We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Excellent Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #36 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location, Excellent Value”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We would highly recommend the Cambridge Hotel. The location was fantastic, within easy walking distance to several great Restaurants, bars & cafes, also close to Sydney CBD. The room was well equipped.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kylie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi Kylie,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Cambridge Hotel. I’m glad you took the time to explore the various restaurants, cafes and bars surrounding the hotel, and it’s great you enjoyed the quality and standard of our accommodation. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge Hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,543
    1,683
    571
    134
    70
See reviews for
834
1,341
469
694
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bundanoon, Nsw, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Their special deals are worth searching for. I had a premium room with breakfast wifi and a balcpny for $145.

The room is a reasonable size though lacks a bit of atmosphere, but at that price it certainly fits the bill. The bed is comfortable and the pillows are fluffy.

The restaurant has excellent Italian meals at resonable prices.

It is a short 15 minutes to the Town Hall area and there are plenty of buses to the City, Central Station and Bondi. So very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ThomasAndrewB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi Thomas,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Cambridge Hotel along with our high-value special deals. I’m glad you enjoyed the sizing of our accommodation along with our central location. It’s great you also took the time to try our in-house restaurant, Baccomatto Osteria; their modern take on rustic, Italian dining has been quite well received since opening in late 2012.The team appreciate your high rating of their service, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Location and cleanliness very good and service in the main was very friendly and helpful. On site parking very small and a strange layout. I hired a rental car but next time I would just use public transport or taxi as the hotel location is excellent if just visiting the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Frank,

I appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts on the Cambridge Hotel. I’m glad you enjoyed the standard of our accommodation, service and cleanliness along with our central location. I agree our parking can be quite tight; we make this as clear as possible in our terms and conditions; however I apologise of for any inconvenience caused.

Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a great hotel to stay in if you are attending anything at Moore Park, Surry Hills. Friendly staff. Clean Rooms. Just a word of warning with the parking - the car park is underground with many sharp gradients - a bit tricky for low cars.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katrina-Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Kate,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Cambridge Hotel. It’s great you find our location perfect for accessing the various areas of Sydney and I’m glad you enjoyed the service you received during your stay. I agree our parking can be quite tight and we make this as clear as possible in our terms and conditions. Thank you again for your comments; we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Service was excellent. Stayed in the Deluxe King Room, which was very clean and comfortable. Great views of the city, and only a quick walk to great restaurants & bars. Only negative is the carpark, which is ridiculously small and hard to navigate. Don't know what would happen if 2 cars met going opposite ways as there is basically no room anywhere. There was less than 1inch clearance either side of my car (with side mirrors folded in). Had to climb from the driver's seat into the back to get out, as i couldnt open the driver side door. Couldn't fully open my tailgate either as there was a large aircon vent at the back of the car space. When leaving the car park, i completely scraped the bottom of my car on the driveway which is raised, and then bottomed out onto the road. Apart from the carpark, everything else was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank benjaminwallace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Benjamin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. The Cambridge Hotel takes all feedback received quite seriously, and it’s unfortunate our car-parking facilities hindered your experience. I agree our parking can be quite tight and we make this as clear as possible in our terms and conditions. We also specify that both the entry and exit points can provide difficulty for lower cars. I am glad however that this didn’t affect your overall stay; our team appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowen Hills
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Check-in staff ordinary, check-out staff very pleasant. Room very clean, bathroom good size, amenities good, room terrible, even with a window it was like being in a cave, glass frosted, and open window looks onto a brick wall!! Avoid room 301.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hi Stephen,

Thank you for sharing your feedback and for providing the opportunity to improve the quality of the Cambridge Hotel. We strive to provide excellence in guest satisfaction and it is unfortunate your stay was less than ideal. Based on their sizing and pricing, our rooms can be categorised in a variety of room types. The room in question is from our lead-in ‘Standard’ Category, which offers quality accommodation with great value for money. Our hotel caters for a variety of clients and both our Premium and Deluxe Rooms offer a more spacious, light-filled room with opening balconies.

I’m glad that other aspects of your stay were more satisfactory. Both our Housekeeping and Front Desk departments appreciate your kind comments and it’s great you found our location central and accessible. I sincerely hope to welcome you back to the hotel and improve our reputation. Please contact me directly on steven@cambridgehotel.com.au should you require Sydney accommodation.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinchinbrook
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Service and cleanliness of room was excellent! Only disappointing thing was the carpark, very small and dangerous if you weren't careful so next time we will definitely be parking somewhere else. Overall I highly recommend Cambridge Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Catherina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Catherina,

It’s great you enjoyed you stay at the Cambridge Hotel and found both our Housekeeping and Front Desk departments worthy of praise. I agree our parking can be quite tight; we make it clear in our terms and conditions that parking can be difficult for larger vehicles; however I apologise for any inconvenience caused.

I’m glad that overall your stay was pleasant and you would recommend us to your friends and family. Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#34 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#43 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Surry Hills
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Property: Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool and spa. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking will never be an issue at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking available for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelbag, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing