We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Ranked #85 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We live in Sydney but needed to go to a family wedding in the city so decided to stay near the reception at Darling Harbour. The Holiday Inn was in a very good location being only a 10 min walk to Darling Harbour and only a few blocks from the city center as well. The hotel is a bit dated in appearance but the rooms quite spacious and clean. The room had a mini frige (left empty so you could fill it with what you wanted) and the staff were all very friendly. The pros to this hotel is the location. IDEAL. The cons--has to be their seafood buffet. Far overpriced for what is offered. It was fresh and the seafood selection was OK but the sides of salads (only 3 on offer), vegies and other meat dishes was very minimal and often the dishes were empty and refilling was very slow. They didn't offer a cracker to use on the crab legs nor a pick to get the meat out. When I asked I was brought a cracker but still no pick and it was very difficult to get meat of the tiny crab legs. They had a beautiful loaf of French bread but no knife to cut it with so we just broke off a piece. Later when we went back for 2nds we found there still was no knife.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussiepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Aussiepam, thank you for providing your honest and valued feedback after your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback regarding our Seafood Buffet and would be happy to discuss your comments with you in greater detail. As we are not able to identify you from your screen name, we would request that you make direct contact with our Food & Beverage Manager Kevin Stewart (kevin.stewart2@ihg.com) who will liaise with you on this matter. We look forward to hearing from you in the coming weeks.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

754 - 760 of 1,544 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

Hotel location is accessible to major tourist destinations. Just a few steps away from Market City where you can buy affordable items,souvenirs,shirts and even branded items like Esprit,Cotton on. Across hotel is McDonalds. It is 15-20 mins walk to St.Mary Cathedral, Hyde Park.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NT23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Dear NT23, thank you for taking the time to post your feedback after your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location in Southern Darling Harbour and we hope to welcome you at another IHG Hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly located opposite the convention centre and only a small bit away from a mono rail stop.
The hotel was spotless and has a small nice bar of a night cap.
You are only a short cab or mono rail ride into Sydney.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isaacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear isaacki, thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Sydney. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to be able to welcome you at another IHG Hotel next time you are travelling.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Love the location and the beds and pillows but hate the fact that we had to unload our luggage from the rental car in the rain as this hotel doesn't have any form of shelter in front of the main entrance. And after checking-in, you have to drive to another building for the paid parking facility and again, not pleasant in bad weather.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ml2spin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear ml2spin, thank you for providing your honest and valued feedback after your recent stay with us. We apologise for any inconvenience our local off-site parking caused you during your stay. We have entered into an agreement with a local Car Park Operator as the Hotel building does not have sufficient space to provide parking for our guests, however we do understand that this arrangement has not fully satisfied your needs. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and also found your room comfortable. Thank you once again for your valued feedback.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed here on round the world trip, good value for money and easy walking distance to the harbour. Hotel food was okay and staff really friendly hotel needs to allow free wifi as there seems to be a standard about all hotels in Australia that you have to pay for access.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris_davies777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear chris_davies777, we were pleased to hear from you after your recent stay with us. Thank you for posting your comments, they are much appreciated and have been circulated for both the Management Team and Service Staff to read. We hope to be able to welcome you at another IHG Hotel next time you are travelling.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We have just returned from a pleasant 2 night stay at this hotel. We arrived at the hotel mid morning with the intention of asking if we could leave our bags prior to normal checkin time to enable us to explore the surrounding area unencumbered. To our surprise, not only were we given an early checkin but also we were upgraded to the 11th floor & a kingsize bed.
Our room was spacious, the bed comfortable, the TV large & the level of cleanliness was of the high standard that we've come to expect from the IHG brand. The room was definitely furnished with the business traveler in mind with the desk & obligatory large leather office chair taking pride of place within the room, something I'm becoming tired of seeing - some people do travel for pleasure & in some rooms a lounge to relax on would be better appreciated than a desk & office chair.
As others have mentioned, the hotel is perfectly situated, close to China Town, Darling Harbour & Central Railway Station.
The breakfast buffet was just a breakfast buffet, nothing special. We found that movement within the area where the food was set out was very constricted with food placed on both sides of a relatively narrow area. "Traffic" just didn't seem to flow smoothly.
Our standout plus during this stay was the hotel staff. All staff members we encountered were, well presented, helpful & extremely efficient at their jobs.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Fernsie, we appreciate the time you have taken to post your feedback after your recent stay. Your comments are very much appreciated and we pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and your time at the Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are visiting the Darling Harbour area.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The location is very good, Chinatown is at the back of the hotel, lots of Chinese and Asian food. Darling harbor is just 5-10 mins. walk.
Hotel room is clean. Basic necessities are provided, breakfast buffet is basic continental, although fresh juice and coffee is great.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DigitalTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Digital Traveller, it was great to hear from you after your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location in Souther Darling Harbour and that the Hotel met all your requirements. Thank you once again for posting your valued feedback.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#63 of 179 in Sydney
1,340 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Sydney
#65 of 179 in Sydney
4,930 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Address: 68 Harbour St, Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £108 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emanating a quiet charm right in the middle of the action, Holiday Inn Darling Harbour has the best that Sydney has to offer on its doorstep. A heritage listed former Wool Store cloaks the northern wing of the hotel in history. Situated in the southern end of Sydney's central business district, the hotel is ideally positioned to allow you to make the most of your visit to Sydney. Take a leisurely stroll through Darling Harbour with its many attractions. The vibrant Chinatown and Latin Quarter are close by and the Qantas Credit Union Arena is right across the road. You can walk to some of Sydney's best restaurants, theatres and shopping complexes. For something a little different, board a ferry or the light rail for sightseeing. Trains and buses to Pitt Street Mall shopping precinct and Circular Quay are nearby too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing