We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #36 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Great service and suites are spacious however, Executive rooms are pretty small - fine for 1-2 night stay but a bit too small for a lengthy stay. Executive lounge is very good and hotel is located on George st - convenient and easy to grab a taxi from the hotel lobby. Concierge and valet both most accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Su-Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Thank you for your comments.

We are so pleased you enjoyed our helpful service; and indeed, we are most fortunate to be located right in the heart of Sydney’s CBD which has much to offer.

Thank you again and we all look forward to your return in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,985
    1,384
    523
    177
    106
See reviews for
391
1,500
409
1,470
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

A good business hotel with modern rooms and some far reaching skyline-views from the top floors. Staff were courteous, professional and friendly. Breakfast was very good.

My main gripe is the exorbitant cost of an internet connection from the room. I understand the GM needs to cover costs but $29 a day (charged at around 50c a minute capped at 55 minutes) is excessive.

There were some mix-ups on my bill which were rectified without problem. Someone had given the wrong room number and it was not checked against the surname. Unfortunately due to a noisy bathroom fan and several mix-ups by staff attempting to rectify the problem, I had to change rooms twice. However, they were professional and accommodating in the end so my stay was overall fairly pleasant.

Room Tip: High floor facing North - it's a better view and you can make out some of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londoneraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thanks for sharing your review about Hilton Sydney.

I was very happy to read that you were pleased with your room and with the service from our friendly team.

However, I was sorry to learn about the issues you encountered pertaining to your bill and the noise experienced from the fan unit in your room. I have shared your constructive feedback with our team and we sincerely regret any inconvenience caused as a result.

I have also noted your comments regarding the internet – We do have the option of complimentary WiFi available in the hotel lobby; and complimentary internet can be used in the Executive Lounge where Executive access is included in the room rate.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I hope we will have the pleasure and privilege of welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stayed here with family for one night, was upgraded to a Junior Suite & the luxury was amazing.
Kids love sitting in the bath watching tv, only improvement would be to have one of those tvs that come down from the ceiling so the amazing view isn't obstructed but they thats a little picky.

All the staff were amazing, from the valet to check in staff to house keeping the next morning they really looked after us.

Room was extremely comfortable, kids was to stay here again next time, bed was fine, pillows were a little too soft but you can order another one off the pillow menu.

Watch out for the automatic mini bar, a trick with kids who love to pick up everything but we rang the "magic" button & they sorted it out for us.

Great place to stay will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EJHPender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Thank you for your comments about your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I was so happy to read you were pleased with your room upgrade and that your family enjoyed the experience as well.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney sometime in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teba, Spain
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

I was fortunate to stay at this hotel for a 2week business trip recently. It was well up to the expected Hilton standard. The executive lounge was exceptional, possibly the best I have experienced. The breakfast was very good, but the happy hour was exceptional, indeed many nights I simply did not go out for dinner at all!
One negative was the cost of car parking (aus 46 per night!) the facility does not belong to the hotel so 'that's the price! Though it is discounted for hotel guests, I turned my car in at weekends and collected it on Monday mornings, Avis is only 5 minute walk away.
The Saturday evening fireworks in darling harbour were great from the hotel, but even better from the restaurants around the harbour
I'm looking forward to returning

Room Tip: High up is best for views of city or darling harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel; however I have also relayed your feedback regarding the car park to Secure Parking.

Thank you again for your time and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney in the very near future!

Yours Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

This is probably the best Hilton hotel ever. We used to lived in Sydney, this time we came back to visit some friends for just a couple of day. Very good service from the valet parking, bell services and concierge. They were very helpful and thoughtful. We arrived early and the room was not ready for us, and since we were too tired, so we stayed at the lobby waiting. The bellboy kept checking for us and let us know once the room is ready before the official check in time. He didn't have to do that, really exceeded our expectation, and most of the staffs remember our names, felt really welcomed and warm every time when we were back in hotel.

Reasonable price, good location, great services, super comfy matress and pillows! Just made our stay perfect!

Thank you!

Room Tip: You cant expect a spacious room in such CBD location. Standard room is already fair enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PiccoY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments following your visit to Hilton Sydney.

We are truly passionate about delivering exceptional service and exceeding our guests’ expectations; and I am so pleased to learn that you were looked after by our wonderful team, with whom I have shared your feedback accordingly.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stayed here quite often with friends. Rooms were comfortable, had everything you needed. Didn't like that some of the rooms had conjoining doors. Sometimes you'd hear the person next door get up in the middle of the night. Found the lifts very fast and the staff more than helpful.

Quite conveniently located smack bang in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cammyjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you for your review about your stay at Hilton Sydney.

It is delightful to see that you enjoyed your overall experience. However, upon checking in during your next stay with us, please do not hesitate to request a room which is not inter-connecting and our team will do their best to accommodate your preference, pending room availability.

Thank you again and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney soon.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

I've been in sydney and preferred Hilton to stay for a week. It's rooms are so comfortable and secure. We also arranged business conference there. Its breakfast had all the varieties however in veg there was not much
It's located at heart of the city.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vastest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback following your stay at Hilton Sydney.

We hope we will see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Michael Bourne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#14 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#32 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Property: Hilton Sydney
Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing