We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,706)
Filter reviews
2,706 results
Traveller rating
897
1,279
389
98
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
897
1,279
389
98
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolrocks areaopera househarbour bridgegreat locationcruise shiprocks marketoverseas passenger terminallobby barbit datedclose to circular quayfew minutes walkbuffet breakfastgeorge streetan upgraderestaurants and barsking room
Filter
Updating list...
1,353 - 1,358 of 2,706 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Perfectly located in the Rocks with a rooftop pool view to die for - which nearly happened incidentally on diving into a freezing cold shallow pool but that's another story.. Rooms perfectly serviceable but nothing to write home about. Very comfy beds and pillows and fabulously efficient staff. Would recommend and will stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lavalamplulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear lavalampulie,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for awarding us with a five out of five score. In regards to the pool, we are just about to install a new heat pump which should boost our solar heating over the winter months. Apologies for the cool temperature in the pool.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had four great nights at the Holiday Inn Old Sydney. The room was spacious and clean, and the bed comfortable. The view from the roof is fabulous and the breakfast is good value - we loved the juice maker and the scrambled eggs.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gavin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Gavin L,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words and for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We are currently staying here and feel compelled to write a review now- instead of later. Rooms are clean and comfortable, no frills- but we are certainly not paying for frills in the great rate. Very affordable and very central- without being surrounded by traffic and hussle and bussle! The building itself is quite peculiar and interesting. We are in room 518 and it takes about as long to walk from the lift to our door as the flight from Adelaide (huge embellishment) but with a sneaky short cut up a couple of stairs to the 6th floor (right by our room) we can access the elevator really conveniently. The man who checked us in (sorry I didn't catch your name) was most friendly and professional- very good ambassador for IHG. We haven't dined in the restaurant or bar yet but I can only assume all other staff are just as great. The view from the room of the city is great- especially at sunrise! The view from the pool on the rooftop is absoloutely stunning- you can see the Opera House accross the harbour and you can almost touch the Harbour Bridge! It feels like you're in your own special corner of Sydney! Special shout out to the comfortable bed and pillow selection. I like firm mattresses and pillows but our bed and my pillow are both soft and I'm now rethinking my bed choice at home. Super happy with everything- thanks to everyone! Plus a big thanks to Grant for the bubbles and strawberries in our room on arrival- what a special welcome!!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Sian K,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for posting a review whilst you were still in house. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive feedback about our staff is also greatly appreciated and will be shared with them.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back for a visit from Adelaide again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

If you want a great & convenient Hotel to stay in and see all of Sydney, this is the place I would recommend, not too expensive & the rooms are well appointed they have everything to make your stay a pleasure, Close to the iconic Rocks area and Circular Quay Opera House & close to all other transport venues and wonderful restaurants. Close to old Sydney town with quaint little hotels and of course the wonderful Rocks Markets held on every weekend. I have given the Hotel a 4 but more like a 4 & half.
The one problem is that they only provide breakfast and the Restaurant is closed for other meals but plenty of other restaurants are nearby.
You will love this Hotel.
My family and I have stayed at this Hotel on many many occasions.

Room Tip: Ask for the 5th or 6th floor, Bridge side, but lower rooms can be a little street noisy at times, but are still not that bad.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Brian E,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and for your loyalty. We are pleased to read that you and your family continue to return to our hotel. Your positive feedback is greatly appreciated. As you have noted in your review, our restaurant is only open for breakfast, however we have an all day and evening menu available for dining in the bar for all other meal periods. With so many dining options in the area we have found that many customers choose to have dinner in the local area.

We look forward to being able to welcome you and your family back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

In terms of views this is by fair the best hotel in world I have stayed in. What more of a hotel do you want which has a hot tub and swimming pool on top of its roof which overlooks the Sydney Opera House. Absolutely stunning and is a culmination of what dreams are made of. I was more happy with this place than when Charlie won the golden ticket in Charlie and the Choctaw factory.

The rooms are spacious with very good views and the layout of the hotel is efficient. The surrounding area is immense being situated next to the historical point of interest the rocks. The rooms are clean and well presented and the staff are accommodating and friendly.

Unfortunately we didn't try the food but being in such a great location there was plenty of restaurants in the surrounding area to choose from.

If your looking for tranquility and serenity then go here because it offers that and more!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear John L,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The content in your review was a great read and certainly made us smile when you made the Charlie and the Chocolate factory reference! We were very pleased to read that you were so delighted with your stay with us. Thank you so much for your kind words on behalf of the team.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Wishing you safe future travels.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews