We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price for sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #39 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great accommodation for people on a budget. Quiet and clean.
Our towels and cups weren't replaced in both rooms but we are sure that was an oversight. The lifts were small but reasonably efficient. Rooms could do with a facelift to brighten them up and modernise. Overall good value for money in a hotel close to sydney city when on special, under $120 per night for two during the week including breakfast. I would not pay more to stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Hi Catherine H,

Thank you for your feedback. Your feedback is vital in ensuring the continual improvement and development of our accommodation, and your comments have been taken in consideration. I’m glad you found our accommodation to provide high value for money, and its great you enjoyed the standard of our cleanliness. Again, thank you for your feedback and we sincerely hope we can welcome you back again.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,134 - 3,140 of 4,591 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

A lovely place to stay, the beds were super comfy and the staff couldn't do enough to help us.
An easy walking distance to most Sydney events but you'll probably be walking up some hills.
A lovely Italian restaurant was open late for coffee - this is were you'd have breakfast through the motel.
We'd happily stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catriona70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Hi Catriona70,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. The Cambridge team pride ourselves on the high standard of service we provide throughout the hotel, and it is great that you experienced this during your stay. It is brilliant to know that the location of our hotel suits your needs and you took great advantage of our in-house restaurant Baccomatto Osteria. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel was close by a lovely Irish pub and a great shopping centre. The bed was comfortable and high quality. A very nice clean and quiet room. Some of the front desk staff could do with some customer service training as 1 in particular appeared not that interested in attending to customers. The young man attending to people's luggage was very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gayle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hi Gayle H,

Thank you for your feedback. Further to your conversation with Senior Management, you are aware that we strive to provide a high standard of service and guest satisfaction here at the Cambridge. Again I would like to apologise that you didn’t experience this. Your feedback is vital in ensuring the continual improvement and development of our accommodation and service. It is great to hear that the location suited your needs and we look forward to welcoming you back for a true Cambridge experience.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The hotel is situated close to the CBD so I could walk to the main shopping area, plus the mitchell library, government house and the opera house. There were numerous choices of restaurants in Crown street, one block from the hotel and many convenience stores as well as a well stocked large grocery shop. My room was small, however the window did open so I could have blasts of fresh air when I needed, clean and comfortable and surprisingly quiet given the position.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank maratana h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi Maratana H,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are pleased to know that the location of the accommodation was suitable for your needs, and you made great use of the local area and surrounding eateries. The team at Cambridge look forward to welcoming you back again or a clean and comfortable stay.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

A really fantastic room, extremely spacious and had everything required for a sufficient stay. Location was also great, nice walk to the CBD and major attractions and close to plenty of nice eateries!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hi Matthew,

Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our suitable and easily accessible location, and made good use of the wide selection of local eateries. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel room was clean and close to the city. It was also quiet and perfect for a little weekend break.

The Surry Hills cafes and restaurants were just a short stroll away. I would recommend this hotel due to the price and quality.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AdventurerTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hi AdventurerTraveller,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are pleased to see you took advantage of the local area Surry Hills, enjoying the wide selection of eateries on offer. It’s great that you experienced our high standard of cleanliness throughout the hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Hotel is in a good location within an easy walk of the Australian Museum and other sites worth visiting.The Irish Pub across the road has great feeds at value prices. We didn't take advantage of the breakfast buffet but wished we had with children priced at $1 per year of their age.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hi Megan,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to know that the location of the hotel suited your needs, and found the local eateries enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to enjoy the great value breakfast.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#48 of 186 in Sydney
909 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#108 of 186 in Sydney
5,557 reviews
Central Business District
Veriu Central
Veriu Central
#102 of 186 in Sydney
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Meriton Suites Zetland
#13 of 186 in Sydney
3,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#40 Business Hotel in Sydney
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £96 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service along with a rustic Italian restaurant. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking is available at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing