We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderfully helpful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #37 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfully helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

A lovely place to stay, the beds were super comfy and the staff couldn't do enough to help us.
An easy walking distance to most Sydney events but you'll probably be walking up some hills.
A lovely Italian restaurant was open late for coffee - this is were you'd have breakfast through the motel.
We'd happily stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catriona70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi Catriona70,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. The Cambridge team pride ourselves on the high standard of service we provide throughout the hotel, and it is great that you experienced this during your stay. It is brilliant to know that the location of our hotel suits your needs and you took great advantage of our in-house restaurant Baccomatto Osteria. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,469
    1,622
    554
    132
    68
See reviews for
797
1,290
455
663
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Murray Outback
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel was close by a lovely Irish pub and a great shopping centre. The bed was comfortable and high quality. A very nice clean and quiet room. Some of the front desk staff could do with some customer service training as 1 in particular appeared not that interested in attending to customers. The young man attending to people's luggage was very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gayle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hi Gayle H,

Thank you for your feedback. Further to your conversation with Senior Management, you are aware that we strive to provide a high standard of service and guest satisfaction here at the Cambridge. Again I would like to apologise that you didn’t experience this. Your feedback is vital in ensuring the continual improvement and development of our accommodation and service. It is great to hear that the location suited your needs and we look forward to welcoming you back for a true Cambridge experience.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingen, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel is situated close to the CBD so I could walk to the main shopping area, plus the mitchell library, government house and the opera house. There were numerous choices of restaurants in Crown street, one block from the hotel and many convenience stores as well as a well stocked large grocery shop. My room was small, however the window did open so I could have blasts of fresh air when I needed, clean and comfortable and surprisingly quiet given the position.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank maratana h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Hi Maratana H,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are pleased to know that the location of the accommodation was suitable for your needs, and you made great use of the local area and surrounding eateries. The team at Cambridge look forward to welcoming you back again or a clean and comfortable stay.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epping
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

A really fantastic room, extremely spacious and had everything required for a sufficient stay. Location was also great, nice walk to the CBD and major attractions and close to plenty of nice eateries!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hi Matthew,

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our suitable and easily accessible location, and made good use of the wide selection of local eateries. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel room was clean and close to the city. It was also quiet and perfect for a little weekend break.

The Surry Hills cafes and restaurants were just a short stroll away. I would recommend this hotel due to the price and quality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AdventurerTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hi AdventurerTraveller,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased to see you took advantage of the local area Surry Hills, enjoying the wide selection of eateries on offer. It’s great that you experienced our high standard of cleanliness throughout the hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Hotel is in a good location within an easy walk of the Australian Museum and other sites worth visiting.The Irish Pub across the road has great feeds at value prices. We didn't take advantage of the breakfast buffet but wished we had with children priced at $1 per year of their age.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hi Megan,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to know that the location of the hotel suited your needs, and found the local eateries enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to enjoy the great value breakfast.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prospect
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great room. Had a relaxing time. The carpark was really small. If I had a bigger car I would've struggled. Room service food wasn't the best but the room was fantastic. I would recommend for anyone after a quick get away!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi Benjamin,

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. I agree our car park facilities can be quite tight for larger vehicles and we make this clear across booking agents in the terms and conditions, however it is great to hear you enjoyed the high standard of accommodation we have to offer. The team at Cambridge look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#33 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#41 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Surry Hills
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Property: Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool and spa. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking will never be an issue at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking available for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Agoda, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing