We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service, superb hospitality”
Review of Hilton Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Sydney
Ranked #35 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore, India
1 review
“Great location, great service, superb hospitality”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Had a great weekend stay and felt at home. The check in process was simple and they knew all my preferences and was well arranged. I found that they were also able to suggest places for me to go based on things I have marked as interests in my profile. In short, an amazing experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sanjay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Wow! Thanks for your great review. It is wonderful to see that you had an amazing stay and I shall pass on your appreciation to the staff as they will be really pleased to see how much you enjoyed their service.

Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,081
    1,455
    539
    186
    116
See reviews for
418
1,572
429
1,533
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (754)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I checked in at Hilton on Aug 15th 2014 for our anniversary and from the word get go, we were made to feel as valued customers. Check in was quick and efficient. Our room was faultless. Though we had trouble with our heater, it was dealt with promptly. Nothing was too much. I called Magic quite a few times for little things as I also had my little baby with me and needed extra stuff, and they were only too happy to help. On top of this, the hotel manager Felix Busch had personally written us a card greeting us happy anniversary, along with complimentary choc and wine. Thank you so much Hilton. We will be back. - Lovelle

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilmzsplendid4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I am pleased that all went well for you and I hope you had a wonderful anniversary celebration.

Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Great hotel in great location. Having stayed in many Hilton hotels the differentiation is always down to the staff and the Hilton Sydney does not disappoint. The staff are genuine, friendly and helpful from concierge to management, you always get what you need and beyond. The only slight annoyance was the charge for an additional roll away bed when our daughter came to visit for a couple of days, bit steep at A$75.
We're here for another few days returning to Sydney in a few weeks, looking forward to it already.

Room Tip: Free wifi if you Hhonors gold or Diamond, lounge is really good on food and drinks in evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay. I really appreciate your comments regarding our staff and I shall certainly share these with them. Our team work hard to try and provide all of our guests with an excellent experience, and it’s nice to know that they achieved this during your stay.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing on your return visit.

Yours sincerely,

Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
international
Level Contributor
178 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Hubby and I spent a few days in Sydney for a business trip. We enjoyed the Hilton on George Street since it was located close to great restaurants and a 20 min walk from the opera house and its little river walk. We each received a little bottle of Shiraz which was a nice touch. The only drawback was that our room was an architect's nightmare with strange angles and wasted space. For example, the faucet on the sink was on the left hand side which made it really awkward washing up. The food was good, but expensive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steff0566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your review. It's good to know that all went well and that you enjoyed your time with us.

Hope to see you again soon!

Yours sincerely,

Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and as usual greeted with a smile, Rooms spotless and passing maids friendly. Disappointed when was asked to pay for breakfast and when I pointed out the fact I was a diamond member and this was complimentary Julianna was not impressed and was very unfriendly or was it because I wasn't wearing a suit as y young son pointed out she was friendly to all the men in suits. Well spotted for a 12 year old. Maybe worth sending her to work with the maids for a week and see they have a smile for everybody.apart from that thumbs up.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike11034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Hilton Sydney.

I was most disappointed to read your comments about the incident at breakfast as this is totally out of character for the team member you mentioned. We always strive to provide excellent service and I can guarantee you that what occurred would have been unintentional and an isolated case. I do however appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

In the meantime I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay and look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Yours sincerely,


Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night at the Hilton Sydney. We arrived after a long flight from Taiwan at 9:00am in the morning. To my delight, our club room was ready for immediate check in. The staff on reception were friendly and efficient.

Our club room seemed small. The only differences I could see were that the room was on the club level, that there was a small bottle of red wine on arrival, and the bathroom soaps, shampoos etc were a larger size. Other than that, it seemed just like a standard room. The amenities were excellent.

The best part was the club lounge. Large and spacious with terrific views of the city, it was a welcoming space with plenty of little tables and powerpoints for people to use for their laptops. We were able to order room service to be delivered to the club lounge which was a great follow up to the tasty canapes provided.

The downside was the tables were not cleaned/tidied often enough. Also, children were allowed in the lounge which was very disappointing considering their noisiness and messiness really took away from the ambience. Why won't some parents control their kids? The lounge would benefit from having a kid/family friendly section away from the other patrons.

I did, however, see club lounge staff being very kind, considerate and helpful to a couple with a disabled child in a wheelchair. They opened up a private meeting room and invite the family to spread out in that space. I thought that was very thoughtful. That child was impeccably behaved but the parents looked relieved to have their own space to stretch out in.

Well done Hilton Sydney.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshfromBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for staying at the Hilton Sydney in February and for posting a review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to see you enjoyed your overall stay and that you were able to experience the friendly and efficient service that we provide to all of our guests.

Your comments regarding the children in the Executive Lounge have been taken on board. Under our policy we do not deny them access if they are accompanied by their parents or an adult, who are responsible for supervising them. However, we will share your views with our Executive Floor team in an effort to manage this closely in future.

We really appreciate your kind feedback and hope to be able to welcome to the Hilton Sydney sometime in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at the Hilton for the City2Surf weekend, and the hotel was completely booked out. This didn't seem to impact the service, with all amenities we used running like clockwork. Our room included the buffet breakfast and executive lounge, both of which were excellent. The evening canapés were great in the lounge, to the point where after a big breakfast at the buffet and a few drinks and canapés, we didn't actually get around to heading out for dinner. It certainly made the room seem like good value when we factored in not paying for breakfast or buying dinner. The fitness centre is outstanding and is larger than many commercial gyms (It does run as a full commercial gym including classes).

The room was comfortable, with the block out blinds ensuring a good night's sleep.
Location is good for shopping, although it's a little bit of a hike to the Rocks or Darling Harbour where a lot of Sydney's good restaurants are to be found. Town Hall station is very close for train access.

Parking was a breeze with the large apron area compared to the Swissotel around the corner, which can be a stressful affair if the little parking bay is full.

All in all - a great experience and one I'm likely to repeat in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swamp_Donkey66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felix B, Manager at Hilton Sydney, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at Hilton Sydney.

It is great to read that we made your stay truly memorable and that you enjoyed the Executive Lounge and our very popular Fitness Centre. I will be sharing your comments with the team so that they may know how much you appreciated their services.

We look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Yours sincerely,

Felix Busch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 178 in Sydney
1,655 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Sydney
The Westin Sydney
#31 of 178 in Sydney
3,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 178 in Sydney
1,912 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sydney

Property: Hilton Sydney
Address: 488 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Business Hotel in Sydney
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#36 Family Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 579
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located in the hub of the city, Hilton Sydney has magnificent views and convenient access to iconic attractions including the spectacular Sydney Harbour and Opera House. Offering contemporary design that fulfils comfort and style, outstanding facilities and exceptional service, Hilton Sydney is a must for both domestic and international guests and Sydneysiders alike. Choose from stylish guest rooms and luxury suites, and rejuvenate the body and mind at LivingWell Premier Health Club with the latest gym facilities, swimming pool and stunning day spa. Sample two stylish and distinctive bars in the progressive, sleek cocktail bar, Zeta Bar with its international team of mixologists and the iconic, Victorian live music hub that’s Marble Bar. Enjoy a coffee, light meal or delectable dessert in the patisserie at Caffe Cino and one of Australia’s leading chefs and restaurateurs, Luke Mangan, provides a definitive Sydney dining experience at the award winning, glass brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Ebookers, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sydney Hotel Sydney
Hilton International Sydney
Sydney Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing