We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel at perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vibe Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Ranked #69 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
321 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Nice hotel at perfect location”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We enjoyed two rooms with connecting door (was not problem to get that) in that hotel and got additional service due to missing luggage in the first day.
Perfect to walk to all major (touristic) sites by foot.
We like the roof pool as well (although winter time).
Only drawback: no free wifi (but we learnt, that this is usual in Australia).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haktus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasparSchmidt, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear Haktus,

Thank you for your feedback regarding Vibe Hotel Sydney.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to help you with your luggage. The hotel is very central to most things in Sydney and we love our location.
WIFI is as you wrote more expensive in Australia than in Europe, but we do offer all our guests to use the internet kiosks located in the lobby instead as a convenience.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    694
    1,272
    593
    198
    88
See reviews for
503
962
258
598
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here last weekend for a party weekend, it was so close to everything. Museum station is just one block away so easy to get from the airport, quick and cheap. The rooms are a very good size with lots of mirrors for us girls, I also like to compliment the security of the property, we felt very safe getting in and out late a night. The best thing about this property is the location it's walking distance to all the pubs, clubs, restaurants and shops. Everything at our door step.
I have no hesitation recommending this property, next time I'm in town I will defiantly stay here again.

Room Tip: Our twin room was spacious enough it had a 4 seater couch and coffee table, so we felt comfortable t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneLisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasparSchmidt, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Dear MelbourneLisha,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding Vibe Hotel Sydney.
We are very pleased to hear that you and the girls enjoyed your stay.
We hope to see you very soon again.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I stayed on business for two nights and on my last morning I had no hot water. When I checked out, the reception staff didn't show any interest in my feedback and were more concerned about what I had used from the mini bar. I do understand that sometimes there are problems, but by not acknowledging it, or even asking me questions about the fault, left me feeling very disappointed with the overall stay. I pity the person who stays next in my room. I certainly won't be back. By far, my worst hotel stay in 2012.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baldtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasparSchmidt, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Dear PeterEmerald,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Vibe Hotel Sydney.
I am very sorry to hear that you did not think our team members cared about you and the issue you had experienced while staying with us.
The hot water issue was actually unscheduled and unannounced work on the main water pipe outside on Elisabeth Street by the council and we tried frantically to work out what the issue was to inform all our guests.
I am really sorry you did not feel we cared but we absolutely did.
I would love to offer you a complimentary upgrade next time you come to stay with us if you feel you want to give us another chance.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Enjoyed our stay at the Vibe- great location, walk to Crown St in Surrey Hills, my fav for food.
Friendly staff and even had a swim in the pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasparSchmidt, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 22 July 2012
Dear Deborah W,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding Vibe Hotel Sydney.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you loved the location of our hotel.
We hope to see you very soon again.

Kind regards

Caspar P. Schmidt
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North coast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I was a guest on business for 3 nights and then paid myself for another 4 nights and was very disappointed in this hotel and the service offered by the reception and housekeeping. Two nights I had no hot water for a shower, in the middle of winter and reception couldn't tell me why or offer me another room let alone an upgrade. I was told on my first night when I spoke with reception that I hadn't let it run long enough! The response after the second night without hot water was " we'll have a think and get back to you", still waiting.
I contacted reception upon my arrival back home about a trench coat I dropped in the elevator or foyer and I am still waiting for a call back a week later in spite of leaving multiple contact numbers.
The beds were hard and the pillows were hard also. Won't be staying here again

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller4Northcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasparSchmidt, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Traveller4Northcoast,
Firstly thank you for your feedback, we appreciate all feedback and we try to learn from our guests experiences all the time.
May I start by apologizing about the lack of hot water. The council had "forgotten “to inform the hotel about working on the water mains on Elisabeth Street for 2 days and we were left without hot water for periods in that time. We very sorry for this and we will be offering you another complimentary stay with us should you wish to give us another chance.
The reception should have been more helpful but, we were in fact investigating this issue internally and it was not until we walked around the block we found out about the actual situation. I apologise for the lack of responsiveness as the team should have returned to you with an answer.
Your coat was never found in the hotel and my Duty Manager has left you messages regarding this so we have actually gotten back to you in this regard. We are sorry you lost your coat but we are not responsible for items that are not found within the hotel premises.
The bed and pillows in your room are brand new, our beds are a standard medium in hardness and we don't normally get complaints about them but I will inspect the room today to check it for myself.
I am sorry you did not have a good time while you stayed with us, but I hope you will give us another try in the future.
We would be delighted if you would give us another try.

Kind regards
Caspar P. Schmidt
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

I attended a conference hosted in the hotel. We booked a room with queen size bed through a travel agent, also stating we would be arriving around noon. Upon arrival we were told to come back in two hours as our room was not ready. After two hours we returned and was given our room, which had two single beds, one cup and one teabag. When we asked to be moved to a room with a queen sized bed, we were told there was no rooms available and that we could just move the two beds next to each other instead. We were told to come back the next morning to get another room. When we got there the next morning, we were told to come back after 2pm as we would be allocated another room 'for sure', but when we got there we were told again that there were no rooms available and that we could come back the next morning to get a new room. The next morning we were told to come back after 2pm so we could get our new room. That afternoon we were finally given a new room. When we finally got to the new room and just settled in, someone showed up to come and check the minibars as nobody had done it before we moved in! We were assured that we would not be charged for what was used before we moved in, I will be checking this to see whether we are charged. Also, in the time we stayed in the dodgy first room, the tea or milk was never topped up. The bathroom was not cleaned properly, and we had a view of the backs of buildings all around as we were stuck on the second floor. We had to go and get new room cards at some stage as the cards would not work as we supposedly had it next to a mobile phone in our pocket. I would not recommed this hotel to anybody. It is a good location but the service is very bad. Don't trust the ads, I will not stay there again if I can help it. I also read that someone had problems getting the $100 back which was kept from their credit card, despite the room being prepaid. Our room was also prepaid, so I will be checking to see whether anything was kept back from my credit card. Breakfast had an average spread. Location was good but don't get stuck on the lower floors, all you will see is the backs of buildings.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up will have better views. Specify your arrival time if coming before 2pm, as you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasparSchmidt, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear Maryna B,

Thank you for your feedback regarding Vibe Hotel Sydney.
I am very sorry that you had such an unpleasant experience while staying with us.
When booking through a travel agent you should always confirm that your bedding configuration has been confirmed by the hotel. In your case a request was made, but as it is only a request then we do not guarantee this as others have specifically booked the rooms with the bedding configuration guaranteed. The best way of making sure you room has the desired bedding configuration is to book directly with the hotel. I also have to add that you need to speak to your travel agent as they are misleading you when you are told we will have a room ready for you at noon. We don’t guarantee any rooms are ready for check in before 2.00PM. This information is all over our website and your travel agent is clearly not knowing what they are doing giving you false information.
I have to apologise for the team not giving you the correct information about when to come to the front desk to change rooms. As the hotel was fully booked we obviously needed to get you a cleaned room and that takes time. Our first suggestion was to come to your room and move the beds together on the first night, we offered you this as the hotel was fully booked, but you declined that offer. Our second offer was to room move you the following day which we did at 2.00PM. The rooms are cleaned daily by our housekeeping team and they also restock tea, coffee and milk and they change the towels if they are visibly dirty or left in the bathtub by our guests as part of a "green clean" Our Minibar attendant went to your room as soon as she was informed that you had been room moved and we are sorry that this did not happen before you had settled in there. You have not been charged for any minibar; also the $100.00 we blocked for incidentals on your credit card was released upon check out.
In regards to your view from your room then you must speak to your travel agent as we are inner city hotel. We don't offer any particular views as we are surrounded by other buildings in the middle of the city. We are sorry you had a room that did not have the best view but we don’t and will never guarantee any view when you stay with us. We simply cannot do that.
Room keys do have a tendency to demagnetize if kept close to credit cards or mobile phones and we are sorry you had issues with your cards when you stayed with us. Overall I think we tried to help you were we could, and that you hold us responsible for things that you travel agent have misinformed you about before arriving. We want our guests to be happy when they stay with us and we do what we can to sort out problems as they occur. I think we need to be given a fair go as well to deliver the services that are required.
I am really sorry that you left us with such a bad impression as I want all our guests to enjoy their time with us while staying. I would like to offer you a free upgrade next time you come to stay as I am sure you will love our service when you visit a second time. Please contact me directly so I can personally make sure you will be looked after then.

Kind regards
Caspar P. Schmidt
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I stayed for 5 nights in june and for 1 night again in july. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. We came very early in the morning, tired after a long flight, and the receptionist did, what she could to get us a room as soon as possible, so we vere allowed to check in at 10 o'clok. In the mean time, she offered us, that we could get a shower at the sauna/pool area. Very fine service.
The hotel is nice and clean.
Good location as well, about 20 min. walk to the operahouse and about 10 min walk from Central Station.
I would stay there again, if I am so lucky to come back to Sydney again

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danish14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasparSchmidt, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Dear danish14,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback regarding Vibe Hotel Sydney.
We always try our best to get our guests into their rooms as they arrive to the hotel.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the service to be great.
I will let the houskeeping team know that you thought the rooms we nice and clean.
Wehn you return to Sydney then we would be delighted to have you as our guest again.

God sommer og paa forhaabentligt snarligt gensyn.

Mvh/Kind regards

Caspar. P. Schmidt
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#97 of 174 in Sydney
4,582 reviews
Darlinghurst
Vibe Hotel Rushcutters Bay Sydney
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#76 of 174 in Sydney
2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel Sydney

Property: Vibe Hotel Sydney
Address: 111 Goulburn St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibe Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Toga Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vibe Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Vibe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing