We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Nearby Hotels
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Sydney(Sydney)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
QT Sydney(Sydney)
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney(Sydney)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$295
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,643)
Filter reviews
1,643 results
Traveller rating
307
775
412
94
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
775
412
94
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaddy's marketdarling harbourgreat locationclose to china townlight railminute walkfree wififamily roomgeorge streetcapitol theatrepleasant staycentral stationan upgradebuffet breakfastmini baropera housepublic transport
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
819 - 824 of 1,643 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

for my first time in sydeny this was a qaulity hotel in a great location. Right across from the convention center and within walking ditance to everything. China town, Casino, Opera House, Bridge, Fish Market etc. I didnt stay in the hotel much but it did the job and I have no complaints.for what it cost it was great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albertini3666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Albertini3666, thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Sydney. We value your feedback and are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and your time at the Hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you at another IHG Hotel next time you are travelling.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great place to stay in the heart of Sydney. You can see the noisy busy city from your windows but can not hear it. Close to Paddy's Market and Chinatown. Short walk to theatres light rail trams and Central Train Station isn't far away either. They gave us a free upgraded us on arrival which is always fantastic! This is our new favourite place to stay in Sydney.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaB2663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear CaB2663, we are happy to hear from you after your recent stay. Thank you for posting your feedback, it is great to hear that you had an enjoyable time and would choose to stay with us again in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are visiting Sydney.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Third time to stay in this hotel. Main reason to stay here is location. It is close to most attractions but tucked away in a quiet street. There is also a convenient McDonalds right across the hotel for those can't wait to be fed times :).

We got to stay in a double queen bedroom and I was surprised it had a mini-bar inside. Maybe Holiday Inn can add a microwave in the room? That will be most helpful as our daughter has anaphylaxis to tree nuts and we self-prepare her food most of the time.

Chinatown is also just located at the back of the hotel (Dixon Street, if I recall it right) and George Street is just the next street, too. For tourists, you can catch the green bus (555) on George Street and there is a stop very near to the hotel. Travel on 555 is free! It is also just walking distance to the shops, restaurants and views at Darling Harbour.

Friendly and efficient staff.

If your booking includes breakfast, I suggest eating before 7:30am because it can get very busy and the queues can get long!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldsoul-youngspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear oldsoul-youngspiri, its was great to hear from you after your recent stay with us. Thank you for choosing to stay with us for a third time whilst visiting Sydney. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and your feedback has been passed onto our Management Team for further review. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again next time you are visiting Sydney.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

It a good experiences staying at HIDH.
The staffs are accomodative as we are able to check in at 9am+ with two rooms (5 adults + 1 child) to wash up/rest. Not to mentioned we catch a red-eye flight. And are given to check out 1145am instead of the stipulated 11am. We are given direction and recommendation by helpful staff.
HIDH are superb convenient to access to lots of places, 2mins away from Chinatown, 15mins to Darling Harbour (restaurants, cruise, zoo, sea world), 2mins to haymarket /paddy's markets, 6mins to world square, 25mins to The Star casino.
We op for the daily breakfast too at the hotel. My only recommendation is to have small changes on the selection of cooked food so it gives us a some variety to try different thing. The food is still great nevertheless.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear SDan, your feedback is very much appreciated and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you at another IHG Hotel next time you are travelling.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel was our base for a short tour of Sydney and its surrounding attractions, and we booked it mainly because of its great location, as it's very near to Darling Harbour and Chinatown.
Our group of eight booked five rooms and the room given to me was obviously meant for the disabled, based on the disabled-friendly layout and facilities in the bathroom. At first, it seemed strange to get this kind of room, as I'm not a disabled person, but you'll get used to the additional space after a while.
Not all the rooms for my group were disabled-friendly though, as one room actually had a split-level; the room door was on the higher level, with the bathroom and closet, while the bed was on the lower level. Someone explained that the layout of the rooms might have been due to the fact that the hotel building itself was very old and thus reflected the layout and design of a different era.
Oddly, unlike most hotel rooms, my room didn’t have a key card slot to turn on all the lights in the room with my key card. So, in order to switch on or off all the lights, I had to switch them on or off individually. No one else in my group reported a similar situation in their respective rooms, so I’m guessing it’s only for a certain number of rooms.
And although my room had a window, it actually looked out into a rather tight corridor, which doesn't seem to be easily accessible to anyone, but needless to say I kept the curtains drawn at all times.
All in all though, I found my stay at this hotel to be rather enjoyable and everyone in my group were quite satisfied with their rooms, as well. The staff at the front desk and at the restaurant and bar were also very polite and helpful.
At the end of the day, what matters most is that this hotel has a fantastic location and if you’re catching a concert at the Sydney Entertainment Centre (or now known as Qantas Credit Union Arena), then this hotel should be your pick because it’s just across the road from the hotel’s front door.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank borneoposter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear borneoposter, thank you for taking the time to post your feedback after your recent stay with us. Your comments are highly valued and appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in Sydney and also with us at the Hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you at another IHG Hotel next time you are travelling.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews