We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location in Sydney” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Ranked #44 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best location in Sydney”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here with my husband and a friend. They were more than happy to get a fold out bed for our friend, which hands great mattress that was just as comfy as the big bed. Great location so close to the bridge,cruise terminal and just a short walk to circular quay. We had a lovely room, it was quiet and clean. The roof pool was freezing but I have read about them getting solar heating for it? Staying here again September 2014 for a night before our cruise.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Rhi C,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could assist you with the extra bedding for your friend. Yes the pool heating booster system will be in place by next week and should assist the solar panels during our inclement winter days!.

We look forward to welcoming you back prior to your cruise in September. Thank you for your loyalty.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    1,070
    351
    87
    39
See reviews for
517
1,026
128
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

After staying a few nights at the quirky Russell up the road ( I was on my own ) I caught up with the family and we spend 2 nights at the Holiday Inn at the Rocks. This was a perfect choice for a family 2 + 2 ideally located almost under the Harbor bridge and a short walk to Circular Quay. The rooftop pool was used by my 2 fish kids despite it being a numbing 12 degrees! With great views out over the city it was all part of the fun.....Would go back there if I ever got a chance to return to Sydney.

Room Tip: We had a room over Georges Street with a view of the Harbor Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear mark g,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased to let you know that next week we will be installing a heating booster to our solar panels which heat our pool. This should make winter swimming on our rooftop a little more pleasant.

Thank you choosing to stay with us,

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We booked a stay here for our family for the Real Sydney Harbour 10km race weekend. Central to everything we could need, with carpark just up the road, and a lovely view of the bridge from our room. The room was compact, but had everything we needed. The beds and pillows were comfortable, the room clean. The staff were friendly and very helpful. When our son realised he had left his MP3 player behind, he was devastated. Being a little cynical, we reluctantly contacted the hotel to enquire as to whether the cleaning crew had found it, only to be told that they had indeed found it and would post it out to us, much to our suprise and relief.
We wouldn't hesitate to book here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Marcia B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We were so pleased to be able to assist you in locating your sons MP3 player. Thank you for your kind words about our staff and the hotel in general. Thank you for also posting the great picture from nearby the hotel.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Lovely rooms, comfy beds, excellent food, well positioned for the rocks. Staff were professional but friendly and willing to go the extra mile to ensure our stay was excellent, I would use them again.

Room Tip: Join the Holiday Inn "club" to get free wifi and daily paper
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Bernadette T,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to read that you were pleased by our teams service which went the extra mile for you. We always strive to do our very best for our customers.

Wishing you safe future travels, thank you once again for staying with us.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We are a family with two teenage sons, we stayed in a room with two double beds although a bit cramped for four that was our choice to save money, all you do is sleep in the room.
While the hotel is a little tired in places overall it is very good, very clean and all the staff we encountered couldn't of been more helpful.
Having stayed in Sydney a couple of times before this hotel is in a great location and great value for money.
Don't understand some of the reviews on here, if you want piece and quiet don't stay in The Rocks, we didn't find the room that noisy and we stayed on the fith floor.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rockinrobin62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Rockinrobin62,

Thank you fro taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your very honest review and appreciate the positive comments which you have made.

We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and in Sydney.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again some time in the future, until then wishing you safe travels.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

As expected from the name of the hotel, this is an old, but very well-maintained hotel right in the heart of many attractions. During our stay, we enjoyed the Aroma festival and many street vendors, including coffee vendors, food, etc. It was terrific. The only disappointing note was the rooftop pool, water was very cold as the heater was under repair during our stay.
Opera house, harbour bridge and Darling harbour all within walking distance.
If you are staying longer than a few days save your money, everything is very expensive, $9.00 beer, $5.00 for 1 coffee, just to name a few items, lol.

Room Tip: We did hear some noise from the bar across the street, which I personally would not recommend.(Bar 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank golfcaledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear golfcaledon,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Apologies about the pool heating repairs they are about to be completed this week.

Thank you for remarking that you thought that the building has been well maintained. The team here try very hard and at times Heritage Listed buildings do have their challenges.

We were also pleased to read that you enjoyed the local Aroma Festival. It certainly is a great day on our local calendar in our neighbourhood,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us,

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We decided to spend a night in the city due to an engagement we had in the area. As so many have mentioned, the location is brilliant. We had a back facing room but there was still a lot going on with the markets outside. Noise wasn't really an issue.

The room was small but reasonably well appointed. The shower was good. The mattress on the bed could have do with an upgrade. It was not particularly comfortable but then again we have a very good quality mattress at home so our standards are high.

The view from the upper deck is fantastic. We enjoyed the view in the daytime and at night.

We were disappointed that when we decided to have a night cap in the bar before bed, there was a group of woman completely hogging the fire in the lobby bar. It meant there was no heat at all for the other patrons. However, bar prices were reasonable although choice was very limited when it came to wine by the glass.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fussyvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear fussyvoyager,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotels location. We apologise if you found that other patrons in the bar were monopolising the fireplace area.

Our beds were fully replaced in 2009, we apologise if you found that your mattress was uncomfortable. We stock a very reputable brand which is a Holiday inn brand standard.

We were delighted that you enjoyed the rooftop view, thank you for sharing your experience.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#24 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#34 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Old Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Property: Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#42 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#43 Family Hotel in Sydney
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Travelbag, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing