We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Ranked #44 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location friendly staff”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Had to attend a wedding and this was perfectly located and not too bad on the price. The rooms were clean and comfortable and it was a great weekend. Would stay here again no problems. I forgot how nice it was in The Rocks.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjcj78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear bjcj78,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased that you had the time to re-visit the Rocks area and enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    1,141
    362
    91
    40
See reviews for
562
1,090
135
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

In my experience, most Holiday Inns are old, poorly maintained structures that give out a feeling of a dungeon. This one is no exception. The outside of the building is nice, the location is great, but the insides are some 50 years overdue for renovation. Terrible plumbing - you turn hot water, then cold, the water comes out cold. You add just slightly more hot water, the water in the sink comes out scalding hot. It is a skill you'll have to learn in order to make the water the desired temperature. The bath tub is a joke - it is some 4 feet long. Who can go there - an infant? The beds are old, cheap, and soft - my back was not feeling well after sleeping two nights on these beds.

The decor of the rooms is reminiscent of the one in a 19-century lunatic asylum - bare walls, tall ceilings, a few pieces of old worn-out furniture. The windows are awful - you can feel the cold air draft coming from the outside even when laying in bed a few feet away from the window. The paint is peeling all over the outer frame - so ugly.The swimming pool on the roof is nice, but it is not heated (despite the sign that it is), hence it is useless in the winter.

When we asked to have a late check out at 3 pm, the receptionist rather impolitely told us that we will have to check out at 2 pm or pay $20 or something like that for the extra hour. What? As IHG Platinum members we have never had any issues with 4 pm checkout anywhere in the world. They really should treat frequent customers better at this property. Overall, great location, but bad hotel - stay elsewhere for this price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtw123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear rtw113,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. As a Platinum IHG Rewards Club Member thank you for your loyalty.

We were disappointed to read that your stay with us was not necessarily a positive one. The hotel is currently undergoing some upgrades on many of the items which you have listed in your review.

The hotel is only 34 years old but consists of several building which is up to 120 years old within the complex therefore making this building heritage listed.

The hotel will be embarking on refinishing the heritage listed windows in the coming months in conjunction with restoration protocol. Please accept our apologies.

The pool is heated with a solar system however due to the inclement weather this winter on some days the pool has not come up to temperature. To counter this, next week we are installing a gas booster system to ensure the pool remains at a warm temperature of winter. We are sorry that this had been delayed.

The hotel recently replaced all of the public area furniture and is looking to do some in the hotel restaurant as well.

Our beds were fully replaced in 2009 and are from a large manufacturer well known which meets Holiday Inn brand standards across the region. We apologise that you did not have a restful sleep.

As a Platinum IHG Rewards Club member I apologise if an extended late checkout past 2 pm could not be extended. Due to high occupancies and our limitations with some particular room types means that on occasions we cannot extend checkout times up until 4 pm.

We are following up on your comments about the water in your room; all rooms have temperature regulators for safety reasons so there should not have been so many fluctuations. Once again please accept our apologies for this.

rtw123, please accept our apologies, your feedback is greatly appreciated, we are sorry that you encountered so many issues during your stay with us. We hope that through our response that e can explain some of the measures which are currently being put in place to further enhance our product.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

George street bars, bands and buses prohibited sleep and awoke us early. If you do not stay on the rooms with George street windows, then maybe you can enjoy this clean, well appointed hotel with helpful friendly staff. I wouldn't know -- my family is miserably sleep deprived and really, all you basically require of a hotel is a clean place to **SLEEP!!!** no sleep.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCMorgan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear JCMorgan_11,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We sincerely apologise for your interrupted stay with us. Obviously there was a lot of external noise during the evening which you stayed with us. Not having a good night sleep is extremely frustrating. With the area being a robust tourist area on occasions there can be quite a bit of traffic outside of the hotel, both pedestrian and vehicular. The hotel is currently working with the local council to find a solution to the matter during peak periods. We are also currently updating some of the glazing to the windows at the front of the hotel.

Please accept our apologies,

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is now the 3rd time I have stayed at this hotel, And again I was very pleased with my room, the staff and of course the LOCATION, As I have said before this is an old building set amongst the historic ROCKS area of Sydney, It is not 5 star if that's what you are looking for, The OLD HOLIDAY INN is clean,bright,friendly,easy walking distance to all modes of transport, taxis,buses,ferries,With the Botanical gardens,Opera House,Harbor bridge,NSW Art Gallery, Weekend markets,many restaurants,All within easy reach - I and my family will be back for more , We love this city And The Old Holiday Inn. for us is in the perfect position

Room Tip: rooms were great on each visit, The rooms facing George Street are a bit noisy during peak times , T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 46aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear 46Aussie,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for returning to stay with us once again. With so many choices in accommodation in the city thank you for your loyalty. We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us once again and that we did not disappoint.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I have driven past this hotel on many occasions but had never darkened its doorstep.

On entering we found a spacious 8 floor high atrium with corridors from upper floors overlooking it. We were greeted by a friendly chap on reception who allocated us a room on the 8th floor.

As is my practice I had booked a basic room so was surprised on entering to find that we had a view of the Harbour Bridge.

Our Queen room which was spacious was sparsely furnished with a bed, desk, desk chair and comfy chair. It would have been nice to have had two comfy chairs. There were plenty of powerpoints for charging our toys and the wifi connection was strong. The TV reception was good.

I was pleased to find a bathtub and decent towels in the tiny clean bathroom.

The $45 fee for parking at this property hurt and the surcharge to use a credit card for payment of our account was something we have not encountered at IHG properties overseas.

The best attribute of this hotel is its location right in the historic Rocks area, just a stone's throw from Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay and the Overseas Passenger Terminal and not too far from the Opera House and the Macquarie Street precinct.

I would recommend this property to carless people who want a clean and comfortable room at an economical price convenient to Sydney sights.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank GeniAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear GeniAus,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for also taking the opportunity to experience staying with us.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the view from your room and the greeting which you received on arrival. The hotel upgraded the band width and connections with wireless network in the hotel in the past 6 months for which we are also receiving other positive comments about. thank you.

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

The credit card merchant services fee is applicable at all IHG properties within Australia and has been in place for several years. Due to extremely limited car spaces, our parking rates are inline or below all of the hotels within the local area and is heavily discounted in comparison to the local parking houses located nearby.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future,

Kind regards,

Rob & Team holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here one Friday night in July. We had stayed here many years ago and found it to be quite a nice place to stay.

Reception staff were very helpful upon check in, and directed us o the lifts to go to our room. The room was lovely and suited us just fine. We were surprised by the 'sounds of passion' welcome we received when we walked into the room. Next door the guests were 'busy' and the walls were knocking and they were quite vocal. We went out for dinner and thankfully this didn't happen again.
The bar and fireplace in the foyer added a lovely touch to our evening - it was lovely to relax for a nightcap/coffee before bed.
We found the bed was very comfortable, but we also found the room to be very noisy (this time from outside). The street sweepers, trucks, horns, trains, people on the street yelling out and a clock that chimed on the hour. It was very difficult to sleep with all this noise around us and in the end were grateful we only planned to stay the one night.

We like the question.....do you have photos to share!!! LOL

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M007J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Julie H,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry that your stay was interrupted by various types of noise during your stay with us. We know how frustrating this can be when you are trying to sleep. Please accept our apologies once again.

Thank you for your kind words about our staff, they are greatly appreciated.

Thankyou for your loyalty and for returning to the hotel once again.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in July of this year for my wife's birthday treat.

From the reception staff to the cleaners they were all very helpful and knowledgeable of the area.

Room on the 8th floor had a view of the harbour bridge and you could also get a view from the pool area of the whole of Sydney. The room was good, clean and very functional.

Easy walk to Circular Quay and the CBD.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Robert B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for awarding us with a five out of five score.
We were so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#39 of 178 in Sydney
914 reviews
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 178 in Sydney
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Old Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Property: Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Sydney
#42 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#43 Family Hotel in Sydney
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing