We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #35 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The hotel is in a good location and is a short walk to many sights including the city center. Get a high floor for a good view of the city, and a fantastic sunrise everyday! The room was well cleaned and spacious. Book via the hotel to enjoy complimentary wi-fi.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Clarence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Hi Clarence,

It's great you were pleased with the standard of our accommodation at the Cambridge Hotel. Our Surry Hills location is excellent for exploring the Sydney City. Our Housekeeping Department appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts,
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,636
    1,777
    592
    137
    70
See reviews for
887
1,400
491
746
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The attendant who checked us in was beyond rude, she was absolutely petulant and patronising. The room was clean and well presented. Free WiFi great. Convenient to restaurants and the city so we walked everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Adele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Hi Adele,

Thank you for sharing your candid thoughts on your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel and for providing the opportunity to improve the quality and standard of our hotel.

While I’m glad you enjoyed aspects of your stay; such as our high quality accommodation and the hotel’s accessible location, it’s unfortunate that others were less than ideal. The team member in question has been spoken to regarding her manner and attitude, and I apologise for any miscommunication that occurred.

Thank you again for your feedback, I sincerely hope you will choose to stay at the Cambridge Hotel again.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Bought a discount voucher for the hotel based on location. Pleased with access to the city but disappointed that the room was quite noisy at night. Room was spacious and bed very comfortable but as usual pillows very ordinary. TV reception and channel selection also a bit disappointing. Breakfast was adequate only, limited variety and quality not great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Drew49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Hi Drew,

Thank you for your candid comments and for providing the opportunity to improve the quality of our hotel. While it’s great you enjoyed our central and accessible location, as well as our high standard of accommodation; it’s unfortunate other aspects of your stay were less than ideal.

The hotel is currently replacing all windows and balcony doors to significantly reduce outdoor noise levels and I have passed forward your breakfast feedback to our Restaurant Manager.
Thank you again for sharing your thoughts. I sincerely hope these isolated events won’t deter you from visiting the Cambridge Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

-clean
-15min walk to city
-many cafes/restaurants/bars close by
-staff was helpful and friendly
-close to train stn and bus stops
-convenient location

Overall was a good stay... down side is that there's no free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rentop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi rentop,

It’s excellent you enjoyed your stay with us. I’m glad you were pleased with our high standard of cleanliness and service levels, as well as our Surry Hills location. With both Central and Museum Train Stations a 5 minute walk away, our hotel is perfectly located for all that Sydney has to offer.

Further to your feedback, the hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi to all guests that book directly online on our hotel website. Thank you for your thoughts on your Cambridge Hotel experience, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The staff were helpful from the time of booking to check out. Our room was on the 11th floor and it was relatively quite given the location of the hotel. And of course the location was great. Walking distance to the centre of the city and a great choice of restaurants right at our door steps.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi Christine,

It’s great you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. Our team appreciate your high commendation of our service levels and I’m glad you find our location to be central and accessible. Thank you for your thoughts, the Cambridge Hotel looks forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2014

What a little gem!
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Cambridge (Sydney). It was economical, clean and within minutes walk to all of the best spots in the city. The friendly staff were very helpful. The only thing was the early noise from surrounding areas, worth it though!


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Greer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi Greer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Cambridge Hotel experience. I’m so glad you enjoyed the various aspects of your stay; it’s great you found our hotel to offer high value for money. Our Housekeeping Department appreciate your commendation of their high standard of cleanliness and the hotel looks forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawks Nest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Booked blind on the internet but as it turned out the hotel was conveniently located and value for money. The room was very clean and tidy with a great city view and surprise surprise the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi Stephen,

It’s great you were pleased with the high standard of accommodation at the Cambridge Hotel. I’m glad you enjoyed the various aspects of your stay; our Front Desk and Housekeeping Department appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#43 of 178 in Sydney
847 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#40 of 178 in Sydney
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Meriton Suites Zetland
#10 of 178 in Sydney
2,984 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#101 of 178 in Sydney
4,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Property: Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking is available at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing