We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient to all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #36 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgewood
1 review
“Very convenient to all”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and super friendly. The room was a good size and many choices available to watch on the T V. Comfortable beds and bedding was superb. I would recommend friends to use this hotel for their visits to Sydney

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Teisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hi Teisha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. It’s pleasing to hear you found the hotel to offer a high standard of service, cleanliness and accommodation. Our team appreciate the recognition of their efforts and look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,543
    1,683
    571
    134
    70
See reviews for
834
1,341
469
694
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Curtin
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The hotel had good sized rooms. It was quiet, clean and well maintained. Beds were very comfortable. This hotel is in a great location for seeing Sydney, it is close to public transport and the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hi Bronwyn,

Thank you for leaving your feedback on your recent Cambridge Hotel experience. It’s great you enjoyed our clean and spacious guest rooms and suites and found the hotel to be well located and accessibly placed in Surry Hills. Thank you again for your thoughts, the hotel looks forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I enjoyed my stay and would recommend the hotel.

Hotel is very clean, tidy and I liked the staff. Continental breakfast is a little over priced at 15 AUD per day, but I think it's standard for a Sydney hotel. I paid for the speedy wifi service which was of adequate speed and cost about 50 AUD for a week. This is free if you book on their own website.

I stayed for 7 nights with a break in between so saw two different rooms. Both rooms I stayed in were 'premium queen' (their name for a normal room). They were spacious and had nice big windows with views to the south. The bed was very comfortable and they give you two types of pillows (I think a down type and a synthetic type). The showers were powerful.

The location is good - a quiet street but a 2 minute walk to vibrant Oxford street. I walked everywhere: ten minutes to Hyde Park, half an hour to The Domain, an hour to the Opera House.

I didn't use the swimming pool. It is very small.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC1010111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hi JC1010111,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience of the Cambridge Hotel. It’s excellent you enjoyed the standard of our accommodation, and found our staff to be friendly and welcoming throughout your stay. It’s unfortunate you find the continental breakfast to lack value as we offer very competitive pricing compared to other Sydney hotels. With many of Sydney’s main attractions within a short walking distance; I’m glad you find our location to be accessible to all that Sydney has to offer. Thank you again for your comments, the Cambridge Hotel looks forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Check-In staff very friendly.
Room very spacious, beds very comfortable.
Housekeeping a bit noisy when making up the room next door.
Why do bathtub plug and basin plug have to be plugged into the outlet when having cleaned tub and basin? That bugged me, especially in the morning when brushing the teeth and finding the water not being able to drain.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi Stefan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Cambridge Hotel experience. I'm glad you found our hotel to provide friendly and welcoming service as well as a high standard of accommodation. I apologise for any inconvenience our cleaning practices caused; the plugs are placed there to ensure our guests are aware of its location within the bathroom. In saying that, I thank you for your feedback; the Cambridge Hotel is taking your recommendations into consideration and looks forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlestown, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Easy to find and good location. Rooms clean and comfortable. Staff really helpful and offered some great child friendly eating suggestions. We were there to meet people from the airport which worked well as only 15 mins or so from airport but also close to restaurants and attractions.


  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hi Rachel,

Thank you for sharing your comments on your stay with us at the Cambridge Hotel. I’m glad you enjoyed your visit to Sydney and found the journey to and from Sydney Airport to be quick and hassle-free. Thank you again for your thoughts; we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Always good staff team and rooms excellent , had an up grade which was great but room had no desk/table to work at which was disappointing . Great location for city and public transport access. Love the beds , very comfortable. FAn in bathroom needed a clean but otherwise ok. Buffet breakfast was a bit weak and not much choice for vegetarians.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi Tim,

Thank you for sharing your excellent comments regarding your stay at the Cambridge Hotel, and for choosing our hotel as your preferred Sydney accommodation. Our team appreciates your kind recognition of their standard of service and I’m glad you enjoyed your room upgrade.
Our Housekeeping Department have cleaned the bathroom fan and our restaurant has taken your feedback into consideration. Thank you again for your feedback, the Cambridge looks forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This was my 2nd stay and this was even better than the first. The room rate was very reasonable. The room was large and well appointed with a very comfortable bed. Only problem was that we couldn't get wifi in our room although the staff said they tried to help solve the problem. Free wifi is advertised and I know other people had issues with it. Wasn't really too much of a problem for us but if we were on business it may have been. Otherwise a very good stay. Also there was no traffic noise and we were only on the 3rd floor.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi Alexandra,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Cambridge Hotel experience. It’s great you had an even better stay this time around, and I am glad you enjoyed our spacious rooms and comfortable bedding. I apologise that you experienced issues with our Wi-Fi; we have had a technician confirm the connectivity, and all is working well. Thank you again for your feedback, the Cambridge Hotel looks forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#34 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,501 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#43 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Surry Hills
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Property: Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool and spa. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking will never be an issue at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking available for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, Travelbag, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing