We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great CBD Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #35 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great CBD Hotel”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I have stayed here a few times for business and have found it represents the Hilton brand very well. Good corporate style of hotel smack bang in the middle of the city. I have stayed in a couple of room types and have found the suites very spacious. All up a good solid hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us on Trip Advisor.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope you will return soon, for another wonderful stay in our charming CBD hotel.

Sincerely
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,012
    1,406
    526
    182
    108
See reviews for
398
1,526
414
1,484
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (734)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

In brief, we found the staff to be pleasant and helpful, particularly the Executive Lounge staff. The location was perfect for both walking and for access to public transportation to all places we wished to see (which were numerous over five days), and the breakfast was outstanding!! We also found the Executive Lounge to be quite useful, as we frequently have. We would definitely stay at the Hilton Sydney again. The ONLY somewhat negative items were the small size of the room and bath (of course typical of a large city hotel) and, like another guest, a two and one half hour wait for an early check in after checking several times with staff and after traveling for about 32 hours, even though our request was "given priority". All of the positives, however, far outweighed these two negatives.

Room Tip: Other than size, our room on the 38th floor enjoyed a nice city view; can't recall the room numb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAG66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Many thanks for sharing your wonderful feedback with us on Trip Advisor.

Great to see that you were pleased with your experience at Hilton Sydney. However, we sincerely regret any inconvenience caused as a result of the delay you encountered at check in. Whilst we do our best to accommodate any guests who require their room earlier than check in time of 3pm, we unfortunately cannot guarantee availability of rooms before this time, especially when the hotel's occupancy is at capacity. However, we greatly appreciate your patience and understanding, especially after the lengthy, tiresome flight you had to endure prior to your arrival.

Again, we appreciate your feedback and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney the next time your travels bring you back this way.

Sincerely
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
304 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed here twice, pre- and post-cruise. The facility is humming. The bellmen are attentive, the front desk staff are customer service oriented, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the Marble Bar is amazing, the Executive Lounge rivals some bistros. Truly a place to come home to at the end of the day.

Room Tip: This is a very high high-rise, so consider that in your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent visit.

I was very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly your visit to our historically unique Marble Bar; and I hope we have the pleasure of serving you again at Hilton Sydney in the not too distant future.

Sincerely
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Excellent location. Excellent staff. Right in the city, walking distance to darling harbor.
Rooms are clean and in great conditions. Comfy beds and pillows. Good amenities provided in the rooms. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney in the very near future for another wonderful stay!

Sincerely
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sydney Hilton for a Saturday night.

We arrived at 2.30pm - granted it's a little earlier than the 3pm check in time but as Hilton Honour members we were hoping we might be able to get into our room a bit early.

We were told the room wasn't quite ready and were offered to spend the time in the Exec Lounge - which is quite nice. By 4.50pm and after many enquiries we were finally shown to our room - almost 2 hours after check-in time. Our bags were not waiting for us in the room as we had been promised, in fact it took 3 calls to the Concierge before they arrived.

We are local travellers, it would have been a terrible welcome had we travelled 24 hours from Europe and had to wait so long for a room. I might have expected a bottle of wine or something by way of an apology from an organisation like the Hilton - but no, there was nothing other than the standard small bottle of red wine that all Honours guests receive.

The Exec Lounge for evening drinks and canapes as well as breakfast was good value. The pool, gym and spa are all excellent - I had a lovely massage.

The standard room was as you'd expect at the Hilton - though by no means large and for $290 is probably not great value - try to get a deal if you can or spend your money somewhere with a bit more character, especially if you are not there for business.

The location in Sydney is perfectly central and I recommend a drink at Zeta Bar and dinner at Glass Restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor.

We deeply regret the inconvenience caused as a result of the delay you encountered upon arrival and the subsequent delay with your luggage delivery during this very busy time. We appreciate your feedback and please be assured I have addressed your comments with the relevant departments concerned to ensure we are delivering on our promises and providing the highest standard of service, consistently.

I was very pleased, however, to see that you enjoyed your experiences in Zeta Bar and Glass Brasserie and I hope that you will consider staying with us again in future.

Sincerely
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Excellent location. Excellent staff. I ate at the executive business lounge for happy hour, excellent selection. Breakfast buffet was also quite good. Amenities were very nice as well as the rooms. I will be staying there again upon my return to Sydney

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kathleenalexander09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Many thanks for posting your review about your experience during your stay.

Naturally I was delighted to read your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney soon for another excellent stay.

Sincerly
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

The room was in great condition and the service was fantastic. The food was very expensive for what it was and the TV was definitely below standard. It was both very hard to use and quite small compared to other hotels I stay at. I'm not sure if i couldn't get wifi to work or whether I had to sign up for something but I found it completely unintuitive and expensive if I had chosen to use it, I instead used my personal hotspot.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Rowan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor.

I appreciate your feedback and we sincerely regret any inconvenience caused as a result of the internet and television issues you experienced.
However, you will be pleased to know that as of early 2014, we are replacing our televisions and upgrading the technological & software systems. I trust this improvement will enhance your future stays with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney soon.

Sincerely
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 174 in Sydney
1,563 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#32 of 174 in Sydney
3,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 174 in Sydney
1,840 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Property: Hilton Sydney
Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travelbag, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing