We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,706)
Filter reviews
2,706 results
Traveller rating
897
1,279
389
98
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
897
1,279
389
98
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolrocks areaopera househarbour bridgegreat locationcruise shiprocks marketoverseas passenger terminallobby barbit datedclose to circular quayfew minutes walkbuffet breakfastgeorge streetan upgraderestaurants and barsking room
Filter
Updating list...
1,341 - 1,346 of 2,706 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Minutes from the Rocks, Circular Quay, the Harbour Bridge and the Opera House......and with the hop in hop off bus stopping right outside......this hotels ace card is its location. The views from the small but adequate rooftop pool are great. Staff courteous. There are seemingly two parts to the hotel though, and I suspect I was in the older half, which was looking a bit tired and in need of renovation. Not bad value, and I would stay again.....perhaps insisting on the newer half, next time.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank MrGotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear MrGotts,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and thank you for your positive comments about the courtesy of the team.

Yes our hotel is a combination of several heritage listed buildings which were combined to form what is now know as Holiday Inn Old Sydney in the early 1980's. The entire building now has heritage listing. The West and South wings of the building are the most historic parts of the building and have larger windows and higher ceilings.

We are currently working through a very thorough maintenance program which is also going to include rectification works to the exterior of the building including the heritage windows.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This Holiday Inn located in The Rocks area is a great location for easy access to what we wanted to do in Sydney. We were visiting during Vivid Live and the hotel has a roof top pool where we were able to view, without the crowds, the wonderful lighting on the Opera House. The weekend market is just around the corner from the hotel and there are plenty of great eating establishments within walking distance. The buffet breakfast had a good variety. The lobby bar is a bit small but at least it was quiet and seats available unlike some of the extremely busy local pubs. My only complaint would be that I thought the mattress needed replacing. I felt like I was sleeping in a dip on my side of the bed. I did forget to mention that to management when we departed.

Room Tip: If you want a view, ask for a room that looks out on the harbor or the Harbor Bridge. Our room looked out on an alley.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank nomad5253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear nomad5253,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your constructive comments were shared by the manager who you reported them to. We have subsequently replaced the bedding in the room in which you stayed. Thank you for alerting us to this.

We were delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast at the hotel and the weekend markets.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Based in the rocks it feels a little like you have left the cbd after a busy work day and are on a sort of overnight holiday in the rocks area. Helpful staff. Clean rooms that work well. Reasonable rates for central business district hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank whaleyfamilytrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear whaleyfamilytrips,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your positive review is greatly appreciated. We trust that your business trip was a successful one.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Absolutely top Sydney location, clean room with functional layout, comfy bed with pillow choices and doona, very reasonable room rates, free wifi, and super friendly and helpful staff. Look no further when visiting Sydney!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Julie S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The title says it all, thank you so much for your feedback!

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Went in December 2013, had a fantastic stay. Couple of protips: Don't use the laundry service provided, there is a laundry room that takes tokens, super cheap, free detergent, if you have any basic laundry to do just do it yourself there. Location is excellent, lots of options but they're all pretty expensive. In my opinion you can't miss FINE FOODS. It's a restaurant/cafe that is literally right outside the side entrance of the Holiday Inn. They sell all sorts of breakfasts/sandwiches/that sort of stuff. The granola and muesli there are fantastic, a bit on the expensive side but totally worth it. Overall a great stay. Good location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Alex S,

Thank you or taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us back in December 2013. There are certainly some very goo dining options in the area including the venue which you mentioned. We were also pleased to read that you took advantage of our coin operated laundry on level 4. It is a great amenity after long travels.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us,

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews