We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good option for business trips, Darling Harbour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Ranked #86 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I've been to this hotel 3 times and find the hotel a good spot close to Darling Harbour. The hotel is close to China Town, but quite far from the CBD. The rooms are clean and considerably big but a little dated. The fitness center lack a variety of dumbbells and the sauna was not working.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ogi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Ogi0, thank you for choosing to stay with us again on your recent visit to Sydney. It is always great to welcome back our repeat guests. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are happy to let you know that the repairs to our Sauna are now complete and it is back in full working order. We hope to see you again next time you are visiting Sydney.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

727 - 733 of 1,590 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

WE booked to stay here as part of a Lion King Package.
Our room was ready to check in at 0800 of which we were surprised and grateful. We tidied up and stowed the luggage to set out from what is a great central place to stay. Close to so many attractions such as Darling Harbour and the Sydney Entertainment Centre, The light rail goes almost past the doorstep, Paddys Markey, Shopping Centres, and Public Transport very accessible. Our Room was spacious and light, very clean, good amenities. Bathroom was small, but thoughtful design into the shower curtain gave plenty of room for showering. Staff all friendly, and a good restaurant and separate bar on site. Pleanty of lounging space for those waiting for rooms or being picked up. 15 mins to airport by rail, about $35.00 by cab.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Louise W, thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Sydney to see the Lion King Musical. We are happy to hear that you found our location convenient and also enjoyed your time with us at the Hotel. We hope to be able to welcome you back again next time you are visiting Sydney.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel not really near to the bars and restaurants of Darling harbour but great for china town and the city market . Building works adjacent to hotel made off an early wake up call . Hotel was clean and tidy and staff were friendly and happy .

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Pete Tanya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Pete Tanya L, thank you for posting your feedback after your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we have passed on your feedback regarding external noise to the building contractors adjacent to the Hotel in an effort to assist in minimising future noise disruptions to our guests. We appreciate your understanding that this matter was beyond our control but do thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Room is very dated and in dire need of a makeover. I was on level 8 and found the room to be on the larger side, water pressure was rubbish though. Short walk to darling harbour so location is great and also Chinatown. Restaurant is great, good quality food and service. But no real fitness area except a bike, treadmill and home gym set, so they need an affiliation with a proper fitness centre. And how they charge for wi fi amazes me. I travel the world and Australia would be the only place to not have free wi fi hotels...

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Buzzie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear Buzzie1, thank you for posting your honest and valued feedback. We would welcome the opportunity to further discuss your comments with you in greater detail. As we are not able to identify you from your screen name, we would request that you make direct contact with our Front Office Manager Francisco Vasconcellos (francisco.vasconcellos@ihg.com) who will be able to follow up fully and liaise directly with you. We look forward to hearing from you in the coming weeks.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I think IHG are struggling to know what to do with the holiday inn brand. HI Express now offers better hotels at a better price (and with breakfast included) leaving the HI properties as remnants of a different age. My room was dark and dingy and overlooked an alley full of dustbins. I would have complained, but it's clear from the layout of the hotel that most rooms are in the same position.
For some reason one of the lifts was permanently out of order, leaving two very slow lifts to take the strain. This may have been fine if only guests were using them but nearly every time I got into a lift it was filled with a service trolley and a member of staff. Waiting 10 minutes plus for a free lift is simply not acceptable - especially in a hotel with so few floors.
The hotel location is ok, but the whole area is a bit rundown and it's a bit of a walk to anywhere other than darling harbour itself.
Lastly the toenail on the carpet and the hair in the shower didn't convince me the room had been well cleaned.
Once upon a time I was a gold priority club member but stopped using IHG hotels, I've now remembered why.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank New_month_New_city
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear New_month_New, thank you for taking the time to post your honest and valued feedback after your recent stay with us. Whilst we are disappointed to hear of your experience it is feedback such as yours that provides us with the opportunity to improve on the areas that our valued guests have highlighted. We would welcome the opportunity to further discuss your stay with you, as we are not able to identify you from your screen name, we would request that your make direct contact with our Front Office Manager Francisco Vasconcellos (francisco.vasconcellos@ihg.com) who will be able to fully investigate and then liaise directly with you for a positive outcome. We look forward to hearing from your in the coming weeks.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

A terrific location makes this a great hotel for business travel to the Harbour City. Loy=ts of great eateries nearby and easy access to freeways in and out of the city make it great for me. A short walk to the main train station makes access from the airport fast, cheap and easy. Very pleasant staff, large rooms and good in hotel eating. Right across from the Entertainment centre and a very short walk to convention centre and the attractions of Darling Harbour make me choose this hotel for regular trips to Sydney

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Shane M, thank you for taking the time to post your comments after staying with us recently. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and you found the Hotel comfortable. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again, next time you are visiting Sydney.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Nice hotel and good breakfast. Very clean as you would expect from an IHG hotel. Internet access either wi-fi or there is a pc for use. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Good location and I would recommende it.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dizzi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear dizzi1, your feedback is very much appreciated and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to another IHG Hotel next time you are travelling.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#64 of 182 in Sydney
5,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#62 of 182 in Sydney
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Address: 68 Harbour St, Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £84 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emanating a quiet charm right in the middle of the action, Holiday Inn Darling Harbour has the best that Sydney has to offer on its doorstep. A heritage listed former Wool Store cloaks the northern wing of the hotel in history. Situated in the southern end of Sydney's central business district, the hotel is ideally positioned to allow you to make the most of your visit to Sydney. Take a leisurely stroll through Darling Harbour with its many attractions. The vibrant Chinatown and Latin Quarter are close by and the Qantas Credit Union Arena is right across the road. You can walk to some of Sydney's best restaurants, theatres and shopping complexes. For something a little different, board a ferry or the light rail for sightseeing. Trains and buses to Pitt Street Mall shopping precinct and Circular Quay are nearby too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing