We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am paying $149 - next door is $300”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #37 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“I am paying $149 - next door is $300”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is a great location. The hotel is mid-class but for $149 in this location let's be realistic.

I am on 14th floor in ""Deluxe Room".

Maybe lesser quality through the hotel but my room is large enough and comfortable.

Great location for food options and bars.

Fantastic food within 100 metres (Try the meatballs at wine bar 2-3 doors away- Unbelievable $10 lunch deal)

Cannot go wrong unless you expect 5 stars for this price, which you will not get anywhere.

Room Tip: Choose highest quality room you can afford. I chose deluxe and got 14th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hi Dave C,
Thank you for sharing your experience. It’s great that you found the accommodation was great value and you enjoyed the spacious room and the wide selection of eateries in the area; thank you for sharing, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,498
    1,659
    564
    134
    68
See reviews for
819
1,309
466
678
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Griffith, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Great value for the money.Rooms are perfect for singles and couples.walking distance to CBD and very closer to entartainment venues.Very peaaceful at night which allow you to have good night sleep and thats what people really need when visiting Sydney.If I come back to visit Sydney I will be booking in Cambridge Hotel again and again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirsad53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hi Mirsad53,
Thank you for sharing your recent Cambridge Hotel experience. It’s fantastic to hear that you had good quality sleep throughout your stay and enjoyed the easy accessible location. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to enjoy the Cambridge great value accommodation. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

walking distance of tourist attractions and train is nearby too. supermarket is also walking distance which was useful as you would need to pay for the mini bar selections. stayed on the thirteen floor, average views but beautiful sun rise in the mornings. single glazing panels with mould, heating that does not seem to work so I was rather cold during the night, limescale in bathroom. good flushing system and good ventilation though. comfortable beds but rather thin walls so you could hear every conversation spoken. you gotta pay for wifi, very very inconvenient for this modern day and age but nonetheless I still paid for it. Every 8am you'd be greeted with the construction/renovation noise but it didn't bother me as I was awake from jet lag but could imagine it annoying other fellow visitors. good news is that this hotel is improving and I was glad to discover new double glazing windows were being replaced as told by the builders on the thirteen floor.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank yourpandax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hi Yourpandax,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share your thought. We value guest feedback and strive to provide the best quality accommodation, we have almost completed replacing all windows and balcony doors with double-glazing glasses to alleviate external noise, I do apologize for any inconvenience caused. We also offer guests free WIFI service when booked directly through the hotel website.
It’s great to know that you enjoyed our convenient location and the beautiful sun rise room, thank you for sharing your thought, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here as part of our tour of the east coast of Australia for our honeymoon. I'd made a note of the occasion on our booking and was pleasantly surprised on our arrival to have been upgraded to a top floor balcony room with fantastic views. Having arrived at 7am after 24 hours travelling from the UK we were also provided with shower facilities and an early check in from around 10am, which was fantastic.
We even got a complimentary bottle of red wine as it was our honeymoon - amazing!
The hotel is very well located - just a 5 minute walk to oxford street bus stops and with a good mix of great cafes and eateries nearby.
Rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels provided and some excellent toiletries. Tea and coffee facilities provided also.
The only downside to our stay was having to change room as there was some work going on to the 13th floor windows which would have disturbed our sleep. Our second room was smaller and down on 6th floor, however still had a balcony and this time a view of the opera house!
Rooms are a little small but perfectly fine for a couple. Also worth noting the hotel can have some interesting guests on a weekend! Overall a great hotel in a great location. Clean, comfortable and good value for money. Went the extra mile for our special stay in this amazing Sydney.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bristolcamber85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Hi Bristolcamber85,
Thank you for sharing and congratulations on your recent nuptials. It’s pleasing to hear that our service exceeded your expectations. We are delighted to know that we were able to contribute in part to your significant holiday and are glad that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at Cambridge Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again in the near future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Griffin
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Lovely, friendly staff. Clean rooms, reasonable breakfast. The location is good in terms of being fairly close (10 min walk) to the CBD. Great coffee shops nearby and places to eat. The nearest train station is about 10 mins walk too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi Kate P,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted that our friendly staff lived up to your expectations, and you enjoyed the hotel’s central & easy access location. Thank you for the sharing, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great place to stay with modern edge to the hotel. Loved the bathroom and products. Only drawback was the open plan room was not as anticipated for a family. Great for business, singles or couples however.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi Jenny k,
Thank you for your thought on your recent stay. Cambridge Hotel offers a variety of room types to meet different guests ‘needs; it is great to know that you loved the bathroom and the amenities and our modern décor. Thank you for sharing your thought; we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warilla
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

From start to finish a very enjoyable experience. We had our 10th wedding anniversary here and will be returning again next year. Thank you to all staff for an unforgettable weekend. Just Perfect and incredibly reviewable,,,


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevenGargano, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi Greg S,
Thank you for your sharing and congratulations on your 10th wedding anniversary. We are delighted to know that we were able to contribute in part to the important occasion of your life and are glad that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#34 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#41 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Surry Hills
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#77 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Property: Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool and spa. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking will never be an issue at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking available for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Travelbag, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing