice too, it was a great bonus to have a juicer in the breakfast bar!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBugs77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear TravelBugs77,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our location to be very convenient to the Overseas Passenger Terminal. It certainly takes a lot of stress out of a holiday when you don't have to rush for transport to your embarkation point.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we trust that you enjoyed your cruise.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews