We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Ranked #84 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 1 March 2014

After our cruise we were put up for 4 nights at the Holiday Inn, Darling Harbour. The hotel was spotless and the staff very helpful.
Right across the road was China Town, which was a real treat.
It is a hotel that I would be very happy to go back to.
Room very large, nice bathroom, with bath and shower. Fridge in the room and 24 hour room service available. Kettle, milk, coffee and tea available as well.

Room Tip: I know there is a gym, but did not see a pool....stand to correction on that
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helenecruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Helencruise, thank you so much for your feedback, it is much appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you at another IHG Hotel next time you are travelling.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,533)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

759 - 765 of 1,533 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

My partner and I were given a room with two single beds despite booking a Queen. Staff refused to sort it out and did everything they could to make the complaint process as difficult as possible. Ended up checking out 40mins after checking in and then had to argue with reception to get proof of checking out as they refused to provide any documentation. Will be taking the matter to the Small Claims Tribunal.

Room Tip: Make sure that you read the other reviews.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mr_Wharty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Mr_Wharty, thank your for posting your honest feedback. We are disappointed to hear of your experience and would welcome the opportunity to further discuss what has happened with your in more detail. As we are not able to identify you from your screen name, we would as that your make direct contact with our Front Office Manager Francisco Vasconcellos (francisco.vasconcellos@ihg.com) who will be able to fully investigate and then respond back to you. We look forward to hearing from you in the coming weeks.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Since our last review in which we were pleasantly surprised thing seem to have slipped at this property.
After experiencing the worst breakfast organisation, no cutlery, no plates, food running out, waiting in a long line to be seated, cramped area for food selection, limited food choice. Bar service was no better and to use the word service is an overstatement as there was no service. Wait in a line once again, seems to be staff shortages all through the food and beverage departments.
To top this poor review my wife had to see our local doctor once we were home as what we thought were mosquito bites she received in the motel turned out to be bed bug bites and she is now on cortisone cream and antibiotics to hopefully cure this.
These criticisms are not ill informed as we have traveled extensively in Australia and overseas and have worked in the industry.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alderwiser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear aiderwiser, thank you for providing us with your honest and valued feedback after your recent stay. Whilst we are pleased to hear that you chose to stay with us a second time, we are very disappointed to hear of your experience. We take all the matters you have raised very seriously and would welcome the opportunity to discuss them with you further. As we are not able to identify you from your screen name, we would request that you make direct contact with our Executive Assistant Manager Nick Hippmann (niklas.hippmann@ihg.com) who will be able to fully investigate and then provide you with a resolution. We look forward to hearing from you in the coming weeks.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Really if you are looking for a centrally located hotel within walking distance of many of the attractions this hotel is great. Nothing to rave about but clean, reasonably modern and at a reasonable price.
We drove and parked in a nearby parking lot for 2 days and that cost us a fortune so keep that in mind when weighing up the cost of the hotel compared to others.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear lildzel, thank you for posting your feedback after your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you found our location in southern Darling Harbour convenient and were able to access many of the city's attractions. You are correct in saying that the cost of parking in Sydney is quite high, as we have very limited valet parking at the Hotel we have established an agreement with a local car park to provide car parking to our guests at a reduced rate to provide assistance in this area and minimise the cost as much as possible. Once again we thank you for your valued feedback, it is very much appreciated.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed here for a business trip and was pleasantly surprised. I was downgraded by work from the Sheraton so did not know what to expect. Check in was an absolute breeze, rooms and public areas all clean and tidy. The cleanest bathroom of all hotels I have stayed in.

The rooms are very spacious and neat, and could not be faulted. Styling in the rooms and public areas are modern and fresh.

The bar and restaurant staff were also very lovely. The restaurant during breakfast was a little crowded. The 'aisle' where the buffet breakfast is slightly cramped and makes it difficult for two people to access each side if the galley style buffet. They also have no on-site parking other than valet ($50pn).

Other than this very minor note my stay was great. A short walk to Chinatown, and five minute walk to world square and supermarkets. Very pleased!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank ShirleyShopper49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear ShirleyShopper49, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback is very much appreciated. We hope to have to opportunity to welcome you back again next time you are visiting Sydney.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel had very basic rooms,; however, due to its excellent location we spent very little time in the room. Hotel is easily accessible to the Harbour area, Chinatown and Paddy's market. It's also only a short walk to the free shuttle to Circular Quay and the rocks district. Breakfast was excellent and even included a smoothly station. Front desk staff were very helpful and accommodating, helping with directions and restaurant recommendations. Beware - if you use the internet costs are above average at this hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Madmaxwell48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Madmaxwell48, it is great to hear from you after your recent stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to post your valued feedback. We are pleased that you found our location in Southern Darling Harbour convenient and you were able to visit many of the local attractions. Thank you once again for your feedback, it is very much appreciated.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

I was in an accessible room which felt like a big empty cavern. It had a window out onto a blank wall, worn old furniture and not a single picture or item decorating the stark walls. I couldn't wait to leave. Service was good but this didn't make up for the depressing room. Don't bother with the gym - it was tiny, but the Ian Thorpe centre is close by.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Snowchook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear Snowchook, We appreciate your honest feedback after your recent stay, thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Whilst we are disappointed to hear that we have failed to live up to your expectations, your feedback is highly valued and will allow us to further improve our facilities to meet the requirements of our valued guests. Once again we thank you for your valued feedback.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#41 of 178 in Sydney
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#62 of 178 in Sydney
1,318 reviews
Mercure Sydney
#63 of 178 in Sydney
4,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Address: 68 Harbour St, Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £106 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emanating a quiet charm right in the middle of the action, Holiday Inn Darling Harbour has the best that Sydney has to offer on its doorstep. A heritage listed former Wool Store cloaks the northern wing of the hotel in history. Situated in the southern end of Sydney's central business district, the hotel is ideally positioned to allow you to make the most of your visit to Sydney. Take a leisurely stroll through Darling Harbour with its many attractions. The vibrant Chinatown and Latin Quarter are close by and the Qantas Credit Union Arena is right across the road. You can walk to some of Sydney's best restaurants, theatres and shopping complexes. For something a little different, board a ferry or the light rail for sightseeing. Trains and buses to Pitt Street Mall shopping precinct and Circular Quay are nearby too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing