We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location - very friendly/helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Ranked #43 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 January 2010

The room was pretty standard but the service was excellent. The location for the Opera house, the Quay and that end of Sydney was perfect.
Fantastic view from the roof pool area and a very nice buffet breakfast.
Best thing was the extremely pleasant and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scatty51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,404)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Old Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,993 - 1,999 of 2,405 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2010

Welcoming staff, fabulous location, nice touches include LONG bath for tall people, rooftop view, excellent value for the rate we paid

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank CanterburyRoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2009

We stayed here as part of a sale, so we paid less than $100 per night. Having said that, it was a really nice hotel and worth a lot more for the great service and location. We arrived early on Sunday as the first stop on our honeymoon, and while our room was getting ready we walked outside and checked out the local markets. We only stayed 2 nights, but had no trouble with the noise whatsoever. The room we had was a corner room, and we could see the bridge and the opera house which was pretty cool. There was a nice french bakery around the corner, and it was only a short walk down George St to the main shopping district and Chinatown/Darling Harbour. A great start to the honeymoon.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2009

Really pleased with this hotel's location - right by the harbour with views from our huge room to the Opera House. The fact that a giant cruise liner was in port for a couple of days and blocked some of the view didn't detract - we could watch the comings and goings on the ship, then all the ceremony as it set sail. Staff were really helpful and had our room ready early and also made up a sofa bed for my daughter, who arrived in Sydney separately without booking anywhere to stay. An unexpected heatwave (40 degrees in November) made the rooftop pool a boon early in the morning - amazing views. Street markets in the lanes around the hotel on Friday night made it really interesting and lively. So much to see right on the doorstep.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Numi2026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Everything you want for a city trip to Sydney, we stayed for 4 nights. The location is fantastic, bedrooms comfortable enough, 4-star seemed stretching it a bit but we didn't intend on spending a great deal of time in the actual room. There was an in-room safe, that had to be opened/closed using a visa or mastercard and the rooms were well maintained. The view from the pool on the roof is fantastic, we had to check it out during the day and evening. The breakfast was average, we say this only because we stayed in another 2 Holiday Inns as part of this trip and it was not to the same standard. It depends what you like though, there was a fully cooked breakfast but the selection of fresh fruit, yoghurts and pastries were poor. Would stay again mainly because of the location. I found the check-in staff rude and I think they need a bit of advice on what customer service means, which was a disappointment.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MallyBeckenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2009

Stayed at the Holiday Inn on the Rocks whilst my husband was working in Sydney. This hotel is in a great location just 5 min walk to Circular Quay, 15min walk to the city/shops and 5 min from a lot of restaurants. The roof top pool is not large,( the beds could have done with being replaced) but has a great view and is a nice place to sit and watch the activity in the Harbour. It would be good to have a place to get a drink up there as you have to dress and go down in the lift to the bar. The Hotel itself is a typical Holiday Inn - with adequate facilities and comfort. Considering its location I thought it was excellent value for money. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and I enjoyed my stay there and would certainly stay there again when I visit Sydney.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welshwhitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2009

Had read mixed reviews of this hotel but the rooftop view swung it & I went ahead and booked 2 nights but can happily say that this hotel was perfect for all our needs. Arriving at the airport the train into the city goes straight to Circular Quay so getting off the train to be greeted with our first view of Sydney Harbour Bridge & the Opera House together was a huge thrill. The Quay area was buzzing which added to the excitement and the hotel was just a short walk through The Rocks. The staff were helpful & curtious and our room was more than adequate for a short trip, but what made the hotel really stand out was the rooftop terrace and pool. The views were stunning, especially at night, although the pool was tiny it was still very welcome to cool off in at the end of the day. The only drawback was the lack of drinks avaliable on the terrace as it's a long treck down to the bar if you forget to bring something up with you so even a waterfountain or drink machine would have been handy.
All in all this was a great hotel with restaurants to suit most budgets right on the doorstep so no long walks to find somewhere for dinner in the evening, The Rocks is a vibrant part of the city but we had no late night noise issues and we felt part of the city buzz for the whole trip.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelDaisyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#39 of 178 in Sydney
922 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#18 of 178 in Sydney
1,306 reviews
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Old Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Sydney
#40 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#43 Family Hotel in Sydney
#48 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £121 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelbag, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing