We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Ranked #79 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Ideal Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

This is an ideallly situated hotel for anyone visiting Sydney. Breakfasts were good( always pre book!!- as they are expensive locally). China twon is literally around the back of the hotel. Paddies Market is 2 minutes away. Darling Habour is situated about 10 minutes walk - very pleasant! Fron there you can get the ferry or water taxi into Sydney Main Habour. Walking can take 40-50 minutes for those who like to walk.
For us this was an ideal location to visit the city.
Public transport is within 2 minutes of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    698
    359
    79
    49
See reviews for
301
442
106
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
598 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

As other reviewer's have correctly pointed out, the location is very good, although it is more accurately China Town (opposite Paddys Market) with a 5 - 10 easy walk to Darling Harbour. We chose the hotel for these reasons, as a base to catch matinee of at Theatre Royal (Jersey Boys) which is a 1.7km walk. Then in the evening dinner at Jordan's Darling Harbour.
+
location, check in/out efficient and professional. Rooms clean, beds very comfortable with a selection of pillows (labeled for their firmness etc). Bathroom adequate, a bit dated but clean and functional, with a range of toiletries supplied.

- minor issues; tried to ring room service to order a ice bucket to chill botle of wine, phone out of order. Quickly fixed by staff member, who on overhearing our conversation with friends about our plans to dine at Jordan's Darling Harbour, presented us with 5 vouchers for free pre-dinner drinks. Thanks, very greatful, however, upon presenting the vouchers we were very quickly informed by Jordan's maitre'd that the vouchers were for their opposition "Nicks".

In summary, a pleasant stay, would return and would recommend!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

I stayed here in a deluxe suite that had a sitting area and a bedroom with ensuite. Standard room rate was about $370/night and I used a stay 2 nights for the price of one voucher thorough my priority privilege membership.

The first room we were booked into had problems like a hole in the roof and thick dust from plaster wall repair sanding that had not been cleaned so we were moved to another room.

The reason I considered staying at the holiday inn was because of their extensive advertising about the refurbishment of their hotels ( my past impression of holiday inn was that it was a bit run down).

All that has been refurbished is that the old cheap carpet has been replaced with new cheap carpet and they have given it a coat of paint and use new linen.

The furniture is very dated and show signs of approx 20yrs of wear and tear.

The toilet took 2-3 flushes to clear the pan every time. (pretty feral)

The staff seemed dead tired and not very interested in being there.

The bed was very comfy though.

If you are able to get a standard room here for around $100 then it is probably worth what you pay but there are many other nicer places in Sydney to stay.

I will not stay at holiday inn again.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocSurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

The wife and I spent a weekend in a standard room on the second floor of the Holiday Inn Darling Harbour. It was a weekend and it was cheapest place going round. We paid $179 per night which was better than any where else by far. The monorail sauntered directly past our window every 6-minutes but you’d have to be an exceptionally light sleeper to let it disturb you. The room was large, clean and functional. The cushion top bed and choice of firm pillows made for an excellent nights sleep. There are no frills here – I can tell you that for nothing. But if you’re low maintenance, don’t need the accoutrements of 5 star digs and can land a good deal than this place is well worth considering. Wifi is available at a cost but we managed to snare the free wifi from the McDonalds immediately opposite the hotel. Who said globalization was all bad?

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lunarboogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
176 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

We had a six night stay here this time; it's my fourth time at this hotel. We had a superior room on the 9th floor and with the exception of a curatin railed bath/shower i liked the room.

The location is good, the tram/monorail stops close by, Central station is a ten minute walk and the ferry in Darling Harbour a little more (as the stop has been moved 300m further away).

Staff were very helpful, though we had to ask for coffee top ups at breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raetia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

To say it straight - the location is the biggest plus for this hotel though it is not really directly at Darling Harbour. But at the edge of China Town and directly next to the Paddy's Markets and only few minutes walk away from Darling Harbour it is pretty central. Mono Rail and Tram have stops within 500 meters from the hotel.

For business travellers like me it probably depends on where they need to go, our office is near the airport which is about half an hour by cab away from teh hotel.

The rooms is average, no frills. A mini bar is in the room but empty, so one has to/can fill it by oneself with stuffbought from the nearby convenience stores.

What I didn't like at all was the breakfast. To be honest, teh second day I went across teh street to Mc Donalds...

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehamburgian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boonah, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

Found this a great hotel. Close to Paddy's market Darling Harbour restaurants,Power House Museum and Sydney Aquarium not to mention China town around the corner. The best bed I have slept in at a hotel and the pillows- divine. Good cocktails at the bar and a tasty brekkie!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glennie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#63 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#42 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Property: Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Address: 68 Harbour St, Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emanating a quiet charm right in the middle of the action, Holiday Inn Darling Harbour has the best that Sydney has to offer on its doorstep. A heritage listed former Wool Store cloaks the northern wing of the hotel in history. Situated in the southern end of Sydney's central business district, the hotel is ideally positioned to allow you to make the most of your visit to Sydney. Take a leisurely stroll through Darling Harbour with its many attractions. The vibrant Chinatown and Latin Quarter are close by and the Qantas Credit Union Arena is right across the road. You can walk to some of Sydney's best restaurants, theatres and shopping complexes. For something a little different, board a ferry or the light rail for sightseeing. Trains and buses to Pitt Street Mall shopping precinct and Circular Quay are nearby too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing