We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location and lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #35 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Perfect location and lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed here with a friend July 13th thru the 19th in 2013 (sorry for the late review, busy traveling and living). We had originally booked a King Relaxation Room but as a Hilton Hhonors Gold Member I was lucky enough to be complimentary upgraded to a corner King Suite on the top floor.

Pros:
Great location on George St. just opposite of the lovely Queen Victoria Building (amazingly lit up at night).
Super great service from the staff - everyone was so helpful and kind.
Super clean and modern facility.
Huge sweeping executive lounge with a large variety of food/drinks.
The Marble Bar was really lovely and the perfect place to grab a drink - without a line.

Cons:
Horrible internet connectivity - this is a sweeping problem across all Hiltons that I stayed at in Australia on this trip (Darwin, Sydney and Cairns). The connectivity was on par with Cambodia. If you're spending several hundred of dollars a night for a luxury room in Sydney you'd at least expect good internet connectivity.

Zeta Bar - hugely popular and awesome - but with a ridiculously long line. I guess the bar isn't really part of Hilton (independently operated or something) but the line was crazy long! Maybe management could cut some kind of deal to get folks who are staying on executive level floors head of the line access or something? I dunno...just a thought.

Would I stay again? Yes, even if I were not a Hilton loyalist I'd still stay at this property again. The location, service and just general beauty were truly memorable.

Room Tip: Higher floors will get you sweeping city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seth009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback about your stay last year.

I am glad to know you had a wonderful time and enjoyed our facilities and service. I have also noted your feedback regarding the internet connectivity and we sincerely regret any inconvenience caused on this occasion.
Zeta Bar is indeed part of our hotel and is certainly popular among the local Sydney crowd, hence the lengthy queues you encountered during your stay - Our apologies for any delays this caused. However, presenting your hotel keycard upon entry at Zeta will ensure you enjoy complimentary access as a Hotel guest.

Thank you again for your comments which we appreciate and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney.

Sincerely
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,019
    1,409
    527
    183
    109
See reviews for
399
1,532
415
1,486
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (734)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed there in December as HH gold. Check in was easy, very friendly staff, was offered a late check out without asking. The room was not ready at 1pm, was directed to the executive lounge. Staff at EL even better. Good choice of drinks, nibbles. The breakfast was good too. Rooms nice and clean, perhaps a bit small. Good location of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eaglehaslanded72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Thank you for your loyalty as a Hilton Honors Gold Member and naturally I was delighted to read that you were pleased with your experience at Hilton Sydney.

We hope you will return soon.

Sincerely
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Booked into the Hilton as the summer rates were good for our 4 night stay. I usually stay at the Swissotel nearby so this was my first time at the Hilton and I was very open to giving it a go as an alternative. Great to have a room on the 29th floor - well above the city noise, and to have a corner of the building room which provides an additional window. However, by comparison the room was small and poorly laid out. The queen bed was a combination of 2 singles which included a cavernous gap in the middle which was uncomfortable. Surprising when there is no way that the room could accommodate 2 singles so don't quite know why they wouldn't have put an actual queen bed in the room. The bathroom was likewise very tight - no scope for 2 people to occupy it or get ready at one time. Not a fan of the opaque glass between the bathroom and the room - which when one person gets up early and uses the bathroom results in the room being lit by the bathroom light. Room service was prompt and very good quality, as was the spa centre. A request for a late checkout was quickly confirmed with a no charge 1pm checkout which was appreciated to fit in with flight times. Overall a good stay but doesn't compare to the Swissotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chrissylou62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay.

I am sorry that you felt disappointed about various aspects of your stay with us.
However, your observations and opinions are very much appreciated as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and services, and monitor if we are meeting guests' needs and expectations.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

Sincerely
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

I have had the pleasure of staying at the Sydney Hilton on many occasions and it never really fails to disappoint. This Hotel must have the best Hilton service around - I always find the staff very accommodating and helpful. Hilton Hhonors recognition at this hotel is always great and the upgrade was much appreciated, thank you.

The bathrooms in this hotel are a particular highlight and the showers are excellent. The hotel is also in a perfect location.

Will be back again soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your review with us.

We truly appreciate your loyalty to the Hilton brand and I am very pleased that you are enjoying your benefits and privileges as a valued guest of this program. We are indeed fortunate to be situated in such a grand location and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
550 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Since several years I have stayed here many times because I maintained Diamond Status of Hhonors and therefore I got always a lounge access even if I just paid the lowest rate at the time.
But other than that, I do not find any good reason why I have stayed here so many times
.
I think the location is also very good and the room is comfortable too. But there must be the same quality like here in other places at more reasonable rates.

The biggest problem that I felt always here is the lack of the hospitality that I could feel in many other places in Australia.
The receptionist or concierge staff are not very ready to help guests.
Anyway I could accept the poor service I usually did not need much.
But I do not recommend this place to somebody that needs that much.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitsuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Many thanks for your feedback about your stay last year.

Naturally, I was disappointed to read that you did not experience the level of service that is expected of the Hilton brand and please rest assured I have shared your valuable and important comments with the Department Managers concerned. Your feedback can only help to improve our team and I appreciate your loyalty to Hilton hotels, as a valued HHonors Diamond Member.

I do hope, however, that we will have another opportunity to serve you again soon and deliver the level of service and hospitality I know we are indeed capable of.

Sincerely
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Basically everything was good.
Great location which located right opposite QVB, walking distance to most tourist spot.
Room wise, it was spacious and comfortable.
Breakfast was good. There are lot of choices and service was prompt too.
However, no free in room wifi for normal guest. That's the only down side.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meisiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback.

I greatly appreciate your comments and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

Right in the middle of the city, the location is perfection. The room was delicious and we felt very spoilt. There was no wifi in the room though although there may have been some in the main foyer but I can't be sure. Breakfast was to die for, best in ages but we've come toe spect that from the Hilton brand. Would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daxieho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for posting your review about your stay with us.

It was our pleasure to serve you; and indeed, for future stays, we offer complimentary WiFi in our Lobby - You may obtain the password from one of our friendly Reception staff who will be delighted to assist.

Sincerely
Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#32 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Property: Hilton Sydney
Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelbag, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing