We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, small rooms”
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #37 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great hotel, small rooms”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel for a conference in Sydney. The proximity to the harbor and shopping were fantastic, monorail access very easy.

The rooms, while clean and modern, were exceptionally small. Sink space in the bathroom barely enough to hold basic supplies and very little closet or drawer space. Made for a long week living out of the suitcase.

The pool is actually part of a public health club which makes getting to it less than ideal.

Overall, it was ok and I gave it a 4 rating due to its cleanliness and modern design - but it would not be my first choice if I were to return.

Room Tip: Upgrade! We had a basic room and it was TINY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bren4770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Thank you for your review and feedback.

I am pleased you were happy with the condition of your guestroom; however for a more spacious vanity area in the bathroom you may prefer the option of our Guest Room Plus.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope will have another opportunity to serve you again in future.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,051
    1,432
    536
    185
    112
See reviews for
407
1,553
422
1,513
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (745)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

I've been very happy with my stay at the Hilton, Sydney. The excellent location in the heart of the CBD provided wonderful convenience to many of the landmarks for business and pleasure.

The service is excellent, particularly in Glass, where the breakfast is one of the best I've had in a hotel. (Hint: if you have a choice, definitely opt for the breakfast at Glass instead of the Executive Floor.)

I stayed in an unrefurbished room on the Executive Floor... this was very clean, modern and comfortable. Heating worked well, with only a little sound. The bed was very comfortable.

The two things I'd improve would be 1) lobby is a bit of a traffic nightmare - busy, noisy and chaotic - and little help in getting a taxi 2) gym is only average despite the literature saying otherwise.

Despite these two flaws, the Hilton Sydney gets a thumbs up from me.


Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank _RoundTheW0rld_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments about Hilton Sydney.

It is wonderful to read that you were pleased with your overall experience with us; and we have taken your feedback on board.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I stayed at the Hilton Sydney for three nights. Upon check-in I was upgraded to a Relaxion Suite. The room more than befits its name. A foyer with powder room and granite floors leads way to an ultra-modern living room with wood floors and designer area rug. Electric blinds are throughout. The room was bright and airy with them up and dark at night. Sliding doors lead to the bedroom, which had stnning views of the harbor bridge and waterways of the city. A fun window panel behind the bed opened to reveal more of the city. The bathroom was breathtaking—more granite and a HUGE whirlpool tub with a picture window overlooking part of the city. A bowl of bath salts begged to be dropped into it. The exeutive lounge is amongst the best I have ever eperienced. Professional staff and terrific food offerings for breakfast and happy hour. They gym is world class, with an indoor pool and tons of new equitment—the staff was incredibly friendly. The lobby of the Hilton Sydney is modern and large. Don’t miss the Marble Bar in the basement, truly one of Sydney’s hidden treasures. I’d stay at this hotel anytime I was in Sydney.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMW757677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Thank you for your review!

Our Relaxation Suites are certainly luxurious and beautiful; and I am so thrilled you enjoyed your stay in this indulgent space.

I am also pleased to read that you had the opportunity to experience a range of our facilities and enjoyed our service throughout.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Stayed for business, friendly staff, good business lounge, very comfortable rooms, great breakfast. Definitely recommend for Sydney city centre hotel. One complaint, very poor blinds so room was too bright come sunrise.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamj_bl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Thank you for your posting on Trip Advisor.

I am so happy to see you were pleased with your overall stay at Hilton Sydney. However I am sorry that you were perhaps unaware of the electronic blinds which, at the flick of a switch located at the bedside, brings the room to utter and complete darkness. I do hope this wonderful feature will be of more benefit to you on your next stay with us and that you can enjoy a sleep-in uninterrupted by the sunrise.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Arrived at the Hilton Sydney hotel pouring down with rain in a taxi, we had to wait until other vehicles moved away from the dropping/pickup area, extremely busy even for a Tuesday afternoon at 3:00pm.
Our luggage was promptly unloaded by the hotel door staff, and checking in was easy. We were pleasantly surprised by a personal welcome from the Hilton HHonors Manager, being a diamond member visiting this hotel for the first time. We were being treated really well and felt valued as a loyal customer.
The luggage was promptly delivered shortly after we arrived in our room on the 39th floor with a bird’s eye view of Sydney city, including the Harbour Bridge and the Westfield Tower immediately in front of us.
We checked into a Relaxation suite on the 39th floor with beautiful designer décor and very luxurious amenities: a shower area with jet shower and a massive jet spa that can fit two large people in with a television above. The water pressure in the shower was excellent which provided a real relaxing feeling. There were also “his and hers” basins. The suite was spacious and comfortable with an over-sized bed. A working desk and a long sofa suite for relaxation.
The in-room internet broadband speed was good with both wired and wifi connections, this service was complimentary for diamond and gold members, but there was a charge for other guests.
There was also the usual executive lounge facility on the 36th floor with free wifi service. The canapé food in this executive lounge was good with a variety of food including dim sum (but quite poor quality) and Sushi. I was surprised that the executive lounge staff stopped me getting a bottle of beer and told me I could not self-served alcohol as the local law prohibited this, and it had to be served by a member of the staff. This is the first time I had encountered this, I had no such problem in other Hilton executive lounge including the one in Adelaide. Perhaps the hotel management need to put up a notice in the lounge to advise the customer of such licencing law and provide better training for the staff in customer service. The service in the longue was relatively poor in comparison with other staff in the hotel.
Breakfast was good in the Glass Brassiere Restaurant on level 2, it had the usual fresh fruit and English “fried-up” along with very limited Chinese type of breakfast (but not very appealing). A busy restaurant with many guests having breakfast, service was average.
Checking out was straight forward and the door staff was again helpful and got us a taxi straight away for the airport. The operation in the hotel lobby was efficient and managed to handle high volume of traveling traffic quite well.
This was a high quality hotel in the middle of the Central Business District conveniently located for all the business offices and tourist attractions.
The executive lounge staff service was disappointing given that Hilton is proud of its reputation in service excellence, but apart from that we enjoyed the stay at the Hilton Sydney hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeds_Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Thank you for sharing your detailed review following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

We are passionate about delivering exceptional experiences to our guests and I am so pleased that you were satisfied with our quality service.

However, I am sorry to learn of your disappointment regarding the service in our Executive Lounge. Due to NSW Liquor laws and our Responsible Service of Alcohol obligations, it is a requirement that only our staff members are to serve alcoholic beverages to our guests. We truly regret any inconvenience caused and please be assured we will be using your feedback as an opportunity to review the signage in the area where the alcohol is served.

Once again, we thank you for your time and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney in the near future.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Well located hotel opposite the Queen Victoria Building which is a old building with multiple levels of boutique stores. Excellent access to trains which connect well to ferries and buses.

The monorail station is just outside the hotel also and the monorail will take you past all the local attractions in the CBD.
We stayed in a king room on the 22nd floor which had just been redecorated and was of a very high standard. I loved the motorised blinds which sealed off light from the outside far better than any curtains. TV in the shower was something of a novelty. Bathroom was of a good standard and roomy.

Like others we also couldn't open the fridge.
Even at the 22nd floor, the views were good, and very happy not to be higher than this. Some harbour view visible through to the Manly area from our room on the north side.

While we did hear some noise from other guests, this was muffled and we were able to sleep very well without disturbance from traffic noise.

We didn't eat at the hotel and tried local eateries - number of breakfast choices in the QVB, and also places to pick up something to eat back in the room.
Would definitely stay again if we got a similar room rate - $166/night.

Stayed June 2012

Room Tip: North facing rooms are supposed to have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Thank you for your review.

It is lovely to read that you enjoyed your experience at Hilton Sydney. I have noted your comments pertaining to the locked refrigerator in your room and sincerely regret any inconvenience this caused you – We have been working with great urgency to resolve the issue.

However, I am pleased to see you enjoyed all other aspects and features of your guestroom.

Thank you again for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed in the Relaxation suite and it was not as 'new looking' as we expected. I was still nice though. We ordered room service and it was good but nothing extraordinary like their restaurant Glass. View from the spa over the QVB was lovely through the large glass window! Beds were comfy. Our fridge would not open and they sent someone up in the middle of the night to look at it, they were then going to send an engineer to fix it. I just wanted to sleep and insisted they just send some water up in a jug! You think for a five star hotel in Sydney they would have offered instead of sending an engineer up! The shower had too many options. Other than that a very comfy bed! One of the best I have slept in.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLadyBeetle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelBourne01, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I am so glad you enjoyed your birthday stay in the Relaxation Suite, and that you had the opportunity to dine is Glass Brasserie as well.

It is unfortunate, however, to see that you experienced complications with your minibar fridge and the manner in which it was handled - Please rest assured I will be looking into the matter.
If you are able to contact us with further details about your stay (including your reservation date and room number) we would greatly appreciate this, in order to assist our investigations and avoid any such recurrence in future.

Thank you again for your time and I hope we will have another opportunity to serve you again at Hilton Sydney in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#14 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#32 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Property: Hilton Sydney
Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelbag, TravelUp, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing