We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #37 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

I stayed at the Cambridge Hotel and I have to say - I really didn't want to leave! The bed was the most comfortable I have slept on at any Hotel ever.

The staff were just wonderful and the service absolutely fabulous. I felt cared for and valued as a guest. The rates were also very affordable for such good quality accommodation.

I was upgraded, just by chance, to one of the beautiful rooms on the top floor - and the view was just lovely.

The area is also fantastic - being close to Oxford Street and many great eats, bars, movies - everything you could want !

Room Tip: Ask to be put on the top floor if they have availability !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Lawrence845,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel. We would also like to thank you for taking your time to leave your wonderful comments about the hotel and your stay with us.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed everything from the beds to the friendly staff to the location and value.
Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Positive feedback always keeps the staff motivated.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge Hotel in the near future.

Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,473
    1,622
    556
    133
    68
See reviews for
798
1,294
456
664
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Stayed at the Cambridge Hotel on my recent visit to Sydney. The hotel is located right off of Oxford street which has all the bars and restaurants you could ever want. I specifically chose the hotel for the location. The room was very nicely appointed and was a good size. Internet was available for purchase at a fairly reasonable rate. They also offer a late afternoon checkout for a fee which I thought was a nice option. I would definitely stay here again when I am back in Sydney.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMCnNYC1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear DMCnNYC1974,

Thank you very much for choosing the Cambridge Hotel for your recent stay, and thank you for taking your time share your feedback and experience at the Hotel.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, the well-appointed room, the location and value for money.
It is always a pleasure to hear about great guest experiences as this motivates our team to exceed guest expectations.
Once again, thank you very much for your great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Hotel itself was fine, room was clean and reasonably priced for the location. However, our room was right be the elevator (seems like most of them are) so it was very noisy with people going in and out and talking while waiting for the elevator to arrive. One night some guests came back and continued to party in their room, while the next night one of the apartments in the building opposite were partying, very loudly, until 3.30am.

While the location was good, being close to some great restaurants, it was too busy and noisy, lots of sirens during the night as well. It was the weekend leading up to New Year's Eve so it may have been noisier than normal.

Hotel staff were great, room clean and ok size, shower was quite small however, and balcony looked out to ugly naked guy across the road. Would have been fine (not so much the UNG) if it wasn't so noisy. Wouldn't stay here again, but we probably wouldn't stay in the area again either.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamrNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Dear SamrNZ,
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback with us.
I am sorry to hear that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. It is important that front desk staff are informed of such disturbances so that they may action this immediately. The front desk staff are always here to help and will be more than happy to move you to another room when availability allows it.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed the room, cleanliness and the value for money.
Once again, I apologise for the noise disturbances and hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again.
Thank you for your feedback and bringing your disturbances to our attention. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again.
Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bury
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

I must firstly admit that this review is 12 months late and was from a trip in 2011. Having read reviews before we left England I promised I would review it to show OUR findings.
On arrival the staff were great, we were well before check in time though so had to wait for our room which is fair enough.
We were staying initially for a few days to catch up with family then heading out on the Great Ocean Road with the plan to book rooms wherever we ended up!. We were that pleased with the hotel, staff, rooms etc that we rebooked it for our final few days down under after our road trip/journey!
We were advised initially that it wasn't maybe a suitable area for a family stay, we have (at the time) a 5 year old daughter. Couldn't be further from the truth. Plenty of nice bars and eateries nearby.
Public transport is a 5 minute walk away though Sydney Harbour is easily within walking distance.
I'm not normally the sort of person who stays in the same place twice but this hotel warranted it and I would happily go back if/when we get chance to visit Australia again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuryJez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Dear BuryJez,
Thank you very much for your great feedback and for taking your time to share your experiences with us.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, the room, the friendly staff and the location. I am very glad that the Cambridge Hotel suited your needs and lived up to your expectations.
Thank you for choosing the Cambridge Hotel for your second stay in Sydney and we look forward to welcoming you back to again when you return to Sydney in the near future.
Warm regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konigswinter, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

Very helpful and friendly staff. Clean hotel. Value for money. Harbour with Opera House in walking distance. Excellent advice for tours. Naturally, the Restaurant could not be used while under renovation. Even continental breakfast very good.

Room Tip: Use shuttle service airport - hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
Dear Peter G,

I am glad that you had a comfortable stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
It is great to hear that you found our staff helpful and informative; the location and facilities suited you and that your room was comfortable; and that you enjoyed the breakfast we offer. We believe that we offer value for money and we are delighted when our guests feel the same.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Cambridge Hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in town.
Wish you have a very happy holiday season.

Warm regard
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

Although room a bit on small side we were made to feel at home, reception staff helpful and location was good-close to shops, bars etc and within reasonable walking distance to harbour area, although bus better option to get there. Clean and tidy and comfortable...ideal for short stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J.D.Newcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
Dear J.D Newcombe,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience after your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you had good experience with us and you enjoyed your stay.
It is pleasing to hear that you found the hotel’s facilities were comfortable and staff helpful; also I am glad that you shared the same view with many of our guest that the hotel’s locality is easy to access most of Sydney landmark attractions.
Once again, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience; and we look forward to seeing you again when next you visit Sydney.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you and wish you have a very safe, happy holiday.

Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

An awful journey from the airport didn´t seem to matter after checking in at the Cambridge. Sarah, the vice manager put us at ease and explained patiently what was available at the hotel, including the new Italian restaurant next to the lobby. ( Very good food ) During our 5 day stay we had a number of requests which were dealt with quickly and efficiently by all staff members, so that we can wholeheartedly reccomend the Hotel to visitors looking for a reasonable price but good service and quality. Within a good walk of most of the sights and shopping.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
Dear Robert H,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience.
I am happy to hear that you had enjoyable time during your stay, and you found our staff at reception helpful and informative, I have personally passed on your nice comments to Sarah who extends her best wishes to you and your family.
I am also delighted to hear that you liked the food of our new restaurant; the hotel’s location was to your liking as well. Many of guests shared with this view.
Once again, thank you very much for your feedback; we look forward to welcoming you back to Cambridge Hotel in the near future.
Best wishes for the Festive Season from all of us at Cambridge.

Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#41 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Surry Hills
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#48 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#77 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Property: Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool and spa. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking will never be an issue at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking available for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Travelbag so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing