We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, if its a must”
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #38 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed at the HIlton and found the accommodation just OK. I was placed on the 42 floor and the room had some weird smell when you entered the room. It smelt like the carports may have just been cleaned and were damp. Not really sure what was causing the smell. Unfortunately there were no towels in the room other than a very small face/hand towel and no amenities. It is a busy hotel. The elevators take a very long time in the mornings particularly when up high and the breakfast room entry is busy with the conference delegates from next door hanging around. Certainly not the quiet experience one may be wanting at a hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank 63Bondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hilton Sydney following your recent stay.

I was disappointed to read that we did not meet your expectations, and I sincerely apologize for the shortcomings you encountered. Your experience is not indicative of our normal standards I can assure you we have taken positive action to improve in the areas that you have mentioned.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Your sincerely,

Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,494 - 2,500 of 4,552 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

The service was pleasant and professional. The location is god - in the mid CBD and within walking distance to Darling Harbour, China Town etc. The rooms were well appointed and the aqua vision TV int he shower was a fun touch.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your review of Hilton Sydney.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay as well as the hotel's central city location and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

If you want a twin room DO NOT STAY HERE… You can stay at the inter-contential, holiday inn, just about anywhere and get two double beds. My friend booked the room in a rush and yes it was our fault that we didn't read the small print, but to me a Deluxe Twin Room is not 2 single beds it's 2 double beds.
The room is very small compared to other hotels I have stayed in. I am a IHG member, but my friend was a Hilton member so booked here. BIG MISTAKE should have stayed with IHG.

Room Tip: if you want a twin room DO NOT STAY HERE…..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassie-Valentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Hilton Sydney.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we are very sorry you were unhappy with our guest rooms. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience.

We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We had a lovely room on the 26th floor and if you looked out to left of window you could see the harbour near Garden Island. Nice to have bathrobes and slippers and even toothbrushes etc. The only down side would be the typical poor hotel lighting. Overall we had a wonderful stay, very convenient to everything in the city.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your review.

I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and services of the hotel to your satisfaction.

Hope to see you return soon.

Sincerely,

Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed at the Hilton Sydney i January on a work trip, and was upgraded to a executive king room as I am a HHonors gold member.
The wow factor began the minute walked into the room, decor was modern stylish and room was spacious for a inner city hotel.

All conveniences were catered for, including bathrobes, free internet both LAN and WIFI.
Lots of extras are thrown in for the executive rooms including cocktails in the evening, free small bottle of red and access to the executive lounge on the 35th floor which offers complimentary continental breakfast which was above average with fantastic views over Sydney.
I used the gym in the morning, which was one of the better hotel gyms I have seen, but is operated as a corporate gym so expect it to be busy.

At a reasonable rate, I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose an executive room for all the benefits including cocktails and canopies in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dasberliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay! So glad you were able to experience our warm Hilton hospitality and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,

Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in an executive floor room and was a bit underwhelmed and frankly disappointed. Check in was downstairs and a little extended but we eventually got into our room. The presence of other people's hairs in the bath wasn't the greatest welcome, but the room was a reasonable size with a lovely view towards the Town Hall. We had a cup of tea in the lounge early on and went back later for the cocktail and snack period 30 mins in - what a transformation! Evidently the lounge is way too small for the number of people that are entitled to use it in the evening - the staff had even opened the conference rooms to provide a few extra seats. The queue to be served with a drink was often 10 plus people with one server doing their upmost to look after customers. Some of the guests evidently couldn't read or chose to ignore the fairly flexible smart casual dress code and it was a shame the staff chose not to apply their own rules. Room service was quick, tasty and reasonably priced. We ate in Glass which was very nice although the service was a little stop/start. The Marble Bar was outstanding and we thoroughly enjoyed the impressive house band Larger Than Lions. From a tourist point of view the hotel is perfectly positioned for viewing Sydney and its surrounds.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brands_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay.

Your comments have been taken very seriously and have been shared with the team members concerned as it is feedback such as this which enables us to maintain and improve our services.

Once again, thank you; and I do hope we will be able to welcome you back should your travels bring you to Sydney in the future.

Sincerely,

Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I stayed here for business. It was my 4th visit in as many months. Sad to report the level of service, particularly for an HHonors member was not up to par. Yes the room I previously requested was available...but the mattress (two twins pushed together) was extremely uncomfortable, even after I requested they flip it. Housekeeping was good. Room service lacked consistency. The first time was poor. The second time quite good.
What irritated me most is that I was rarely, if ever, acknowledged when I entered the hotel. Not a "hello, nice to see you, welcome back" nothing. A colleague bragged that she was offered breakfast in the dining room. When I inquired upon check-out the clerk apologized and said the agent who checked me in should have told me. She gave me her card and asked me to let her know ahead of time when I would be returning.
Had lunch in Glass one afternoon with colleagues. I ordered a burger and requested they leave off the BBQ sauce. The waitress explained there would be an additional charge - for leaving off the sauce?! My entire party was stunned. She said there were no modifications permitted on the set lunch. In the end, they did not charge me. Interestingly enough, they didn't have any issue keeping the fixed price which included an alcoholic beverage that I did not order. Again...looking for a little consistency here.
I called security one night as I could hear fighting in a room closeby. They came promptly but when they didn't hear the noise themselves I was told they would only knock to check on a guest if it was after 1am but he shouldn't be expected to "knock on every door" on the floor. Very rude!

For $415+/night, I expected a greater level of service and attention - especially as an HHonors member. There are far too many hotels in the city to choose from. Hilton didn't live up to my expectations on this visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gmt1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Hilton Sydney.

We really appreciate your feedback and extremely disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. I have shared your review with our management team and your comments will be taken into consideration as we continually strive to improve our guest experience.

I do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Felix Busch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#18 of 180 in Sydney
1,950 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#14 of 180 in Sydney
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#33 of 180 in Sydney
3,263 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#13 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £138 - £418 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing