We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good price for a deluxe room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #37 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Portree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good price for a deluxe room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

lovely room clean and tidy and very modern just what we needed after traveling in a good area too! was quiet and made for a very good sleep.
beautiful views from the balcony.
just wish we could of stayed a couple more nights.
their was however some building work being done on some of the hotel and the breakfast wasnt the best so we chose to skip it!
otherwise great!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gembeem89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Gembeem89,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel and, for taking your time to share your feedback with us.
I am very pleased to hear that you found the hotel delivered value for money and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the balcony and the location, and I am also happy to inform you that our new restaurant had opening and is in full function as the new breakfast service.
Once again, thank you for your lovely feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,495
    1,656
    563
    134
    68
See reviews for
817
1,307
464
678
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

The room we stayed in was ok, though disappointed when we booked two rooms they were located on the other side of the building and the receptionist charged us twice and we never noticed till we looked through our transaction. Wouldnt really recommend this for family since I took younger siblings with me down to the pool area which you had to access through a different elevator as well as going through the lobby with random people just watching you , was disappointed with the spa since it was the same temperature with the pool and there were a few rowdy people that had hotel rooms right next to the pool.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m_kaitlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear m_kaitlyn,
Thank you for your recent stay at the hotel and, thank you for taking your time to share your feedback.
We appreciate your feedback and understand the inconvenience you experienced during your stay.
The issue has been discussed with the front office manager and measures have been taken to ensure that guests are better informed upon check-in.
Your feedback has been important to us and I would like to thank you for taking your time to share them with us.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

The Cambridge/ Abbey has nice people working there and we're very helpful. The hotel is about a about 15 minute walk to downtown. When we were there at the beginning of November the hotel was renovating, and the work crew started at 7am, not very restful. There was no warning from the hotel that this was going to happen. Plus the windows all single pane and the street noise was loud. The buffet breakfast was nice enough, with tea, coffee, cereal, toast, yogurt, muffins etc. The hotel room was clean and functional

Room Tip: Gate a room in the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Safcdaft,
I would like to thank you for your recent stay at the hotel and for taking you time to share your feedback with us.
I am very glad to hear that you found the staff friendly and helpful, and that you enjoyed the hotel and its location.
I apologise for the inconvenience caused by the renovations, and I am glad to inform you that the renovation work is complete and the new restaurant is now in full function.
I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel clean and functional.
Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012 via mobile

We booked a last minute deal and got a deluxe room here at half price. Our visit was only brief for a one night stay after a wedding. Our room was big with a nice clean bathroom and everything seemed new. Loved the new magazines the flick through and couldn't hear any noise from the street. Will stay at again if we can find discounted prices

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webbsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear webbsm,
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your great feedback with us.
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you were satisfied with the spaciousness and cleanliness. I am glad that you enjoyed the magazine service and it is great to hear that you will stay with us again.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeton, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

I have been staying at the Cambridge Hotel for the past 2 years whilst studying in Sydney.
I come from a small country town in NSW.To be away from my Family for a week at a time was very difficult. Staying at the Cambridge I always felt Welcomed by the Staff & the Accommadation was very comfortable.I will definately return to the Cambridge with my Family & Friends.I recommend the Cambridge Hotel for your next stay in Sydney.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a separate lounge area & kitchen. Also ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 22 November 2012
Dear Karen I,
Thank you very much for taking your time to leave your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
It is always a great pleasure to hear from guests that have stayed with us often and feel at home when they stay with us.
I am delighted to hear that you are impressed with the comfortable accommodation and the friendly staff.
Once again, thank you for your great feedback, and we will always look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again.
Warmest regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

Having been in Sydney for 3 months for work, I have stayed in many different hotels trying to find one that ticked the boxes, ; clean rooms , on site parking, friendly helpful staff and value for money . The Cambridge hotel exceeds my expectations. The rooms are large and airy and very clean. The staff are all friendly and excell in customer service, wether it's rearranging bookings or providing maps and local knowledge. The hotel's resteraunt is being renovated, so meals are limited to room service menu. All in all a great place to stay

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madigliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear madigliana,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel and for taking your time to share your wonderful feedback with us.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and you that you felt the hotel exceeded all your expectations.

I am delighted to hear that you were satisfied with the hotel facilities and the friendly staff. I am happy to inform you that the restaurant officially opened last week, and the food is delicious.

Once again, thank you very much for sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Steven Gargano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed here fro 3 days . It was quite large with a separate bedroom and a kitchen off the other room and a balcony. The hotel is rather old & needs renovating both outside & inside. It has a good location just off Oxford St & near Central train & bus station.
There is a guest laundry in the basement which is useful.The staff are friendly including the security who opened our safe when I forgot our password.

Room Tip: Good location but a little old
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Dear Bob078,
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your thoughts and feedback with us, regarding your recent stay with us at the hotel.
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the location.
I am glad to inform you that the hotel in constantly undergoing refurbishment and renovations including the new restaurant and hotel. We look forward to the completion of other projects throughout the hotel as well.
I am delighted to hear that the friendly staff was to your satisfaction.
Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#34 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#41 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Surry Hills
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#78 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Property: Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool and spa. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking will never be an issue at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking available for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing