We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall quite good ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Ranked #83 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

This is my second stay at this hotel. The beds are comfortable. And the rooms are clean. The biggest downfall of this stay was the toilet. It didn't flush enough water and would take 3 or 4 flushes to clear. Apart from that, everything else was fine.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank shanemelb1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Shanemelb 1968, thank you for choosing to stay with us again during your recent trip to Sydney. Your feedback is much appreciated and we thank you for bringing the matter of your bathroom to our attention. As we are not able to fully identify you from your screen name, we would ask that you contact our Front Office Manager Francisco Vasconcellos (francisco.vasconcellos@ihg.com) directly as he will be able to further follow up on this situation and provide you with a suitable outcome. We hope to hear from you in the coming weeks.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

741 - 747 of 1,545 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife, 2 boys and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. After a long red eye flight, we arrived at the hotel close to lunch hour local time. Check in was a breeze and we were up at our room in no time. We had a room with 2 queen beds that was just right for us. The room was fairly large with a work desk, coffee and tea making facilities and a sink for washing utensils. Internet was free for up to four devices as part of Priority Club benefits.

The location was certainly convenient with Paddy's Market just across the road and lots of dining options nearby. Darling Harbour was a few minutes walk away. George Street was also just close by from where you can take a bus to Circular Quay.

Staff were helpful both at the front desk and concierge particularly when we asked about tours and getting to the airport. We didn't have breakfast included in our rate so did not really get the chance to try out the hotel restaurant. I thought the buffet price though was rather high given the wealth of options nearby.

Overall a most pleasant stay in a central location in this great city. We look forward to coming back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank RRGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear RRGT, thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Sydney. Your feedback is much appreciated and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to be able to welcome you at another IHG Hotel next time you are travelling.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel is behind Chinatown and handy to the light rail and Central station. Check in was smooth although self parking is about a block away and $30 a day. The room was good size and the usual Holiday Inn standard. Breakfast was good and there was an espresso machine. Only negatives were housekeeping / maintenance issues. The clothes line in the bathroom was broken, the air conditioner was noisy during the night, the sauna ( 3 person max) didn't heat up and I couldn't figure out how to work the spa ( 2 person ). It was $210 a day and that is pretty good for Sydney CBD.

I would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room on level 4 looked over Dixon Street and it was a weekend and still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterunderhill34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Wollongong Abc, it was great to hear from you after your recent stay. Your feedback is highly valued and we thank you for bringing the matters that concerned you during your stay to our attention. These have now been passed onto to our Operations Manager for further review and follow-up. We hope we will have the chance to welcome you again next time you are visiting Sydney.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is a very comfortable hotel in a very convenient location. Chinatown is directly behind it, it's a short walk to Darling Harbor and city buses (including the free shuttle) are just a couple of blocks away. Rooms were comfortable and clean, staff was always friendly. Pretty decent gym, although the hot tub is really a two person variety. The picture on the website still shows an elevated light rail alongside the hotel, but it was removed in the Fall of 2013. There was also some construction going on behind the hotel, but we never heard anything. Biggest disappointments were the on-site restaurants. The menu of the casual one, for which you order at the counter, is very limited but the food was decent. Tried to have the dessert buffet at the fancier restaurant one night, but they closed it 30 minutes before the stated closing time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toddski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear toddski, we value the time you have taken to post your comments after your recent stay with us. Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location in Southern Darling Harbour and also your time with us at the Hotel. Your comments regarding our Food & Beverage service have been passed onto our Operations Manager for further review and follow up. Once again, thank you for your valued feedback.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

When I arrived on the 13 March 2014 . I was vey surprised to find this hotel in a location for everything I wanted to do . The hotel was well presented and the staff were brilliant as they always are when I stay at other Holiday inns . This is where if I were to return to Sydney . China town around the corner and a short walk to the shops and a bus stop to go to Sydney Quay. The hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Stephen B, your feedback is much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient to your needs. We hope to see you at another Holiday Inn next time you are travelling.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is a very friendly hotel, nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff Special thanks to Thomas on the front desk for opening my suitcase. Room is spacious and very clean. Bathroom a little dated and perhaps in need of a makeover. Local sight seeing right at the front doorstep of the hotel. Close to all the shopping streets, Restaurants, Chinatown, Paddy's Market, Fish Market, Cockle Bay, and George Street for the free shuttle bus to Circular Quay for the Opera House & The Rocks and Sydney Bridge.
Getting to the Hotel from airport is easy: Takes about 45/60mins to hotel. Buy a return shuttle bus voucher online and save a few AUS$. Taxis are a lot more expensive and the train will take forever, with still yet another journey between the central station and Hotel.
Would I stay there again? Yes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rumine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Rumine1, thank you for taking the time to post your feedback after your recent stay with us. Your comments are very much appreciated and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in Sydney and also with us at the Holiday Inn. We hope to welcome you at another IHG Hotel next time you are travelling.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We really want to stay here because our friend told us about this Holiday Inn. However, if you're traveling in a family of THREE adults and booked a triple beds room - BEWEARE, you will get charge for the 3rd adult regardless of what the price listed. We tried to book for three single beds, which they do have but the total did not include an additional FEE for 3rd person. BTW, if you book breakfast with the room, it is ONLY for two people - even if you booked a triple beds room. The hotel told us that all rooms are double occupancy - then why have 3 beds if the room is only for two people? It seems they baited us in for the medium price range but turn around and charge for more when we get there. we cancelled the room and still looking for a nice place to stay without hassles about unexpected charges and fee. Why does this have to be so difficult?

Room Tip: Triple beds room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
1  Thank speedynikk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Speedynikk, thank you for providing us with your honest feedback after your recent stay with us. The situation you have outlined is extremely disappointing to hear about and is by no means the standard of service that we seek to deliver to our guests. We would welcome the opportunity to further discuss what has taken place and also further investigate to be able to provide you with a positive resolution. As we are not able to identify you from your screen name, we would ask that you make direct contact with our Front Office Manager Francisco Vasconcellos (francisco.vasconcellos@ihg.com) who will follow-up and liaise directly with you. We hope to hear from you in the coming weeks.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#62 of 180 in Sydney
1,342 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Sydney
#64 of 180 in Sydney
4,933 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Address: 68 Harbour St, Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £108 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emanating a quiet charm right in the middle of the action, Holiday Inn Darling Harbour has the best that Sydney has to offer on its doorstep. A heritage listed former Wool Store cloaks the northern wing of the hotel in history. Situated in the southern end of Sydney's central business district, the hotel is ideally positioned to allow you to make the most of your visit to Sydney. Take a leisurely stroll through Darling Harbour with its many attractions. The vibrant Chinatown and Latin Quarter are close by and the Qantas Credit Union Arena is right across the road. You can walk to some of Sydney's best restaurants, theatres and shopping complexes. For something a little different, board a ferry or the light rail for sightseeing. Trains and buses to Pitt Street Mall shopping precinct and Circular Quay are nearby too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing