We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable bed, but that's about it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Ranked #82 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Comfortable bed, but that's about it”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I've stayed at this hotel 7 times over the past 8 months and overall, I'm far from impressed.

Positives

On the positive side the rooms are large and the bed is super comfortable.The buffet breakfast is great value however is somewhat chaotic.

Negatives

On the negative side, many of the rooms I've stayed in have no view (two have looked straight out onto a brick wall with very little natural light). The hotel walls are thin and I can hear things I don't always want to from my neighbours. There is also a lot of noise from the surrounding area. I've been woken up before 6am on several occasions by trucks making deliveries to the hotel. The hotel is also directly opposite the entertainment centre so if there is an event on, you'll be sure to hear it and the subsequent noise of everyone leaving. Reception staff are nothing short of miserable. I'm not sure I've ever seen them smile. The one exception to this is Tony, he's always smiling and a real star.

If you want a quiet, restful stay with friendly staff, then this may not be the place for you.

Room Tip: Try to get a room further to the back side of the hotel, I've found these have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ionlyflyfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Humshee, thank you for your ongoing loyalty of the past 8 months. We are disappointed to hear of your experiences and would welcome the opportunity to further discuss them with you. As we are unable to identify you from your screen name, we would ask that you make direct contact with our Front Office Manager Francisco Vasconcellos (francisco.vasconcellos@ihg.com) who will be able to follow up further and liaise directly with you. We look forward to hearing from you in the coming weeks.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    723
    378
    85
    51
See reviews for
316
458
110
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed as part of a tour package. Steps away from Paddy's Market and Chinatown, Macdonald is just opposite, very convenient.

I don't know about rooms on other floors but all our 3rooms on the first floor had 3-4 steps leading down to the beds. Those with elderly or young children, this will be a tad inconvenient/dangerous.

Breakfast was good, first time I had freshly squeezed juices as part of buffet without the need to pay for extras.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank crabcrabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear crabcrabby, it is great to hear from you after your recent stay. Your feedback is much appreciated. The rooms on level 1 of the Hotel do have some steps as you enter, this is due to the building being Heritage Listed and we are unable to make structural changes that will alter the integrity of the building. We do our very best to only accommodate guests who will not find this an inconvenience to these rooms. We trust that you enjoyed your time in Sydney and were able to visit many of our local attractions and hope that you will consider IHG Hotel when next you are travelling.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Love the efficient and professional service! Their friendly concierge patiently gave us tips onhow to navigate the public transport systems (cant remember his name, but a strong, beefy looking gentleman =)).

Room is clean, not noisy at all. Tap is a little tricky to handle, esp for the kids, but nothing too worrying.

Good base from which to explore sydney, will return!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Farnee, we appreciate your feedback after your recent stay and are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Your feedback regarding our Concierge has been passed on to the team as they are always interested to hear back from our guests. We hope to see you at another IHG Hotel next time you are travelling.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I recently stayed at Holiday Inn for two weeks while on a business visit. The first thing that strikes is the great location - most of the good restaurants, shopping areas and most importantly, Darling Harbour are within walking distance. The staff are reasonably friendly especially the concierge desk who was very forthcoming with details of places to see and transportation options. Room was sufficiently well maintained and housekeeping was prompt - I asked for an adapter for my laptop and it was promptly sent to my room. In-room dining wasn't that great though - I once ordered a chicken curry with rice and a pizza on another occasion - overall, was very average. A minor disappointment was they did not take laundry on a Sunday since they could deliver only by Monday noon - I was a bit taken aback and so ended up using the hotel laundry machine to do my laundry myself.The continental breakfast at $24 was just okay - since it does not contain any hot items like poached eggs or sausages. One of the best things about the hotel was the free internet by just signing up for the IHG membership. Overall, I had a good stay at the hotel and might consider it next time I am in Sydney.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wayfarer-dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear wayfarer-dc, thank you for providing us with your honest and valued feedback after staying with us recently. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your feedback regarding your room service experience has been passed onto our Food & Beverage Manager for further review and internal follow-up. We look forward to welcoming you again next time you are visiting Sydney.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Just spent the weekend here and found the location great for shopping and close to Darling Harbour.
From the time we arrived in the taxi until we left the service from all staff was excellent.
The concierge arrived outside to help with bags and check in was well organised and swift, there were eight in our group.
The hotel was busy yet our rooms were quiet. Nice comfy beds too.
We went to use the spa and it was too cold so were given a complimentary breakfast.
One of our group fell ill with the flu and the hotel was more than happy to delay her check out until late afternoon when our taxi arrived. I would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Didn't have a view but we were not there during the day so it didn't really matter. Windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear carolina456, thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Sydney. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back next time you are visiting Sydney.

Kind regards
Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The positives about this hotel are the staff that are great, especially at reception - had the fastest check in time ever this visit, and its location - within Chinatown and next to Darling Harbour and the newly renamed Exhibition Centre.

Unfortunately it seems its popularity, and age, is showing. The whole building feels tired, especially the rooms with marks, dents and aging bathrooms that aren’t as clean as they should be. The parts that are easily changeable such as beds etc. are great and ensure a good night’s sleep but the overall feeling is one of slight grubbiness. Clearly time for a makeover - especially given the other options available that are new or newly refurbished.

A pleasant three night stay - for the location (and price) but not a first choice hotel anymore.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longhaul747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear a5jce, thank you for providing your honest and valued feedback after you recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you generally enjoyed your time with us and are pleased to let you know that we are about to commence another stage of our room upgrade and refurbishment program. It is feedback such as yours that will always ensure that we are meeting the expectations of our valued guests.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We decided to visit Sydney for a couple of days as a side trip from Melbourne staying with my brother's family. We have chosen Darling Harbour as our base as advised by my brother and our friend based in Sydney. We're lucky to have chosen Holiday Inn as our hotel and Jetstar as our airline. Rooms are clean and fresh, bathroom amenities are ample for our 6 days stay. Although the lobby is not imposing, it had the basic necessities such as waiting room and newspapers. We're sorry not to include breakfast in our package for that would have saved us more because the food was great. The location is near almost all the attractions of Sydney and walking distance to the harbor, chinatown and restaurants.
We have utilized our time in Sydney and Holiday Inn didn't fail us in enjoying our vacation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIKO597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear KIKO597, it was great to receive your feedback after your recent stay. Thank you for posting your comments, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient to your needs. We hope to be able to welcome you at another IHG Hotel next time you are travelling.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#43 of 178 in Sydney
2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Mercure Sydney
#63 of 178 in Sydney
4,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Property: Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Address: 68 Harbour St, Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emanating a quiet charm right in the middle of the action, Holiday Inn Darling Harbour has the best that Sydney has to offer on its doorstep. A heritage listed former Wool Store cloaks the northern wing of the hotel in history. Situated in the southern end of Sydney's central business district, the hotel is ideally positioned to allow you to make the most of your visit to Sydney. Take a leisurely stroll through Darling Harbour with its many attractions. The vibrant Chinatown and Latin Quarter are close by and the Qantas Credit Union Arena is right across the road. You can walk to some of Sydney's best restaurants, theatres and shopping complexes. For something a little different, board a ferry or the light rail for sightseeing. Trains and buses to Pitt Street Mall shopping precinct and Circular Quay are nearby too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing