We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price and convenient”
Review of Vibe Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Ranked #76 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Had to travel to Sydney recently and needed accommodation that was convenient for Paddington and not too far to walk from Central Railway Station. The Vibe was convenient in every respect - 10 mins with luggage from Central, 10 mins walk from Paddington and a leisurely 5/6 mins stroll into Pitt Street Mall. Having travelled the world I find that the prices for our hotels are not excessive and for what you get there are no complaints. A large room with fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and even shower and bathroom accessories. So if like me you want something clean, comfortable and convenient I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Also if you are an older female travelling alone and wish to dine at night without going far there is a restaurant attached to the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get at least on the 5th floor as at weekend there can be a bit of noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAULIE36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to review Vibe Sydney. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you when you are next in Sydney.

With thanks
Joanne Jenkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,395 - 2,401 of 3,252 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

We liked that the hotel was conveniently located near George St. but not in the heart of Circle Quay/The Rocks. That is really the only positive thing though. The hotel itself was average - the room was clean enough, the food/prices of the cafe were OK, the fitness facility and pool were tiny (pictures must have been taken with a wide angle lens) but did the trick. The service, however, was disappointing and because of it I would not stay here again. The front desk staff were not at all friendly or helpful. We approached them multiple times for recommendations, questions about the property, to arrange airport transportation, etc. and were never greeted with smiles or hospitality. Additionally, their wifi policies were frustrating. They offer 30 min. free every 24 hours if you access it in the lobby but it is limited to 1 device per room. Purchased wifi in the room expensive and also limited to 2 devices per room. In this day and age I can't believe any hotels still charge for internet to begin with but to limit the # of devices was annoying since there were 2 of us both with tablets and phones that we wanted to connect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Attauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest

I am very sorry you don't seem to have enjoyed your stay. Please contact me if you wish to discuss further.

We appreciate your feedback.

With thanks
Jo Jenkins - jjenkins@toga.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel during our honeymoon trip to Australia and it was the worst experience during the whole trip. The staff at the reception was very rude and it seemed as if they didn't care about comforting the guests who may have reached there after a long journey. We reached just 1 hour before the check-in time after almost 20 hours (including waiting times, stopovers and flight timings) of journey from India and they refused to give us a room early. When they gave us the room, their credit card machine was not working which again took so much time to give them the security deposit which they do not take as cash even when their machine is not working.

The room was small and there was no noise isolation. We could hear the traffic on the street outside, The worst part of the room was that we could hear the door of the room next door whenever it was opened or closed with a bang. We could even hear people in the corridor outside. I still regret the 3 nights that we stayed in this hotel. The room service was terrible. There was no service of even bringing luggage to the room.

There was no place of interest nearby, there are much better options of hotels at the same price or even lesser at much better locations in Sydney.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VedantAgrawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest

I am very sorry you don't seem to have enjoyed your stay. Please contact me if you wish to discuss further.

We appreciate your feedback.

With thanks
Jo Jenkins - jjenkins@toga.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Spent a couple of nights in Sydney travelling from Brisbane and found the Vibe to be very conveniently located. Close to Museum station and not too far from most things either walking or via train. the Hotel is clean the staff very friendly and helpful. All in all a pleasant stay

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to review Vibe Sydney. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you when you are next in Sydney.

With thanks
Joanne Jenkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a full week on business. The place reminds me of a 30 something raver - she's starting to look but ragged around the edges but she's great fun and knows everybody and everything. Chilled house music plays in the lobby which is staffed by happy, pretty young things. The decor is early 2000s purples and acid yellows and starting to show signs of wear and tear. The location is great a block from Museum station and 2 or 3 from Central. A short walk to World Square, a bit further to Town Hall but still easy. My room was huge and had everything I needed. The noise was OK - it is Central Sydney after all. The staff were helpful and super friendly. All for $140 per night. Unbeatable value and a change from the soul-less, staid places I usually stay at

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artvanderlay00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to review Vibe Sydney. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you when you are next in Sydney.

With thanks
Joanne Jenkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Hotel rooms were great - beds are very comfy and there is a TV and minibar (minibar is very cheap and convenient)

My remote control for the TV didn't work, but it didn't really bother me

The location is great - walking distance to most things and right near the train stations/bus stations if needed

The cafe on site is great for breakfast - we ate at other places, but always came back because it was the best in the area - but don't do the buffet - order off the cafe menu.

The front desk staff are completely useless... do your research before on where to go to dinner or how to get places - they couldn't even remember to do our wake-up call one morning.

The style of the hotel is very modern and clean - the pool is small but very nice - gym looks nice too

Room Tip: Try to get a room higher up - not much of a view elsewise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to review Vibe Sydney. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you when you are next in Sydney.

With thanks
Joanne Jenkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

If you book a certain package, the details of the inclusions in that package should be noted in your reservation without the customer having to remind you what should be written there and then be eyed at suspiciously (eg breakfast inclusions, late checkout etc). Its all there in the reservation confirmation email I was sent so how hard is it? And if you offer late checkout you should inform the customer when issuing a parking voucher that there will be a further charge of $10 on the parking and sort this out at the reception desk, not when the customer finds out at the carpark boomgate that the parking will be more than what was quoted and more than the value of the validated ticket. Our room cards were also deactivated at 10am despite confirming the late checkout both at check in and confirming after breakfast and still there was no note of it on our booking so I had to have a third conversation about it. Very frustrating!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pfitzlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear pfitzlady

Many thanks for taking the time to review Vibe Sydney. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you when you are next in Sydney.

With thanks
Joanne Jenkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 179 in Sydney
2,524 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 179 in Sydney
4,402 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#105 of 179 in Sydney
5,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hyde Park Inn
Hyde Park Inn
#54 of 179 in Sydney
1,057 reviews
Mercure Sydney
#64 of 179 in Sydney
4,960 reviews
Surry Hills
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel Sydney

Address: 111 Goulburn St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £81 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibe Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Vibe Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Vibe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing