We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Hotel in Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney
Ranked #58 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Pattaya, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Convenient Hotel in Great Location”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The hotel is in a great location within walking distance of the Sydney CBD, the harbor, opera house, port and king's cross perfect for either a leisure or business stay. Our room was comfortable well furnished with a pleasant view of the city skyline and harbor. The bathroom was fine with all standard amenities. Room cleaning and maintenance was prompt and efficient.

The buffet breakfast is more than adequate offering a complete range of both hot and cold dishes and drinks. The bar area is nothing too special but has reasonable small serve menu that suited our needs at the end of the day.

This is a convenient hotel which is certainly worth staying in

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki L, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Peter P

Thank you for your feedback.
We are very pleases to hear that you found our hotel comfortable and the location was convenient for your stay. Your comments on our breakfast is greatly appreciated as we are always striving to exceed guest expectations and provide a wide selection of food.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    526
    194
    42
    25
See reviews for
170
376
114
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights on business and found both the hotel and location to be very good. Rooms were very big and spacious - more so than you'd expect in most hotels. Situated across the road from kings cross railway station and minutes away from restaurants and clubs. Breakfast was more than adequate, with options of freshly made omelettes by the chef and do it yourself fresh juice. Room service was very quick and ok in standard, nothing spectacular. Plenty of options on the TV with many US channels. Views aren't too bad - I had centre point tower view and it was not obstructed by any buildings. Overall it was a pleasant stay, with great service all round. Very close to being excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shakaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki L, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Shakaka

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback.

Our location is fantastic and we are very pleased to hear that you found it convenient for your stay. Customer satisfaction is our priority so to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations.

Thank you for choosing us and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emirate of Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed one night at Holiday Inn, and I wasn't surprised. Gone are the days when Holiday Inn was a delight to stay with, and rightly so. The rooms are small in size, which is not a surprise. However the design and layout of the room is cosy and welcoming. Clean and smelling fresh, plus point being the pillows on offer (soft or hard). The bed offered a good nights sleep too.
However, the room service is something to work on there. The man brought the food slightly late (thats ok, dinner times can be busy) but looked as if someone had threatened him with a gun to deliver the food and get back on time! He placed the tray, still covered with metal plates to keep them warm, on the work table in a heap. Without bothering to even smile or say a word, he thrusted the bill in my hands to be signed. Once done, he just stormed out the door! That put us off completely and we checked out the very next day.
The hotel has a lot of potential and can be one of the best places to stay if they could sort out the service part. I don't know if I would be able to give it another shot.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear to be avoided. You can see inside a whole apparent building and the rooms clearly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fylthee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki L, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Fylthee

Thank you for your feedback.

We are please to hear you found our rooms comfortable, especially the beds and the pillow choice. It is unfortunate that you did not experience the same satisfaction with your room service. We pride ourselves on providing excellent service so it is disappointing to hear that this is not what you received. Your feedback is appreciated and will be shared with the relevant department so that we can continue to learn and improve.

Thank you and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at this property many times , this by far my best experience , the location is ideal ,many restaurants & cafés to frequent
Booked queen with single room, and was allocated on the third floor on the eaten side of the hotel .....with a a spectacular view of the city skyline , room was clean, tidy , extremely peaceful and I have to say for the price of $165 money well spent... And a fair price
(booked on IHG application )
But .... The BEST thing .....
The best
ever check out I have ever had
Vicky on the front desk was incredibly friendly and genuine
Efficient with a beautiful angelic smile ...
THANK YOU VICKY
To the management-- please employ more staff like VICKY
Defiantly made my day
Can't wait to go back and I hope they have cloned more VICKIES :)

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ben p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki L, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Ben P,
Thank you so much for your review and great feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Your kind words are appreciated, and particular mention of myself, I am thrilled to hear that I could exceed your service expectations.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Vicki Lawrence
Holiday Inn Potts Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Spent three nights in Sydney as part of our family vacation. While the rooms are a bit small by American standards, we had a great view of downtown Sydney and the staff was great. Whatever we asked for, they were able to help us out. Highly recommend!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank A99hokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki L, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear A99hokie,

Thank you for taking the time to leave you feedback about your previous stay. I am glad you enjoyed the view from our rooms, we certainly boast some of the best views of any Sydney hotel. Our staff are very dedicated to providing Great Hotels Guest Love through delivering genuine, passionate service. I am pleased to here that you experienced this service from our team.

Once again, thank you for you feedback and recommendations. We look forward to seeing you here again soon.

Regards,

Jason Sabin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This hotel is very well located for Sydney. Being right above Kings Cross Railway Station, you have direct access to the CBD by rail instantly or right at the front door you can catch a cab. Alternatively you could always walk, it'd probably take you 15-20mins and is a relatively easy walk.

Plenty of near by restaurants and the happening nightlife of Kings Cross is right at the front door.

The room itself had great views back toward the city, Opera House and the Harbour Bridge. The room was exceptionally clean, in fact it was much cleaner than some of the five star hotels I've stayed in over time. The reception team were very efficient and friendly. Parking under the hotel was also cheap and your car is secure.

If I had to fault this hotel, I'd have to really look for something. And I guess the external windows would be the area I'd pick on. The windows, which admittedly would be dirty again after a small amount of rain, could have used a clean but this didn't hinder my stay in the hotel one bit.

Room Tip: The city view room faces away from the busy Victoria Street so there was little noise for me. That...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GF2183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki L, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear GF2183,
Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased to hear that your experience was clean, comfortable and secure for the duration of your stay. It is great that you could use our fabulous location to its full potential and in particular, the amazing view. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to Sydney.
Kind Regards,
Vicki Lawrence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stay a week at this hotel. Very clean well appointed room and bathroom.
Rather large for price.
Very friendly helpful staff.
Very close to transport. Train station right next door, plenty of cabs and busses available. Quick train ride to downtown or Bondi Junction on train.
Right at Kings Cross.
Restaurant great for quik breakfast but service in afternoon in lounge area not so good. I did not eat in restaurant.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki L, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Mary B,
Thanks for your review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and the staff and service have exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Vicki Lawrence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 178 in Sydney
4,203 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#44 of 178 in Sydney
847 reviews
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quest Potts Point
#78 of 178 in Sydney
528 reviews
Surry Hills
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney

Property: Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney
Address: 203 Victoria St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Sydney
#54 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Potts point is a 4-star, contemporary hotel located just 5 minutes from the city in cosmopolitan Potts Point. Each of our modern 286 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, 32-inch flat screen TVs, high speed internet access and comfortable en-suite with dual pressure shower head. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto vibrant Potts Point from the comfort of your room. Experience some of Sydney’s best bars, cafes and restaurants only moments from our doorstep and explore the historical architecture and cultural embellishments Potts Point is renowned for. Kings Cross train station is located adjacent to the hotel. Just one stop will take you into the CBD and in the other direction it's just two stops to Bondi Junction, making Potts Point an ideal base for exploring both the city and the beachside eastern suburbs. Hotel facilities include the Mediterranean-themed Sirocco Bar & Restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a fitness centre, guest laundry and secure carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing