We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #37 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton
1 review
“great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great location, great rooms, has become my new place to stay when in sydney, front desk was friendly especially for aussie standards of service which I usually find very low, all round great place would highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Todd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi Todd,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Cambridge Hotel. I’m glad you enjoyed the various aspects of your stay; from our location to high room standards, along with the friendliness of our Front Desk. It’s great our hotel has become your preferred accommodation and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,469
    1,621
    554
    132
    68
See reviews for
797
1,290
455
662
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brookside Centre
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend. Great location, We walked almost everywhere or used the nearby Museum train stop. We had purchased the groupon voucher for the weekend which was great value. Lovely staff. We had a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eimear C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi Eimear,

Thank you for your thoughts on the Cambridge Hotel. It’s great you found high value in our accommodation and took advantage of our accessible Surry Hills location. Our team appreciates your kind comments and we look forward to having your stay in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

A long week-end stay in Sydney at the Cambridge Hotel had everything. Location, hospitality, service and facilities.

In Sydney for a Rugby long week-end was perfect with the location of the Hotel in easy walking distance of the Sydney Football Stadium being situated between the City the Stadium and Central Station. With nearby shopping strip of Oxford Street and the varying range of restaurants the location four us was perfect.

The helpfulness of the staff even before we arrived could not be faulted. All were very helpful and pleasant during our stay. The room was large with the extra sitting area appreciated during a 3 night stay. The only fault being an active extraction fan in the bathroom.

The hotel staff were well supported by an even more friendly staff in the attached restaurant which was visited each evening either for a meal or just desert and coffee.

Overall, we were extremely pleased with our selection of the hotel and will stay again and have no hesitation in recommending it to friends and relatives travelling to Sydney.

Mel & Marg

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel281255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hi Mel and Marg,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Your comments are extremely motivating and will help us achieve the standard of hospitality we strive to provide. I have passed your words forward to our Restaurant Manager, whose team also appreciate your kind thoughts. Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springwood, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great location and value - walking distance to great bars, cafés and restaurants and Oxford st nightlife.
Very handy having parking on site. Will definitely stay at The Cambridge again on my next city getaway

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brendan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi Brendan,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your thoughts. It’s great you enjoyed the value and location of our accommodation, along with the facilities available to guests. Our team appreciates your 5/5 rating and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We would highly recommend the Cambridge Hotel. The location was fantastic, within easy walking distance to several great Restaurants, bars & cafes, also close to Sydney CBD. The room was well equipped.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kylie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi Kylie,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Cambridge Hotel. I’m glad you took the time to explore the various restaurants, cafes and bars surrounding the hotel, and it’s great you enjoyed the quality and standard of our accommodation. Our team looks forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge Hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundanoon, Nsw, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Their special deals are worth searching for. I had a premium room with breakfast wifi and a balcpny for $145.

The room is a reasonable size though lacks a bit of atmosphere, but at that price it certainly fits the bill. The bed is comfortable and the pillows are fluffy.

The restaurant has excellent Italian meals at resonable prices.

It is a short 15 minutes to the Town Hall area and there are plenty of buses to the City, Central Station and Bondi. So very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ThomasAndrewB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi Thomas,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the Cambridge Hotel along with our high-value special deals. I’m glad you enjoyed the sizing of our accommodation along with our central location. It’s great you also took the time to try our in-house restaurant, Baccomatto Osteria; their modern take on rustic, Italian dining has been quite well received since opening in late 2012.The team appreciate your high rating of their service, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Location and cleanliness very good and service in the main was very friendly and helpful. On site parking very small and a strange layout. I hired a rental car but next time I would just use public transport or taxi as the hotel location is excellent if just visiting the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Frank,

I appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts on the Cambridge Hotel. I’m glad you enjoyed the standard of our accommodation, service and cleanliness along with our central location. I agree our parking can be quite tight; we make this as clear as possible in our terms and conditions; however I apologise of for any inconvenience caused.

Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#41 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Surry Hills
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Property: Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool and spa. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking will never be an issue at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking available for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelbag and Southall Travel so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing