We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,746)
Filter reviews
2,746 results
Traveller rating
918
1,294
393
98
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
918
1,294
393
98
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool rocks area opera house harbour bridge great location cruise ship rocks market overseas passenger terminal lobby bar bit dated close to circular quay buffet breakfast few minutes walk george street an upgrade restaurants and bars king room
Filter
Updating list...
1,383 - 1,388 of 2,746 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Great place. Easy access to all I wanted to see. Pool and party area on the roof made for idyllic location.
Friendly staff. Only problem was that I needed to book 2 rooms for my family. Wish there were different sized rooms. Would love to stay there in summer!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Merridee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Merridee,

Thankyou for taking the time to review our hotel. We weer pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the rooftop. The hotel has several different room categories available, perhaps the hotel was at a very high occupancy when you visited so there may have been a lack of alternate availability in room types.

Wishing you safe future travels,

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel best feature is its location. It is just a short walk to the harbor where the Sydney Harbor Bridge dominates the view, and also provides a nice view of the Opera House a short distance away. Several small and upscale restaurants also dot the area close by. However, we found the prices way out of line for the quality of food available. A mediocre lunch for two ran between $40-60.

The rooms are small with sitting outside of the bed provided only by a desk chair. There is no mini-bar which we never or rarely use anyway. Our room had a nice view towards the water. Photographers should venture to the 8th floor to the roof where the views at night are spectacular. A small pool and hot tub are there also.

The On-Off Bus can be caught just across the street and I recommend it.

Room Tip: Nice view of any room with 01 number.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Thor13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Thor13,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the view from our rooftop which is provides a great space for any budding photographers! Thank you for sharing one of your pictures online with us. We weer also pleased to read that you enjoyed the hop on hop off bus which departs from just across the road. It is certainly very convenient and a great way to see all of Sydney's major tourist attractions.

Wishing you safe future travels and thank you for visiting Sydney!

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel 3 weekends ago. This Holiday Inn takes advantage of Australia’s quality produce and it shows in the breakfast buffet which included a spread of fruits in season and juice station where guests can make their fresh fruit juice.(As usual I cannot help but compare the breakfast spread to the Paris and Boston branches. In both cases I looked outside for a better breakfast- I love breakfast!). We were given a room on the side of 501 to 509 (not sure about this last number), facing the Opera side and some water views, so do ask for similar.
There was a small misunderstanding with the front desk at the start, but in the end it didn't matter as we were in old Sydney to have a good time. Its location definitely makes up for anything that could go wrong.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the Sydney Opera.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ru S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear RuStrongrr,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and apologise for any misunderstanding when you checked in. The team here have worked very hard over the past 2 years to keep improving our breakfast product which we are proud to say is one of the best in the area. We were glad that you enjoyed it.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We have spent one week exploring Sydney. Arrived late Thursday and settled into hotel. Perfect location in The Rocks. Fabulous restaurants close by including Caminetto Italian restaurant, directly behind the hotel, the upstairs bar/restaurant at the Orient hotel, the courtyard cafe, patisserie and great coffee at The Fine Food store. Visited Paddy's market then on way back to hotel, explored China town and queued for delicious cream puffs at the Emperor's Garden cake and bakery, $4 for 15 - definitely worth the wait! On Saturday we visited the Powerhouse museum and aquarium with lunch at cockle bay. Sunday morning was spent exploring the markets at the Rocks, then took advantage of cheap public transport and took a ferry to Manly. Lunch was had at a pub in Manly with a great coffee purchased from the Barefoot coffee traders in Manly. We caught the Manly ferry back to Circular Quay, changed ferries and continued on to Luna park for a look around. Monday was another great day whereby we found the bridge stairs (off Cumberland street) and walked across the bridge to Burton St, Kirribilli (eastern side). We followed the directions from www.wildwalks.com - Harbour Bridge to Taronga zoo, although we only walked as far as Kirribilli house then back to the Rocks. This was a great walk with spectacular views. The rest of the day was spent exploring Hyde park, ANZAC shrine, St. Mary's Cathedral and the Sydney Tower. Tuesday we will take the ferry to Taronga zoo for the day and spend the day at this beautiful zoo. On Wednesday we will visit Bondi and the Botanical gardens and then fly home in the evening. The hotel is in a great location and we have walked everywhere (except for the Ferries and a bus to Bondi). The reception is 24 hours, clean and has a fabulous (little) rooftop hot-tub and spa with spectacular views across the Harbour.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank holidaywithkids2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear holidaywithkids2011,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your review was very detailed and was a great read for anybody visiting Sydney looking for ideas on where to visit or where to eat.

Thank you so much for sharing this with us, we were delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Sydney.

Wishing you safe future travels.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I only stayed here one night. I wish I could have stayed longer!
The room was great. The beds and bedding were very comfortable. I was on the eighth floor so the view was good of this section of Sydney. The rooftop pool and spa were fantastic. What a great view of Sydney Harbor and the city!
The desk reception staff was very helpful and friendly.
This hotel has a large lobby with a fireplace and bar area.
This hotel is in a section of Sydney called The Rocks, which is a great historical area to explore and to enjoy shopping and dining.
Sydney Harbor is close too. If I were lucky enough to come back to Sydney, I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilac59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Lilac59,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It was fantastic to red that you enjoyed your stay so much in Sydney as well as at out hotel. Thank you for your very kind words and in particular in regards to our staff.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to Sydney some time again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews