We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“King Cross?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney
Ranked #58 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Kuala Lumpur
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“King Cross?”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

One of the main advantages is that the moment you come out of King Cross station you are in front of the hotel, Stayed for 5 nights but nothing to complain about, the staff were friendly and I was allowed to check in early without any fuss, The rooms were clean but if I was staying on the lower floor level on a weekend, it could be a bit noisy due to the nightclub nearby.
Coles opposite the hotel was also most convenient. All the fuss about being a hotel in King Cross was unfounded.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Let B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Dear Let B,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your fantastic review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Potts Point and we look forward to your return in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    526
    194
    42
    25
See reviews for
170
376
114
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2013

How would you feel if you are getting off a 4 hour flight, and then a 1 hour wait at airport for a cab to get to a hotel with 2x 25 kg cartons in a hurry to take a shower change and get to work and the staff tells you to use the trolley parked on a side to get it to your room???
When i do all that pick up to bring the trolley in, one of the elevators wont work.
I was on a business trip and somehow the company had this listed as one of the available hotels (that i will try my best not going to be the case in the future), so i booked it. It is in Sydney's red light district, so it can be FUN or DANGEROUS or both at nights.. choose with care..
The last night before i checked out, i requested the staff on counter to help me with getting the boxes down, and he plainly pointed to the trolley parked in the same corner and he was not even busy as it was 10.30 pm in the night. The amazing fact is that BOTH lifts were not working at that precise time and so i had to use a service lift from within the kitchen cleaning area .. complete utter disgusting experience.. no hotel staff came close when i was trying to use the hotel trolley!!!
I WOULD RECOMMEND NOT TO GO FOR THE CHEAP PRICE. Its cheap for a reason!! Other than the view form their 8th floor, which i paid approx. 30 dollars per night extra for, i was not able to find anything out of ordinary in the room or in the hotel. Its basically the center for cheap overseas travel trips where the guests dont even know where will they be staying !
STRONGLY RECOMMEND NOT TO GO THERE!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKhan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, 5 May 2013
Dear HKhan78,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. Nevertheless, I am deeply concerned regarding the disappointment and inconveniences you had experienced, especially after looking forward to staying with us here at Holiday Inn Potts Point. Please rest assured that the convenience and comfort of our guests is our top priority; and we would request you to provide us with another opportunity to re-instill confidence in our Product, Service and Brand and to show you that this is not the usual feedback we receive from guests who have experienced staying at Holiday Inn Potts Potts.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

For a Sydney hotel , this place represents good value. The room was a nice size and had all the conveniences you need. It is on the edge of Kings Cross, but you hardly notice. The walk down through Potts Points is interesting, and the area has some funky bars and cafes.
In addition, it is literally on top of Kings Cross underground station, so you can get there via the Airport Train with very little hassle.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mordi1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Mordi1966,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Holiday Inn Potts Point. We really appreciate your feedback, I am very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed the view of our fantastic harbour from your room. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you back at Holiday Inn Potts Point.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Griffith, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I stayed here so I was close to Moore Park. The staff were friendly and the room clean & comfortable. I had room service dinner & it was very nice. The view was beautiful as I was on the 7th floor. I did find that because of a nightclub nearby there was a constant noise from the drums. This was not a great disturbance as I left the telly on music channel most of the night as was able to sleep. The hotel is next door to railway station so this is a well situated hotel

Room Tip: Probably try to get a room high floor & toward the rear of the motel not on Victoria street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susiewrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Susiewrx,

Thank you for taking the the time to leave your review on Holiday Inn Potts Point. We really appreciate your feedback, and it was really good to to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback regarding our service & clean rooms. We are waiting to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Potts Point soon.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I have stayed here twice now and the service is consistently good. Although the hotel is on need of a good paint the rooms are clean and the bathrooms are a very good size. The views are better than most luxurious hotels in the city. There is a deep bath there as well which is rare these days. The hotel is well positioned to enjoy all that Sydney has to offer and is safe walking around at night albeit a fairly colourful area!!!! The restaurants are fabulous and the walk down Victoria st or Maclea road will give a visitor some of the best choices in food and wine ss well as a variety of devine gift and art shops. I love staying here as a little bit of paradise and only $45 in cab to airport and positioned right next to kings cross station you can get to anywhere cheaply and quickly. Brilliant value.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank london64_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear london64_06,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point.I was really happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback regarding our location, service and spectacular room. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Potts Point soon.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

After having read pretty good reviews for this hotel and not expecting a lot from it, we were still disappointed.

There was a guy overdosing in the car park as we arrived.

Our mattress had a sheet only covering three quarters of it.

The bed was uncomfortable.

The atmosphere was creepy.

It was not good value for money.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truth31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Truth31,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Potts point. I am very disappointed to hear that we failed to meet your expectations during your stay, Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment this has caused and I would like to thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

The Holiday Inn was reccomended by a Sydney sider friend when I was hunting for a Sydney Hotel. Its well located at Kings Cross, can't miss the big Coca Cola sign landmark and has a great view of the city including the Harbour bridge & the Opera House. The service is friendly & the rooms are well laid out, spacious with a decent sized bathroom. I could wish for more plug points - there was only one free one & I had to remove the TV connection to free up a second, The lights offer a nice dimmer option controlled from the bed side. Walking distance to many restaurants on Victoria Street, a train station is adjoining & decently priced.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a view of the Harbour Bridge & Opera House
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust-diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Wanderlust-diva,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. I am glad to see that your enjoyed our location & service. Your comments are very much appreciated and I hope to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Potts Point soon.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 178 in Sydney
4,200 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#44 of 178 in Sydney
847 reviews
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quest Potts Point
#78 of 178 in Sydney
528 reviews
Surry Hills
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney

Property: Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney
Address: 203 Victoria St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Sydney
#54 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Potts point is a 4-star, contemporary hotel located just 5 minutes from the city in cosmopolitan Potts Point. Each of our modern 286 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, 32-inch flat screen TVs, high speed internet access and comfortable en-suite with dual pressure shower head. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto vibrant Potts Point from the comfort of your room. Experience some of Sydney’s best bars, cafes and restaurants only moments from our doorstep and explore the historical architecture and cultural embellishments Potts Point is renowned for. Kings Cross train station is located adjacent to the hotel. Just one stop will take you into the CBD and in the other direction it's just two stops to Bondi Junction, making Potts Point an ideal base for exploring both the city and the beachside eastern suburbs. Hotel facilities include the Mediterranean-themed Sirocco Bar & Restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a fitness centre, guest laundry and secure carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Southall Travel, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing