We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Friendly Staff and Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney
Ranked #60 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The reception staff stood out in customer service. The location was slightly off of Sydney center city but well located. The Kings Cross rail station was directly underneath the property and provided easy access to most destinations. A reasonably priced airport van stops at the front door every 30 minutes. I had no concern with the adjacent so called "Red Light" District. It is really non-descript when compared to such districts elsewhere and should be of no concern. I had a full size and twin beds room. The room was large but had some minuses. The room was located on the first floor in what appeared to be an annex to the main hotel. The safe did not work and the sliding doors to the closet were off track. The twin bed was very uncomfortable. The view from the room was very limited. On he plus side the room was very quite and the bathroom size and amenities were very good. If I were to stay again I would select a different room. Overall, I was pleased with the hotel and would stay again if the occasion would arise.

Room Tip: A room in the main section of the hotel with a view will enhance your experience.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calflyer80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aprelle C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Calflyer80,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. The team are thrilled to hear about their friendly service which exceeded your expectations. I apologise for the fault in your room regarding the safe and sliding doors. I have notified maintenance and these issues are currently being solved. We are pleased that you were happy with your overall stay and are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Aprelle Coady
Holiday Inn Potts Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,074)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

558 - 564 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

This hotel is great for getting around on foot, with in easy reach of the Opera House, Bridge and ferries. If you stay at this hotel pay for a room with a view, as our room had a view down to the opera house and bridge just like the picture on the web site. The staff could not do enough for you, maps, directions all with a friendly smile. We arrived early at the hotel, but this was not a problem, we were immediately allowed to check in and go to our room, nothing was too much trouble in this hotel, what a delightful visit.

Room Tip: Room with a view is advisable
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aprelle C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Sharon Ray T,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. It is great to read your positive comments regarding the hotel location, friendly service and view from your room! The team are thrilled to hear that you had a ‘delightful visit’ and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Aprelle Coady
Holiday Inn Potts Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I'd read some reviews that weren't overly favourable but this hotel is lovely, clean, well appointed and convenient. We didn't have any issues with noise (but I did at the Mercure over the road, even though it's a nice hotel as well). If you're worried about street noise, book a room up higher and away from the street. We had no issues though and enjoyed our stay immensely.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aprelle C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Sarah B,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. It is fantastic to read your positive feedback regarding the cleanliness and convenience of the hotel. The team are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and felt our hotel is great! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Aprelle Coady
Holiday Inn Potts Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Firstly, this is a 3.5- 4star hotel in one of the less prestigious areas of Sydney. However, it's a very handy hotel to transport, amenities, shopping, highlights of Sydney. We stayed overnight recently and could not find a fault. Checkin was very efficient and friendly, we were recognised as returning gold ambassador guests and given an upgrade to 8th floor with harbour views - no noise even in the busiest part of the Saturday evening! Our room was ready although we had arrived before normal checkin time. Hotel was very clean, well presented and in good condition. Lunch in Sirocco was good value, well priced and service was exceptional, same for breakfast the next morning. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel as a very convenient and comfortable place to stay when visiting Sydney.

Room Tip: Pay extra for higher floors with harbour views
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Callmehelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aprelle C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Callmehelen,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased to read that you had a great experience and thank you for your loyalty to IHG Rewards Club. The team are thrilled to hear your feedback to the exceptional service you received during your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Aprelle Coady
Holiday Inn Potts Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Finding a reasonable hotel in Sydney under $250-$300 a night can be a challenge.
But the Holiday Inn at Potts Point delivers at a price below that.
PROS
* Close to Kings Cross City Rail station
* free business centre with computers
* on site dining and bar

CONS
* Kings Cross, the sleaziest red light and drugs precinct in AUS is just around the corner and can be fascinating or confronting depending on your values
* is a train, bus or can ride away from the major downtown sights like the Opera House, the Rocks historic precinct, ferries at Circular Key, Darling Harbour and upscale shopping.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozeeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aprelle C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Ozeeboy,

Thank you for sharing your experiences during your stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. It is fantastic to read your pros; in particular that you were able to take advantage of the free business centre next to the lobby. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Aprelle Coady
Holiday Inn Potts Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

It's an absolutely boring, basic, old, self-help hotel(or inn I should say). No bell boy to help, no bottled water provided, no decoration in room, unlike the Holiday Inn in Hong Kong, this is very like a countryside / airport inn. One minute walk to Kings Cross Station and a relatively dangerous area in Sydney. Worth to mention, the wifi in room sucks, not working at all, I'm now writing this review at the hotel lobby.

Do not recommend this hotel and will not stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank silvertam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aprelle C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Silvertam,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Holiday Inn Potts Point. I'm sorry to hear that you did not feel the hotel satisfied your expectations. The hotel is currently undergoing an upgrade to the internet connection, and I apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,

Aprelle Coady
Holiday Inn Potts Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We chose this hotel because of proximity of Underground (next Door) and because of your reviews.
This Holiday Inn, unlike many others we have stayed in, was excellent all round.
The rooms have everything you need. The restaurant and room service very good.
BUT the main thing about this hotel was the service. The Staff were extremely helpful and all of them smiled and went out of their way to be of service.
From the cleaner to the check out/in staff a genuinely great bunch of people.
Price wise it was also very affordable.The underground is next door and this network is brilliant for getting around.

Room Tip: If you pay budget like we did the room is good but no views of the city.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aprelle C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Woodcotefarms,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. The team sincerely appreciated your review and thank you for acknowledging their helpful and friendly service. The hotel is a very convenient base to be located in when visiting Sydney and I'm pleased to read that you were able to take advantage of the location. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Aprelle Coady
Holiday Inn Potts Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#42 of 178 in Sydney
857 reviews
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 178 in Sydney
4,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quest Potts Point
#78 of 178 in Sydney
537 reviews
Surry Hills
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney

Address: 203 Victoria St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Sydney
#54 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £88 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Potts point is a 4-star, contemporary hotel located just 5 minutes from the city in cosmopolitan Potts Point. Each of our modern 286 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, 32-inch flat screen TVs, high speed internet access and comfortable en-suite with dual pressure shower head. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto vibrant Potts Point from the comfort of your room. Experience some of Sydney’s best bars, cafes and restaurants only moments from our doorstep and explore the historical architecture and cultural embellishments Potts Point is renowned for. Kings Cross train station is located adjacent to the hotel. Just one stop will take you into the CBD and in the other direction it's just two stops to Bondi Junction, making Potts Point an ideal base for exploring both the city and the beachside eastern suburbs. Hotel facilities include the Mediterranean-themed Sirocco Bar & Restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a fitness centre, guest laundry and secure carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing