We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So good, we went back again!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #37 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
bury
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So good, we went back again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

I must firstly admit that this review is 12 months late and was from a trip in 2011. Having read reviews before we left England I promised I would review it to show OUR findings.
On arrival the staff were great, we were well before check in time though so had to wait for our room which is fair enough.
We were staying initially for a few days to catch up with family then heading out on the Great Ocean Road with the plan to book rooms wherever we ended up!. We were that pleased with the hotel, staff, rooms etc that we rebooked it for our final few days down under after our road trip/journey!
We were advised initially that it wasn't maybe a suitable area for a family stay, we have (at the time) a 5 year old daughter. Couldn't be further from the truth. Plenty of nice bars and eateries nearby.
Public transport is a 5 minute walk away though Sydney Harbour is easily within walking distance.
I'm not normally the sort of person who stays in the same place twice but this hotel warranted it and I would happily go back if/when we get chance to visit Australia again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuryJez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Dear BuryJez,
Thank you very much for your great feedback and for taking your time to share your experiences with us.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, the room, the friendly staff and the location. I am very glad that the Cambridge Hotel suited your needs and lived up to your expectations.
Thank you for choosing the Cambridge Hotel for your second stay in Sydney and we look forward to welcoming you back to again when you return to Sydney in the near future.
Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,473
    1,622
    556
    133
    68
See reviews for
798
1,294
456
664
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Konigswinter, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

Very helpful and friendly staff. Clean hotel. Value for money. Harbour with Opera House in walking distance. Excellent advice for tours. Naturally, the Restaurant could not be used while under renovation. Even continental breakfast very good.

Room Tip: Use shuttle service airport - hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
Dear Peter G,

I am glad that you had a comfortable stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
It is great to hear that you found our staff helpful and informative; the location and facilities suited you and that your room was comfortable; and that you enjoyed the breakfast we offer. We believe that we offer value for money and we are delighted when our guests feel the same.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Cambridge Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in town.
Wish you have a very happy holiday season.

Warm regard
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

Although room a bit on small side we were made to feel at home, reception staff helpful and location was good-close to shops, bars etc and within reasonable walking distance to harbour area, although bus better option to get there. Clean and tidy and comfortable...ideal for short stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J.D.Newcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
Dear J.D Newcombe,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience after your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you had good experience with us and you enjoyed your stay.
It is pleasing to hear that you found the hotel’s facilities were comfortable and staff helpful; also I am glad that you shared the same view with many of our guest that the hotel’s locality is easy to access most of Sydney landmark attractions.
Once again, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience; and we look forward to seeing you again when next you visit Sydney.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you and wish you have a very safe, happy holiday.

Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

An awful journey from the airport didn´t seem to matter after checking in at the Cambridge. Sarah, the vice manager put us at ease and explained patiently what was available at the hotel, including the new Italian restaurant next to the lobby. ( Very good food ) During our 5 day stay we had a number of requests which were dealt with quickly and efficiently by all staff members, so that we can wholeheartedly reccomend the Hotel to visitors looking for a reasonable price but good service and quality. Within a good walk of most of the sights and shopping.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
Dear Robert H,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience.
I am happy to hear that you had enjoyable time during your stay, and you found our staff at reception helpful and informative, I have personally passed on your nice comments to Sarah who extends her best wishes to you and your family.
I am also delighted to hear that you liked the food of our new restaurant; the hotel’s location was to your liking as well. Many of guests shared with this view.
Once again, thank you very much for your feedback; we look forward to welcoming you back to Cambridge Hotel in the near future.
Best wishes for the Festive Season from all of us at Cambridge.

Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

Just returned from a 15 night stay at the Cambridge Hotel this was our second time staying here and it gets better each time.

Rooms very spacious, clean and very well kept.
Buffet Breakfast very good value with great choice.
Fantastic City Location minutes from all the main attractions.

Staff Fantastic special thanks to Jennifer for sorting our room out prior to our arrival, Sarah for looking after us when we arrived and Christina you did us proud everyday at breakfast and took great care of us each morning.

Don't be put off by the negative reviews this is a quality 4* + Hotel which represents excellent value for money, clean accommodation in a city centre location with fantastic staff.

Hope You enjoyed the chocolates

See you again soon

Mark & Paul

xx

Room Tip: Balcony rooms fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MH1_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
Dear MH1_7,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience.
I am delighted to read that you had great stay with us. Your praise has been passed on to the staff you mentioned; they are grateful for your wonderful feedback and thank you for the sweet chocolates.
It is also pleasing to hear that you liked our new restaurant; we have received many positive feedbacks since its reopening late this year.
Whistle I am glad you enjoyed the convenient location of the hotel and that the service has lived up to your expectation.
Once again, thank you very much for your growing feedback; we look forward to see you again very soon.
Best wishes for the Festive Season from all of us at Cambridge.

Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

This hotel was crap. The manager was snobby and his tone of voice seemed cocky.
The trainee made a mistake and she had no badge saying she was a trainee. I was not happy with the service nor the rooms. I asked for 8 champagne glasses and it did not arrive for 30 minutes so i gave up on them. The rooms were fairly small and the standard poor. The good part was it was close to Sydney night life. However if you wish to enjoy the night life of the city in particular Kings Cross..Book the holiday inn. My opinion is based of a series of crap experiences, your stay may be different.

Room Tip: choose a deluxe room.. i didnt like it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benenebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Dear benenebb,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel.
I am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay.
We do strive in providing excellence in guest satisfaction.

As you we not happy with the room allocated you were moved to a different room that you were satisfied with. We will ensure all our staff are wearing the name badges.

I do apologise for the delay in delivery of the 8 champagne glasses. We do hope that you enjoyed your time in Sydney. Benenebb you are right in saying that our deluxe rooms are next category up from the room that you booked. Deluxe rooms are spacious, on high floor with balcony and most has Sydney skyline view.

Please do contact me if I can be of any further assistance or how we could have made our stay more enjoyable.

Kind regards,

Steven Gargano
General Manager,
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012 via mobile

I found this establishment to be very well set out and its rooms were better equipped than those known to a world wide customer base.

Only 1 block to Sydney's Oxford St where you can party the night away or a short and easy 10 minute walk to all the shopping hubs that Sydney has to offer.

I had 2 issues with this hotel, neither were bad enough for me to not want to return. The first being the cleanliness. The grout in the shower was somewhat stained, there were also scuff marks and splatters of different liquids on the walls though out the room. The second issue was the curtains. I'm the kind of person who can't sleep if there's a slight amount of light. The curtains let a lot of light in from about 5:30am as my room faced to the east.

The price I paid was exceptional for what I was offered. As I said above, yes I will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GF2183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear GF2183,
Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.
It is pleasing to hear that you had an enjoyable time in your recent visit to Sydney and the hotel contributed to the enjoyable time. I am glad that you found our location convenient; it is a view shared with many of our guests.
I have taken on board for the two issues you raised and the appropriate action has undertaken. I am sorry that you did not mention them whilst you were in the hotel as we could have attended to them at the time thereby making your visit more enjoyable.
Once again, thank you very much for your feedback, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for support and wish you a very Happy Holiday season and a safe, happy New Year.

Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#41 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Surry Hills
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#48 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#77 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Property: Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool and spa. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking will never be an issue at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking available for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Travelbag so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing