We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fair comfort and price”
Review of Vibe Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Ranked #76 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Excellent location to explore the city by foot, bus, train, ...
Nice and large family rooms for 4, calm and functional, a small roof top pool to relax after a busy day
A bit pricy (as Sydney is)
Free wifi at reception is only for 30 min per room per 24h, .... then in a range of 20$ per 24h in the room
Did not try the restaurant since coffee and tea were available in room and plenty of bfast, brunch, lunch and diner places to explore in the close neighborhood

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank sebgaume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest

We appreciate your positive review, thank you for taking the time to write it. We hope to see you again when you are in Sydney.

With thanks
Jo Jenkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,304 - 2,310 of 3,190 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

If there was a special category for staff friendliness, this hotel would be a very strong contender. I cannot praise enough every member of the staff who we have come across during our 3 day stay.
I stayed with my husband at the premises just before Christmas, on our way back from the Hunter Valley. Perhaps spoilt by the level of hospitality of a 4 star hotel in the Hunter Valley, on this occasion my expectations fell flat.
Here are the pros, the cons... and Godzilla:
Pros:
1) Position is central and close to all main attractions, just between the City and Surrey Hill.
2) The staff, super friendly and genuinely kind, always happy to assist.
3) Reasonably priced given the location.
4) Rooms are generously sized and can accommodate a 3rd person on the sofa bed
The BIG Cons:
1) The Beds - totally unforgivable... I have seen pics of previous guests and, although we eventually did not have the time or willingness to take a pic of our bed, I can only describe it as the place where Godzilla and Godzuki must have met, romanced and ... slept. On both sides of the bed, but more on one side than the other, there was a big, really big dip... like Godzilla had slept there. On the other side the dip was smaller like Godzuki had slept there.
2) Maintenance issues of all sorts: the room looked tired and shabby, the sink did not work properly and had to be very careful with the water spilling over, the grout of the shower was mouldy. Broken lamps and a shabby carpet. TV not working properly.
3) Cleanliness - just okay.
All in all a cheap and cheerful option if you are on a budget, perhaps with a 3rd guest, and don't want to sacrifice the location. I would not recommend if you are after the basic comforts and a good night sleep of a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrsMinnie_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest

I am really pleased you found the team helpful and friendly. With regards to the beds they are all being replaced in February, the entire hotel.

We appreciate your feedback.

With thanks
Jo Jenkins - jjenkins@toga.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Nowhere near 4 star! Rooms are very dated and furniture, pillows & walls are stained! Absolutely disgusting. There is a big black moth inside the room & bathroom has no exhaust fan or window!

I made a booking for 3 people and only got 2 towels & enough shampoo for 1 person, luckily Coles is just down the road so I was able to buy some there.

To top it off, kids wanted to use the pool, but were turned off...it is so dirty you can't see the bottom. (2 ladies that were right behind us also walked off in disgust).

I am writing from inside the room because I can't sleep. If is the first time I am writing a review "before" checking out! I have paid for 2 nights stay and will cut my losses tomorrow to escape this torture- that should give you an idea of how bad this place is.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gypsy_eyes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest

I am very sorry you don't seem to have enjoyed your stay. Please contact me if you wish to discuss further.

We appreciate your feedback.

With thanks
Jo Jenkins - jjenkins@toga.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

It may not be a luxury 5-star palace, we enjoyed our 3 nights stay over Christmas.
It situated at the corner of Goulburn & Elizabeth, close to Chinatown, CBD & Darling Harbour.
Our room was spacious; came with a comfortable king bed & a double sofa bed so can accommodate 4 ppl.
The bathroom was a bit dated but was large & clean; the glass shower partition was not big enough to stop all the shower water from the bath/shower.
Our room was on the 4th fl so the traffic noise was fairly noticeable, and because of a police station nearby, we were frequently awakened by the police siren.
Invisible concierge - maybe because of the holidays I've never seen the concierge desk manned.
In conclusion I can recommend this hotel because it's reasonably priced no nonsense fine place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pigsyACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest

We appreciate your positive review, thank you for taking the time to write it. We hope to see you again when you are in Sydney.

With thanks
Jo Jenkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

the hotel was amazingly surprising for me...we were 3 friends stayed for 7 nights..the room was spacious..clean..nice
view..close to the

harbour..we used the monorail..amazing hotel..7 wonderful nights..near everything..if i would visit sydney again..definitely i will be staying again here

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest

We appreciate your positive review, thank you for taking the time to write it. We hope to see you again when you are in Sydney.

With thanks
Jo Jenkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Service was really unprepared when we arrived, had no idea what our special package was and what it included. We were also promised a special breakfast but staff weren't aware, so we had their mediocre buffet.
Even though we elected to pay in cash as they had indicated on our check-in form, (credit incurs 1.5% surcharge) they still charged the rate plus $100 bond to our debit card and have not released it in the 2-3 working days they had promised. Upon further investigation, they said it was actually 5-7 working days. Still haven't gotten the money.

Room Tip: There is no spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StingerD1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest

I am very sorry you don't seem to have enjoyed your stay. Please contact me if you wish to discuss further.

We appreciate your feedback.

With thanks
Jo Jenkins - jjenkins@toga.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We were booked in with several other parties for our daughters wedding. We had a lovely stay, there were a few things that could be improved: On checking in we were not told how to operate the lifts using our room cards, other guests advised us, we were also not advised that we could only visit the floor we were staying on, but we had relatives on other floors which we could not get to. On the hole we had good stay, the restaurant was basic and there if really needed, but there is a realy good bistro over the road.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoanneJenkins, General Manager at Vibe Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest

We appreciate your positive review, thank you for taking the time to write it. We hope to see you again when you are in Sydney.

With thanks
Jo Jenkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#103 of 180 in Sydney
5,171 reviews
Darlinghurst
Vibe Hotel Rushcutters Bay Sydney
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 180 in Sydney
2,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Surry Hills
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel Sydney

Address: 111 Goulburn St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £101 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibe Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vibe Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Vibe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing