We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely poor customer service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vibe Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Ranked #69 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Extremely poor customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed here for a hen’s night recently and had 3 rooms booked. I called up that morning and requested for 1 particular room to be ready before the other two so we could check in early, was told over the phone that would be fine. When I arrived only 15 minutes before normal check in time that room was the only one not ready and the front desk staff were extremely rude and unhelpful about it. We had a lot of luggage and were told we had to load the trolley up ourselves and then had to wheel it to our room ourselves. When we asked if someone could come and collect it we were told no - we had to bring it back down ourselves. When other guests started to arrive for the other rooms we booked they all commented on how rude the staff were to them, long waits and then they served other people in front of them even if they were first. Very rude and unhelpful staff, would not recommend

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest

I am very sorry you don't seem to have enjoyed your stay. Please contact me if you wish to discuss further.

We appreciate your feedback.

With thanks
Jo Jenkins - jjenkins@toga.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    1,251
    580
    196
    88
See reviews for
498
943
255
588
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

staying at this hotel ruined our vacation... the hotel managers are no where to be seen and front desk is operated by a group of what looks like school girls...no one is in charge and no responsibility is taken by anyone.
As an organisation they have poor front desk skills, poor responce to requests for towels, extra blankets etc. Bar closes early and breakfast lacks inspiration.
strongly recommend not to stay at this hotel as it is a disappointment from check in to check out

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daisybuckl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest

I am very sorry you don't seem to have enjoyed your stay. Please contact me if you wish to discuss further.

We appreciate your feedback.

With thanks
Jo Jenkins - jjenkins@toga.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

20 minute walk to China Town and Darling Harbour with 100's of restaurants
Very comfortable hotel with kettle and coffee
Would recommend hotel
Our room overlooked the main road but had secondary glazing so room was surprisingly quiet

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Mel R

Many thanks for taking the time to review Vibe Sydney. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you when you are next in Sydney.

With thanks
Joanne Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. Was great and had everything which I needed while here. Service was great and location was good with a supermarket just down the road.
However as a family I would not stay here as the room was small and did not have cooking facilities.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarlaJ178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear KarlaJ178

Many thanks for taking the time to review Vibe Sydney. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you when you are next in Sydney.

With thanks
Joanne Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

It was a nice surprise staying at the Vibe Hotel. It looks pretty average but don't be fooled by appearances. We got a room with stunning views of the bay, the room was massive, very conformable bed and pillows. There's also a car parking in the building, and that was very handy for us. The location is just incredible and we went for a walk around the best parts of Kirribilli. Also, the breakfast was pretty good, buffet style, good food, no fuss.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank singpon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear singpon

Many thanks for taking the time to review Vibe Sydney. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you when you are next in Sydney.

With thanks
Joanne Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst
Level Contributor
149 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Great location, a large room, comfortable bed, quick service when maintenance was called for a 'squeaky' door and the front staff were efficient.
Our only minor complaint is the lack of water pressure in the shower, it is quite low and a mat in the bath for the shower could save an accident (Quite slippery.)
The a/c unit will need an upgrade "soon" but it is OK.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear David R

Many thanks for taking the time to review Vibe Sydney. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you when you are next in Sydney.

With thanks
Joanne Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

When we first checked in there was a mix up with the booking name (my friend bought me a voucher and the booking was in her name even though she called to tell them to change it). We were given a room on level one - in the next room a noisy hen party was happening. When we entered the room in was dark and dingy (looking onto a brick wall) and the King size bed consisted of 2 single beds pushed together.

When I went to the front counter to complain they swapped rooms for us without any problems - Level 5 - bigger room and a Queen bed (still not King as promised but at least it wasn't 2 singles pushed together).

The location was good for Darling Harbour - bit of a walk to Circular Queys but not too bad. The girl on the front desk told us we could catch a free bus on Elizabeth Street - turns out it stopped running in September and now only runs on George Street!

All in all I would rate it as good for the special price but would have been unhappy if paid full price (and been stuck in the horrible first room).

Room Tip: Street view can be slightly noisy but much better than the brick wall view. Also wouldn't stay a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazbar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikTK88, Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 26 December 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Vibe Hotel Sydney.
We appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards
Nikki Te Kanawa
Duty Manager
Vibe Hotel Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#97 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,496 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#77 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney Central
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel Sydney

Property: Vibe Hotel Sydney
Address: 111 Goulburn St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibe Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia and Southall Travel so you can book your Vibe Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Vibe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing