We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel in busy area.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #37 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Hotel in busy area.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

Very small reception area. Staff are friendly. Seems a bit dated but very clean. Our room had very good views over Sydney, we could see the Opera House. Our room safe didn't work. Called someone to come and take a look. It was one of the Reception staff. He couldn't fix it and said we shouldn't worry as the hotel was very safe ! I'm sure my Travel Insurers would have been happy with that !! He said it would be fixed the next morning. It wasn't. so had to carry our passports etc with us. As we were only there a couple of nights didn't bother to make an issue of it. I always expect a working room safe and always use them.
Apart from that no complaints. Area was too busy for our liking but well placed for shopping, restaurants, etc etc.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing Opera House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scorpionsholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Scorpionsholidays,
Thank you very much for staying with us recently and also for taking the time to give us some feedback.
I must apologise to the issue that you had with the room-safe. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention all staff members will be retrained on guest relations and how to deal with the situation. It is not the standard of service which Cambridge is known. I hope this experience will not deter you from staying with us again in the future.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you and wish you and your family a very happy festive season and a safe, happy New Year.

Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,473
    1,622
    556
    133
    68
See reviews for
798
1,294
456
664
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

I stayed here during a seminar that was held at the venue. The room itself was more than adequate for me, I didn't need more than a bed and a shower really. It was clean and had room service. There was quite a bit of work going on at the time, I woke the first morning to find there was actually scaffolding erected right outside my window! Fortunately I was dressed when I realised this!
It is very convenient to Oxford Street (would be a perfect location for anyone attending Mardi Gras) and it is also within walking distance of Moore Park.
The only issue is it is not as close to Central Station as it looked on the map, plus it is uphill. This is not their fault but anyone planning on walking, especially with luggage, should think again.
I'd happily stay here again

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Karen T,

Thank you for staying in our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience.
It is very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and to find out that you share the same view with many of our guest about our convenient location.
I apologise for incident with the scaffolding erected outside your window and I hope it didn’t disturb you to enjoy your stay. We had liaised with the workers next door to avoid any inconvenience to our guests when the work was on; I can inform you that the work next door is complete and a new 5-stary apartment- hotel will be opening early January next year.
There are several ways to reach our hotel from the airport, such as airport shuttle bus, taxi or train, Museum station is close to us and the walk is reasonably flat.
Once again, thank you very much for your feedback; we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Best wishes for the Festive Season from all of us at Cambridge.

Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

We loved the location of the Cambridge. Upscale cafes and stores in abundance especially if you head to Crown street and take a right. Also on Oxford St. We walked almost everywhere, but when we needed to take transportation we were a 10 minute walk from Central Station.

The room was not luxurious, but it was fine. The bathroom looked as if it had been newly renovated. At first we were put in a room where the air conditioner was around a corner in the room and the room was stuffy. We requested a new room and were moved to one where the air did not have to go around a corner and we were very comfortable.

The Front desk staff was very nice and helpful. We did have breakfast in the hotel one day, but it was very basic and in my opinion too pricey for the quality and selection. There are so many wonderful cafes in the area that we only ate the hotel breakfast once.

We hope to get to back to Sydney and we will definitely try to stay at the Cambridge again.

Room Tip: Walls are a little thin. Ask for quiet room. Also ask for a room with good ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nummy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Dear Nummy6,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the hotel. I would also like to thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with us.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel as well as the location.
I am very pleased to hear that the friendly staff lived up to your expectations and that you will return to stay with us again.
Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

We had three nights here and could not have been looked after better. Room was amazing, food was excellent and the supportfrom reception staff was exceptional. We had an enormously happy time here and will remember it with great affecion for many years to come.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Dear Keith S,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel. I would also like to thank you for taking your time to leave your great feedback with us.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that the friendly staff exceeded your expectations.

Once again, thank you very much for sharing your great feedback with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

lovely room clean and tidy and very modern just what we needed after traveling in a good area too! was quiet and made for a very good sleep.
beautiful views from the balcony.
just wish we could of stayed a couple more nights.
their was however some building work being done on some of the hotel and the breakfast wasnt the best so we chose to skip it!
otherwise great!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gembeem89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Gembeem89,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel and, for taking your time to share your feedback with us.
I am very pleased to hear that you found the hotel delivered value for money and that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the balcony and the location, and I am also happy to inform you that our new restaurant had opening and is in full function as the new breakfast service.
Once again, thank you for your lovely feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

The room we stayed in was ok, though disappointed when we booked two rooms they were located on the other side of the building and the receptionist charged us twice and we never noticed till we looked through our transaction. Wouldnt really recommend this for family since I took younger siblings with me down to the pool area which you had to access through a different elevator as well as going through the lobby with random people just watching you , was disappointed with the spa since it was the same temperature with the pool and there were a few rowdy people that had hotel rooms right next to the pool.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m_kaitlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear m_kaitlyn,
Thank you for your recent stay at the hotel and, thank you for taking your time to share your feedback.
We appreciate your feedback and understand the inconvenience you experienced during your stay.
The issue has been discussed with the front office manager and measures have been taken to ensure that guests are better informed upon check-in.
Your feedback has been important to us and I would like to thank you for taking your time to share them with us.
We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

The Cambridge/ Abbey has nice people working there and we're very helpful. The hotel is about a about 15 minute walk to downtown. When we were there at the beginning of November the hotel was renovating, and the work crew started at 7am, not very restful. There was no warning from the hotel that this was going to happen. Plus the windows all single pane and the street noise was loud. The buffet breakfast was nice enough, with tea, coffee, cereal, toast, yogurt, muffins etc. The hotel room was clean and functional

Room Tip: Gate a room in the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Dear Safcdaft,
I would like to thank you for your recent stay at the hotel and for taking you time to share your feedback with us.
I am very glad to hear that you found the staff friendly and helpful, and that you enjoyed the hotel and its location.
I apologise for the inconvenience caused by the renovations, and I am glad to inform you that the renovation work is complete and the new restaurant is now in full function.
I am pleased to hear that you found the hotel clean and functional.
Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#41 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Surry Hills
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#48 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#77 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Property: Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool and spa. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking will never be an issue at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking available for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing