We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #39 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay. Rooms comfortable and all in good working order. Peaceful sleeping at night and great full English breakfasts. We also enjoyed the evening meal at the Italian restaurant. Would recommend to friends visiting Sydney.



  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Martin & Heathe... F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hi Martin and Heather,

Thank you both for sharing your excellent comments on your stay with us at the Cambridge Hotel. It’s great you enjoyed the various aspects of our hotel; especially our breakfast options and in-house Italian restaurant; Baccomatto Osteria. Thank you as well for your recommendation; the Cambridge Hotel looks forward to welcoming you back to Sydney.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,274 - 3,280 of 4,438 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

I stayed for a couple of nights this week at the Cambridge Hotel with my children. It is a clean and well maintained hotel with great location. Just a short walk to lots of great local restaurants and cafes, my favourite being the Italian restaurant in the hotel where you can get genuine Northern Italian style cuisine and a great house red wine. The staff at the hotel are always friendly and nothing is a problem, they even have an easy electronic checkout kiosk if you don't want to wait. If you book on their website you get free fast wifi which is great, all hotels should have this. The indoor pool and spa is great for the kids. We had a city view balcony room which was lovely. As a return guest, I was welcomed with a small gift and a letter from the general manager. Just a lovely family owned hotel with some individuality but all the service you can expect from a larger hotel group. Definitely one of the better hotels in this price range in the city. The location is great to access either the uber cool Surry Hills restaurants and cafes or go partying on Oxford street, an easy 15-20minute walk from Central!

Room Tip: City view Balcony rooms are a great size and the views of the city at night are awesome, the higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wollongonggirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Hi Wollongonggirl1,

Thank you for leaving your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Cambridge Hotel. It’s great your family enjoyed the return visit to Surry Hills and were pleased with Baccomatto Osteria’s Italian offerings. I’m glad you find our hotel to offer a high room standard and great value for money. Thank you again for your kind comments; we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Nice and quiet location and within walking distance to restaurants.
The balcony was nice also as it was relaxing to sit out there.
The beds are comfortable. The room isn't overly large but big enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hi Peter,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Cambridge Hotel. It’s great you enjoyed the location and standard of our accommodation, as well as our comfortable bedding. We look forward to welcoming you back, Thank you again for your thoughts.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and super friendly. The room was a good size and many choices available to watch on the T V. Comfortable beds and bedding was superb. I would recommend friends to use this hotel for their visits to Sydney

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Teisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hi Teisha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. It’s pleasing to hear you found the hotel to offer a high standard of service, cleanliness and accommodation. Our team appreciate the recognition of their efforts and look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The hotel had good sized rooms. It was quiet, clean and well maintained. Beds were very comfortable. This hotel is in a great location for seeing Sydney, it is close to public transport and the city centre.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bronwyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hi Bronwyn,

Thank you for leaving your feedback on your recent Cambridge Hotel experience. It’s great you enjoyed our clean and spacious guest rooms and suites and found the hotel to be well located and accessibly placed in Surry Hills. Thank you again for your thoughts, the hotel looks forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I enjoyed my stay and would recommend the hotel.

Hotel is very clean, tidy and I liked the staff. Continental breakfast is a little over priced at 15 AUD per day, but I think it's standard for a Sydney hotel. I paid for the speedy wifi service which was of adequate speed and cost about 50 AUD for a week. This is free if you book on their own website.

I stayed for 7 nights with a break in between so saw two different rooms. Both rooms I stayed in were 'premium queen' (their name for a normal room). They were spacious and had nice big windows with views to the south. The bed was very comfortable and they give you two types of pillows (I think a down type and a synthetic type). The showers were powerful.

The location is good - a quiet street but a 2 minute walk to vibrant Oxford street. I walked everywhere: ten minutes to Hyde Park, half an hour to The Domain, an hour to the Opera House.

I didn't use the swimming pool. It is very small.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JC1010111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Hi JC1010111,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience of the Cambridge Hotel. It’s excellent you enjoyed the standard of our accommodation, and found our staff to be friendly and welcoming throughout your stay. It’s unfortunate you find the continental breakfast to lack value as we offer very competitive pricing compared to other Sydney hotels. With many of Sydney’s main attractions within a short walking distance; I’m glad you find our location to be accessible to all that Sydney has to offer. Thank you again for your comments, the Cambridge Hotel looks forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Check-In staff very friendly.
Room very spacious, beds very comfortable.
Housekeeping a bit noisy when making up the room next door.
Why do bathtub plug and basin plug have to be plugged into the outlet when having cleaned tub and basin? That bugged me, especially in the morning when brushing the teeth and finding the water not being able to drain.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Hi Stefan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Cambridge Hotel experience. I'm glad you found our hotel to provide friendly and welcoming service as well as a high standard of accommodation. I apologise for any inconvenience our cleaning practices caused; the plugs are placed there to ensure our guests are aware of its location within the bathroom. In saying that, I thank you for your feedback; the Cambridge Hotel is taking your recommendations into consideration and looks forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#85 of 180 in Sydney
2,549 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#48 of 180 in Sydney
887 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#106 of 180 in Sydney
5,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#45 of 180 in Sydney
1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#38 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#40 Business Hotel in Sydney
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £69 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service along with a rustic Italian restaurant. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking is available at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing