We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff were rude and obnoxious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Ranked #79 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Staff were rude and obnoxious”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My partner and I were given a room with two single beds despite booking a Queen. Staff refused to sort it out and did everything they could to make the complaint process as difficult as possible. Ended up checking out 40mins after checking in and then had to argue with reception to get proof of checking out as they refused to provide any documentation. Will be taking the matter to the Small Claims Tribunal.

Room Tip: Make sure that you read the other reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mr_Wharty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Mr_Wharty, thank your for posting your honest feedback. We are disappointed to hear of your experience and would welcome the opportunity to further discuss what has happened with your in more detail. As we are not able to identify you from your screen name, we would as that your make direct contact with our Front Office Manager Francisco Vasconcellos (francisco.vasconcellos@ihg.com) who will be able to fully investigate and then respond back to you. We look forward to hearing from you in the coming weeks.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    709
    366
    81
    50
See reviews for
305
451
107
355
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Since our last review in which we were pleasantly surprised thing seem to have slipped at this property.
After experiencing the worst breakfast organisation, no cutlery, no plates, food running out, waiting in a long line to be seated, cramped area for food selection, limited food choice. Bar service was no better and to use the word service is an overstatement as there was no service. Wait in a line once again, seems to be staff shortages all through the food and beverage departments.
To top this poor review my wife had to see our local doctor once we were home as what we thought were mosquito bites she received in the motel turned out to be bed bug bites and she is now on cortisone cream and antibiotics to hopefully cure this.
These criticisms are not ill informed as we have traveled extensively in Australia and overseas and have worked in the industry.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alderwiser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear aiderwiser, thank you for providing us with your honest and valued feedback after your recent stay. Whilst we are pleased to hear that you chose to stay with us a second time, we are very disappointed to hear of your experience. We take all the matters you have raised very seriously and would welcome the opportunity to discuss them with you further. As we are not able to identify you from your screen name, we would request that you make direct contact with our Executive Assistant Manager Nick Hippmann (niklas.hippmann@ihg.com) who will be able to fully investigate and then provide you with a resolution. We look forward to hearing from you in the coming weeks.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Really if you are looking for a centrally located hotel within walking distance of many of the attractions this hotel is great. Nothing to rave about but clean, reasonably modern and at a reasonable price.
We drove and parked in a nearby parking lot for 2 days and that cost us a fortune so keep that in mind when weighing up the cost of the hotel compared to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear lildzel, thank you for posting your feedback after your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you found our location in southern Darling Harbour convenient and were able to access many of the city's attractions. You are correct in saying that the cost of parking in Sydney is quite high, as we have very limited valet parking at the Hotel we have established an agreement with a local car park to provide car parking to our guests at a reduced rate to provide assistance in this area and minimise the cost as much as possible. Once again we thank you for your valued feedback, it is very much appreciated.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a business trip and was pleasantly surprised. I was downgraded by work from the Sheraton so did not know what to expect. Check in was an absolute breeze, rooms and public areas all clean and tidy. The cleanest bathroom of all hotels I have stayed in.

The rooms are very spacious and neat, and could not be faulted. Styling in the rooms and public areas are modern and fresh.

The bar and restaurant staff were also very lovely. The restaurant during breakfast was a little crowded. The 'aisle' where the buffet breakfast is slightly cramped and makes it difficult for two people to access each side if the galley style buffet. They also have no on-site parking other than valet ($50pn).

Other than this very minor note my stay was great. A short walk to Chinatown, and five minute walk to world square and supermarkets. Very pleased!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyShopper49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear ShirleyShopper49, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback is very much appreciated. We hope to have to opportunity to welcome you back again next time you are visiting Sydney.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel had very basic rooms,; however, due to its excellent location we spent very little time in the room. Hotel is easily accessible to the Harbour area, Chinatown and Paddy's market. It's also only a short walk to the free shuttle to Circular Quay and the rocks district. Breakfast was excellent and even included a smoothly station. Front desk staff were very helpful and accommodating, helping with directions and restaurant recommendations. Beware - if you use the internet costs are above average at this hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Madmaxwell48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Madmaxwell48, it is great to hear from you after your recent stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to post your valued feedback. We are pleased that you found our location in Southern Darling Harbour convenient and you were able to visit many of the local attractions. Thank you once again for your feedback, it is very much appreciated.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jindabyne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

I was in an accessible room which felt like a big empty cavern. It had a window out onto a blank wall, worn old furniture and not a single picture or item decorating the stark walls. I couldn't wait to leave. Service was good but this didn't make up for the depressing room. Don't bother with the gym - it was tiny, but the Ian Thorpe centre is close by.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowchook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Snowchook, We appreciate your honest feedback after your recent stay, thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Whilst we are disappointed to hear that we have failed to live up to your expectations, your feedback is highly valued and will allow us to further improve our facilities to meet the requirements of our valued guests. Once again we thank you for your valued feedback.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Last weekend my partner and I stayed at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour for our 5 year anniversary. It was my first time in Sydney so we wanted to stay some place central so we could enjoy the sights and restaurants. The location was great and the price was reasonably decent for the location. It is just outside darling harbour, in china town, but only a very short walk to the harbour's centre and only a 30 minute walk to the Rocks (sounds a long way but we did it a few times). The Inn itself is not very impressive, the staff were a little slow and unenthusiastic which made checking in a bit of a drag. In addition to this, our shower leaked through the wall into the carpet near the entrance leaving a very large damp spot in the room. After we reported it, it took ages to get someone to look at it and after that the water spot or the leak wasn't fixed and we weren't offered a change of room...pretty slack. The rooms are pretty run down and in need of a fix up. On the whole I was not that impressed, but if you are happy with an average place to stay with a great location it will serve your purposes.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Grace P, thank you for choosing to stay with us recently whist you were celebrating your anniversary. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in Sydney and we able to visit many of our attractions. We are disappointed to hear that your experience at the Hotel did not live up to your expectations and we welcome the opportunity to further discuss this with you. As we are not able to identify you from your screen name, we would ask that you make direct contact with our Front Office Manager Francisco Vasconcellos (francisco.vasconcellos@ihg.com) who will be able to fully investigate what has taken place and then provide you with a resolution. We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#64 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#41 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Property: Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Address: 68 Harbour St, Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emanating a quiet charm right in the middle of the action, Holiday Inn Darling Harbour has the best that Sydney has to offer on its doorstep. A heritage listed former Wool Store cloaks the northern wing of the hotel in history. Situated in the southern end of Sydney's central business district, the hotel is ideally positioned to allow you to make the most of your visit to Sydney. Take a leisurely stroll through Darling Harbour with its many attractions. The vibrant Chinatown and Latin Quarter are close by and the Qantas Credit Union Arena is right across the road. You can walk to some of Sydney's best restaurants, theatres and shopping complexes. For something a little different, board a ferry or the light rail for sightseeing. Trains and buses to Pitt Street Mall shopping precinct and Circular Quay are nearby too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, IHG, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing