We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Center Hotel”
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #35 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
116 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“City Center Hotel”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A large hotel in the heart of the city. My group arrived in a chartered coach and there was no way the coach could pull into the front door of the hotel and handling the baggage was a mess.
It is across the road from the Town Hall underground station, but just note that the station is not really directly below the town hall.

The rooms are all new and well appointed, but like so many of the new Hiltons aesthetics were put ahead of function. I stayed in a regular room and in a corner room and both had nice glass desks without a power point near them. (they did provide a universal adaptor which was a nice touch, but there was just no where convenient to plug it in.) The rooms are compact, perhaps even on the small side The executive club offered a nice breakfast and very nice drinks and canapes.

There clearly is an issue with the minibar system. I was charged multiple times for the minibar which I had not used. At checkout they were happy to adjust the bill, but the system clearly needs some work. The key system for the elevator may enhance security, but it was a major source of confusion. Often I observed people missing the floor they wanted after they pushed the button.

The glass restaurant has a wonderful selection for breakfast. If you pay for breakfast here you will want to have plenty of time to enjoy it.

If you will be using public transport to get around this is a great choice, otherwise I would consider some of the hotels in Darling Harbour or Circular Quay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alistair_MacDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased that your overall stay was enjoyable, and I do appreciate your candid feedback on your observations of the hotel. Your comments will be shared with the team as we are constantly monitoriing our service and your feedback allows us to do this in order to improve our offerings.

Once again, thanks, and safe travels!!

Yours sincerely,

Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,081
    1,455
    539
    186
    116
See reviews for
418
1,572
429
1,533
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (754)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed recently at the Hilton in Sydney for business. Location and quality are great, I even received a small bottle of red wine as a welcome. I used the gym in the morning - GREAT facilities. I would recommend this hotel to any business travellers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review on Trip Advisor.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and its facilities and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel was great for a business trip to Sydney. Well located for the cbd and a short walk to the bridge and historic harbour. Also with decent rooms and decent room service. More than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philyellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I am really delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel's facilities and location were to your satisfaction. Look forward to welcoming you back the next time you travel to Sydney.

Yours sincerely,

Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a really great Hilton property. Quick check in and we were straight up to our Relaxation room which was very nice. One thing that I wasn't impressed by however was the stain on the rug, and how the room smelt of smoke. I didn't think smoking was allowed in hotel rooms these days? Thankfully this didn't bother me too much though.

Loved the fresh scones for afternoon tea, along with the cupcakes and cookies in the executive lounge. I also enjoyed the canapés at dinner time, although I think more hot food was needed. Breakfast was the stand out for sure. We were given a table near the window overlooking the QVB. The food at breakfast was really amazing. We received great service, particularly as my husband is a HH diamond member.

Great experience overall, we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Genderwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

I was really pleased to see that you had a great stay and shall share your comments with the hotel team.

Look forard to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benowa, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel is located perfectly in the middle of the CBD - diagonally opposite Zara for the ladies! The hotel is modern and the bustling with excellent service. We chose to stay in an executive room with lounge access to enjoy an evening drink and canapé. The food in the lounge was good but not great. It was the same every night which was a little tiring - however the lounge is nice and spacious and the staff attentive. The hotel gym is the gymnasium next door which is fully equipped.

Room Tip: A corner room is definitely more spacious than the middle rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and I shall pass on your positive comments to the team so that they may see how much you appreciated their services.

I have made note of your feedback regarding the food selection in the Executive Lounge and will share your comments with the relevant staff for them to review the food variety on offer.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Staying here again though this time not on the Executive floor, but this hotel DELIVERS, in terms of staff helpfulness and friendliness. Good location for sightseeing, transport links and shopping.
Rooms are smallish but well appointed. Beds are hard; unusual in a Hilton as they are generally their "Serenity " quality beds.. Air conditioning is fierce, so control it to suit your needs...
Breakfasts are outstanding with a superb selection of high quality foodstuffs. Buffet kept fresh (scrambled eggs need to be closely checked though...get tired very quickly). Bread selection and fresh juices excellent, as is the honeycomb with jams and great fruits.
Will greatly add to your vacation or business experience. Thoroughly recommend!!

Room Tip: High floor for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wemyss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your most recent stay at Hilton Sydney.

It's great to see that you enjoyed your stay and that the facilities and location are to your satisfaction. I have noted your feedback regarding the scrambled eggs and your comments will be shared with our food and beverage team to ensure a consistent quality is served.

Once again, thanks, and hopefully we will see you the next time your travels bring you this way.

Yours sincerely,

Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The Sydney Hilton is right in the heart of the CBD close to all of downtowns sights & sounds. The hotel is modern with comfy rooms that offer what you expect. The breakfast is great. And also the lounge (if you have access) on the 36xt floor is a great place to sit back, relax and have a snack. A very recommendable place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel and its facilities meet with your expectations.

Hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 178 in Sydney
1,655 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#31 of 178 in Sydney
3,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 178 in Sydney
1,912 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Property: Hilton Sydney
Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing