We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay, but I didn't love it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #35 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice stay, but I didn't love it.”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A friend and I stayed here for a night as a treat while we were in the city for a concert. We were excited to be staying here as The Hilton has such a good reputation. For the price, it's probably good value in the city. It's in a good location and the building is nicely designed, but I didn't leave feeling like I'd had a wonderful treat. To be honest, I left feeling underwhelmed, which was disappointing. I can't really pinpoint why though. I think the main part is that this is very much a business hotel, suitable for those travelling for work etc. and not so much for a girls weekend. The room was nice, it faced Centrepoint (Sydney) Tower and we could see out to the eastern suburbs and over the harbour. The shower had dual functioning as both handheld and overhead rain which was a nice luxury that I enjoyed. The provided bathroom products were a nice brand and lovely quality and the tv in the shower was an interesting addition, although a little odd and unnecessary. There was good hanging space in the wardrobe and the room didn't feel cramped, although it was on the smaller side. I was very grateful for the electronic blinds that you could adjust to completely block out the windows, as light disturbs my sleep and it would've been very sunny the direction the room was facing. The one problem was that I found the bed very uncomfortable, and woke up multiple times during the night with my back aching. Beds are very hit and miss I know, as everyone has their own personal preferences, but it was a disappointment as I was hoping I'd wake up feeling refreshed. I did like the complementary pillow menu that was delivered to us even in the early hours of the morning, along with extra toiletries that we had requested. The service was warm and efficient and I couldn't complain at all there. One thing though that I thought I would mention was the fact that the internal entrance to Zeta Bar was closed on Friday night when we attempted to enter through it, and when we asked reception why this was, we were told that the internal entrance is always closed on weekends and patrons have to use the public entrance. This made no sense to us at all, because surely the bar would be accessed more on the weekends by people staying there, hence you would have it open? Only something minor, but I guess when you are staying at a 5-star hotel, you expect their customer service to be impeccable, and closing the patron entrance and making them enter with the public and wait outside in the freezing cold just doesn't seem right. Perhaps this could be reviewed. All in all the stay was nice, but for the money, I would probably go somewhere else next time

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imogen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor regarding Hilton Sydney.

I am delighted that you thought the service was warm and efficient and I shall share your comments with the team so that they know how much you appreciated them. I do regret however that you were disappointed with other aspects of your stay and I am truly sorry that you feel this way as our aim is to always provide an outstanding experience to all of our guests.

Your comments regarding Zeta Bar have been discussed with management; due to the popularity of this venue on weekends, for security reasons a decision was made to have one entry point which is the external one. We have taken your comments on board and will re-evaluate this for the future.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and hopefully we will have another opportunity of welcoming you sometime soon.

Yours sincerely,

Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,013
    1,406
    526
    182
    109
See reviews for
399
1,526
415
1,484
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (734)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
170 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel has always maintained its high standards and this time it was no exception.

The slight difference I noticed this time around was the conceirge. They were much more friendlier and prepared to assist guests to the hotel. The person whom I forgot to take his name was I believe an Asian gentleman and his customer service was superb.

The location is ideal for anyone wanting to go shopping from the regular shops to the high end boutiques. They are all within walking distance.

Room Tip: The club lounge has good views and it might be worth your while to stay on the Executive floor as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us here at Hilton Sydney, it is great that you found the standard of service to be excellent and that this really added to the experience of your stay.

Your comments regarding the Concierge department are most appreciated and I shall certainly share these with the team.

Once again, thanks, and hopefully we will see you the next time your travels bring you this way.

Yours sincerely,

Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubbo, Australia
Level Contributor
279 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A great place to stay in this part of town, close to QBV and Darling harbour so great for that end of town, within walking distance. Great service with excellent staff. Food is nice and very fresh. Would recommend a vist.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sharport67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thanks for the great review on Trip Advisor.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff, the facilities and central city location of the hotel met your expectations.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again the next time you are in Sydney.

Yours sincerely,

Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Firstly, the good stuff - the staff are friendly, informed and very attentive and nothing is a problem. The breakfast is amazing and, once again, the staff in the restaurant are really helpful and attentive.... thats kind of where the good points end and whilst there is nothing bad about the hotel it just felt a little lifeless, a little bit cold and sterile. The rooms are rather small and the lifts take an age to come. Also, we were travelling with a toddler and pressed the 'please make up room' button on a few occasions but the make up was never attended to.
Compared to great hotels overseas this would be considered a business type/travellers hotel.... nothing really wrong but just nothing to write home about

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sampan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Hilton Sydney. It’s great to see that you appreciated our efficient staff and that you enjoyed our breakfast offering. I shall certainly share your comments with the team involved.

I am otherwise disappointed that your room was not made up in a timely manner and this has been addressed with our Housekeeping department to ensure such a situation does not recur in the future.

Once again, thanks, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to be of service to you sometime soon.

Yours sincerely,

Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Had a quick romantic stay with my partner in the Hilton Sydney and whether it was the company or the Hotel we both agreed it was the best night both of us have ever had. I have not stayed in the Hilton since its refurbishment (so a long time now) but will definitely be back. We stayed in a King Hilton Deluxe Room. Complimentary bottle of wine, stylish decorations and great blackout curtains so we had no idea what time it was in the morning. Bathroom was clean and had plenty of room

Will definitely be back but it will be hard to top.

Looking forward to our next Hilton stays (with kids and family) in Cairns (Sept 14) and Hawaii Jan 15).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor regarding Hilton Sydney.

I am very happy to read your comments and glad that your romantic overnight stay was "the best night ever". We hope to see you return soon.

With best regards,

Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed here on a business trip for 4 nights. The hotel is downtown. A very nice Hilton with a good (but very expensive) breakfast buffet. The on premises fitness center is wonderful -- a 25 meter swimming pool and lots of cardio equipment -- very clean, too.

Beds and pillows are very comfortable -- probably among the better nights sleep in a hotel I've had (and I travel just about every week on business). The restaurant is good, but also incredibly expensive given the restaurant options within easy walking distance in Darlinghurst and other places.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissMike1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

I am really delighted to see that you enjoyed the hotel's location and facilities including our Fitness Centre which has the reputation of being one of the best in the city.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Hilton Sydney should your travels bring you this way.

Yours sincerely,

Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melboune, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

As you'd expect from any Hilton Hotel, professional and good customer service, clean and tidy room, accessible amenities as well as a great location in the heart of Sydney. The lobby/foyer areas have dated very well for 10 years of age. Importantly, at $270 per night it provided good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Christos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Just wanted to thank you for your recent stay at Hilton Sydney. I am so glad you were able to experience our warm Hilton hospitality and that the hotel's location and facilities were to your liking.

Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Yours sincerely,


Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 174 in Sydney
1,566 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#32 of 174 in Sydney
3,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 174 in Sydney
1,841 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Property: Hilton Sydney
Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing