We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Abey Hotel(Sydney)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Travelodge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,695)
Filter reviews
4,698 results
Traveller rating
1,864
1,988
628
144
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,864
1,988
628
144
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssurry hillsoxford streetgreat locationbalcony roommuseum stationhyde parkwalking distancefree wifigood sizeopera housepublic transportwould stay againreception staffmini barshort staybuffet breakfastcentral location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,330 - 3,335 of 4,698 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Service was friendly a good. The check in time was quick and very straight forward.
The room was small but ideal for what we needed as we only stayed the one night. It was very clean and the balcony was really good too. Breakfast was really good with a good amount available. Coffee was really nice. And the staff in the restaurant was very friendly and welcoming.
The room rates were very good and we would stay here again and would recommend.
Its is in a pretty quite area and parking was well priced.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Charmaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hi Charmaine,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay at the Cambridge Hotel. I’m glad you found the hotel to provide clean, high quality accommodation in the heart of Surry Hills and it’s great you enjoyed the standard of our in-house buffet breakfast offerings. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts, the hotel looks forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our room we were given for two nights on the winter special was awesome. Especially the added benefit of fast wifi & breakfast for two included each morning. Really we couldn't fault it & Just wished we could have stayed longer. The room was very clean, tastefully decorated and the bed was great. Having the lounge area in the room was awesome and hope we get something like this the next time we stay.
Please keep the specials coming Cambridge, that makes for a lovely affordable stay. Looking forward to the next time.

Room Tip: So far we have stayed twice, once in a deluxe queen room with balcony facing north /east which was nice, though this time went for the winter special and got a deluxe queen non balcony facing south east which was to be honest just as nice. Maybe try higher floors to have better views. Also if u want quieter ask for away from service cupboard and lift area otherwise I'm sure all is equally good.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hi Luke,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay. I’m glad you enjoyed our ‘Winter in Sydney Special’ and the value of our online deals and promotions. It’s great you are pleased with the standard and quality of our accommodation and the hotel looks forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Took the current winter special package; walked there from Central Station, not too far with an overnight bag + laptop bag. excellent deal and can't believe how good the room is; there was some kind of breeze through the ensuite bathroom - I was on a high floor - but closing the door closed out the noise. calm serene spot and everything in walking distance - even able to find something to eat locally around 10pm.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hi Edward,

I appreciate you sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel. I’m glad you found high value in our ‘Winter in Sydney’ special and it’s great you enjoyed the quality and standard of our product.

The hotel is in the process of completing a refurbishment of our windows and balcony doors and it’s pleasing to see our updated soundproofing has made a significant improvement on our guest experience. Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Need Mugs to drink out of. Those tiny cups are useless !!to hard to hang onto. No Biscuits to go with your Cuppa. Surely it could be affordable !!! Would not stay there again. Breakfast very expensive for a Continental.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anne Ms G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hi Anne,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel. It’s unfortunate your stay was hindered by the sizing of our in-room cups and lack of biscuits, however I’m glad you were more pleased with the standard of our rooms and cleanliness. I appreciate your recommendations in improving the hotel and hope we can welcome you back to the Cambridge Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

we stayed for 3 nights. Mon to Thursday. excellent friendly staff. excellent rate for a one room apartment. with kitchenette. Microwave, toaster and jug.
very comfortable bed. Room 606 is quiet and spacious.
I'd suggest that a small water jug be provided.. along with salt and pepper sachets given this room has a kitchenette .
it was unusual and a little annoying that the bathroom didn't have an exhaust fan . I would definitely stay here again as it a central location in Surry Hills ..very close to Oxford St and public transport, buses into city one way and to Bondi the other. Plenty of great cafes and bars in Crown street only a block away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Judi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hi Judi,

It’s great you were pleased with the standard and quality of our accommodation, along with the friendliness of our team. Thank you for your suggested inclusions to our Deluxe Bedroom Suites; I have passed these forward to our Housekeeping Department.

Further to your feedback; as there is an opening window in your bathroom there was seen to be no need for an exhaust fan. Thank you again for your thoughts and your kind comments; the hotel looks forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews