We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #37 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Uralla
1 review
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and fresh albeit small with an unusual layout for the living area. Location was perfect - a very short walk to Crown Street Surry Hills, which is where we wanted to be for dinner. We would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hi Anne,

Thank you for leaving your feedback on the Cambridge Hotel. I’m glad you enjoyed our high quality accommodation along with our central and accessible location. Our team appreciate your kind comments and the hotel hopes to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,469
    1,619
    554
    132
    68
See reviews for
797
1,289
455
661
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Templestowe
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We were staying overnight and were looking for something that was cost effective, simple and well positioned. It did this. If you come in a car watch out for the car park. I have been some tight inner city car parks but this one is right up there. Don't even think about going into it if you have a large car

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hi John,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Cambridge Hotel experience; I’m glad you enjoyed our high value, quality accommodation, and I agree our car-parking facilities can be quite difficult for larger vehicles; the hotel makes this clear in our terms and conditions across booking agents.
Thank you again for your feedback, the hotel looks forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

It's a dated but conveniently located hotel. Rooms smell of stake cigarette smoke, corridors of smoke & lifts that take more time than the stairs would. You get what you pay for even though overpriced

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hi Mark,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your feedback on the Cambridge Hotel. I’m glad you enjoyed our convenient location, however I apologise that other aspects of your stay were less than ideal. We are a non-smoking property and have no qualms in charging guests that smoke in our rooms, and I’m sorry you were subjected to the smell of ‘stale-smoke’ in your room.

Please contact me directly on steven@cambridgehotel.com.au to discuss this further. I sincerely hope we can welcome you back to our property and show you the quality and standard of our accommodation we strive to provide.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranebrook
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Service was friendly a good. The check in time was quick and very straight forward.
The room was small but ideal for what we needed as we only stayed the one night. It was very clean and the balcony was really good too. Breakfast was really good with a good amount available. Coffee was really nice. And the staff in the restaurant was very friendly and welcoming.
The room rates were very good and we would stay here again and would recommend.
Its is in a pretty quite area and parking was well priced.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charmaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hi Charmaine,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay at the Cambridge Hotel. I’m glad you found the hotel to provide clean, high quality accommodation in the heart of Surry Hills and it’s great you enjoyed the standard of our in-house buffet breakfast offerings. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts, the hotel looks forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our room we were given for two nights on the winter special was awesome. Especially the added benefit of fast wifi & breakfast for two included each morning. Really we couldn't fault it & Just wished we could have stayed longer. The room was very clean, tastefully decorated and the bed was great. Having the lounge area in the room was awesome and hope we get something like this the next time we stay.
Please keep the specials coming Cambridge, that makes for a lovely affordable stay. Looking forward to the next time.

Room Tip: So far we have stayed twice, once in a deluxe queen room with balcony facing north /east which was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hi Luke,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay. I’m glad you enjoyed our ‘Winter in Sydney Special’ and the value of our online deals and promotions. It’s great you are pleased with the standard and quality of our accommodation and the hotel looks forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Took the current winter special package; walked there from Central Station, not too far with an overnight bag + laptop bag. excellent deal and can't believe how good the room is; there was some kind of breeze through the ensuite bathroom - I was on a high floor - but closing the door closed out the noise. calm serene spot and everything in walking distance - even able to find something to eat locally around 10pm.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hi Edward,

I appreciate you sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel. I’m glad you found high value in our ‘Winter in Sydney’ special and it’s great you enjoyed the quality and standard of our product.

The hotel is in the process of completing a refurbishment of our windows and balcony doors and it’s pleasing to see our updated soundproofing has made a significant improvement on our guest experience. Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trundle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Need Mugs to drink out of. Those tiny cups are useless !!to hard to hang onto. No Biscuits to go with your Cuppa. Surely it could be affordable !!! Would not stay there again. Breakfast very expensive for a Continental.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anne Ms G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hi Anne,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel. It’s unfortunate your stay was hindered by the sizing of our in-room cups and lack of biscuits, however I’m glad you were more pleased with the standard of our rooms and cleanliness. I appreciate your recommendations in improving the hotel and hope we can welcome you back to the Cambridge Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#41 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Surry Hills
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Property: Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool and spa. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking will never be an issue at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking available for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Travelbag so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing